2018 X3

Consumer Reviews

2018 BMW X3

$42,650 - $54,500  MSRP Range
2018 BMW X3

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

47 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 BMW X3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best choice!

by ARTUROL from Coronaxo, CA on Sat Mar 17 2018

Best choice for compact SUV, everythiing feels suoer premium and super reliable! You feel like an X5! Trully a well shaped SUV! Won’t dissapoint! Better than the Q5

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Redesign is a nice and needed touch

by Nickelhorse221 from Germantown, Ohio on Sun Feb 18 2018

I bought the 2018 clone with convenience and premium packages. Coming from a Kia Sorento v6 I was pleasantly surprised at the pick up from the 4cyl turbo and it’s pretty fuel saavy considering it runs on premium. The ride is like the 3 series because it shares the same chassis and design. Gets pricey quick with options but after 6 weeks of test driving others this one wins. The media system takes some Learning and I’m just at a month of ownership so I’m still learning that it’s a very smart car and has lots of Buttons I have no clue what they do. BMW support was and has been great and the BMW genius is a very nice thing to have!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best in its category!

by TEB299 from NYC on Mon May 14 2018

What a job BMW did on their 2018 X3. Everything about this vehicle is top notch, from the exterior styling, the interior and the performance. I test drove the X3 competitors, Audi, Mercedes and Jaguar, and in my opinion the BMW was the best of them all by far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

PROBLEMS

by dskurth from LOS ANGELES on Sun Jul 08 2018

The car is beautiful, the interior is awesome, but mine has had problems starting at 500 miles is clanging sounds from the back when it get hot..something with the brakes. It also feels like it wanders in the back with a push pull feeling. The dealer is awesome and doing it's darn best to fix the problems, but I have lost faith with feeling secure in it. Not like my other 3 BMW experience. Would be cautious and if we decide it is a lemon am debating whether to have them order another. Perhaps just go back to the awesome 3 series sedan

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun vehicle to drive that I have ever owned

by Ken from Grand Prairie, Tx on Wed Mar 28 2018

Performance, Performance! I just purchased the BMW X3 M40i and am so pleased that I did. The technology is amazing on this newest model. It is much better than even last years model. Luxury and Performance together! Test drove the Audi Q5, the Alfa Romeo Stelvio and the Jaguar Fpace and none compared to the X3 as far as drive and comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best companion any driver would ask for.

by BMW fan from DC on Fri Mar 09 2018

This is a companion than just a car. Has the best features like lane correction, heads up display, self parking, collision mitigation and excellent interiors with wifi router, wireless charging. What else would anyone ask for. BMW X3 is truly the ultimate driving machine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the SUV for sedan refugees

by yobyot from Boston, MA on Wed Jun 20 2018

Elsewhere on cars.com, I have one sweet 2012 BMW 335i for sale (if you bought it, you got a _amazing_ car). So, the question for me was, "What's next?". It turned out to be 2018 BMW X3 30i. This car is such an interesting combination of practicality, design, tech and performance. I loaded it to the gills with tech, including the ZDA and ZDB safety packages. Adding ZPP really ups the luxury content, with a heads-up display and lovely 19" wheels. And it drives like a BMW. And it _costs_ like a BMW. We picked up a nail at 950 miles. The 10" RFT took two days to arrive at the dealer and even though they just charged me for the tire (and comp'd the labor), it still cost $295 for the tire. This is an astonishing car with one mega-issue: it's expensive to own and maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very technologically suffocated luxury

by Dave - multiple BMW owner from Dover, PA on Fri May 04 2018

Right size for our family needs as well as good towing capacity for the bike and trike. Also impressed with the technologically advanced luxury. It is quite an upgrade from my previous 2014 X3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

new owner, too early to judge reliability

by new X3 Owner from Cleveland, OH on Thu Apr 26 2018

So far, a really enjoyable car to drive, and fairly intuitive to learn the media controls. I wish it had a digital speed display in addition to the speedometer, and the electronic shifter is a little different, works great, just different from other cars. Like the styling and the interior comfort

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super practical luxury sport activity vehicle

by R fan from Pound ridge on Sun May 06 2018

Car meets all needs. Lots of technology and great cargo and passenger space . Great performance, good ride and handling. Fun to drive. Handles great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2018 BMW X3

The verdict:

The redesigned BMW X3 is a refined luxury SUV, but the biggest case against it might be another model in BMW’s showroom.

Versus the competition:

The X3 boasts decent quality and drivability in a bustling class of compact luxury SUVs, but the more affordable X1 could be the X3’s undoing.

Redesigned for 2018, the BMW X3 has standard all-wheel drive and comes in four-cylinder (xDrive30i) and six-cylinder (M40i) configurations. We drove a well-optioned X3 xDrive30i.

Cleaner Styling

The new X3 is decluttered versus the 2017 model, emulating the smaller X1 — a handsome place to start. Three bumper openings replace the prior four, with lighting elements in the outboard units instead of last year's separate foglight dimples. Styling is subjective, of course, but I suspect this will age well — unlike the first- and second-generation X3s, which struck me as too busy-looking.

Exterior dimensions haven't changed, but the wheelbase is 2.2 inches longer. Eighteen-inch... Read More