2019 X3

Consumer Reviews

2019 BMW X3

$26,757 - $51,285  MSRP Range
2019 BMW X3

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

97 Reviews
87% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 BMW X3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Just a dream to drive

by Critt5 from TX on Sun Sep 30 2018

Ask me to find something wrong w this car and I would have a ton of trouble doing it. It’s a dream to drive, sit in and own. Every aspect is well thought out. The only thing I’m not a fan of is that it has an actual gas cap... but really is that a big deal’!’! Not really! The pickup and ride is second to none.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the nicest rides I have owned,

by BMW 4x owner from Fort Myers on Tue Nov 13 2018

This is our 4th BMW, had Audis, Volvo, Lexus before but the driving experience and comfort is unique however the Stelvio, as far as power goes, had a better ?sport feel? but I decided going for the X3 because of reliability. My wife loves the X 2!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

X3 m40i better then a Porsche Macan!!

by kveron from Sidney, OH on Wed Feb 13 2019

The 2019 X3 m40i is an amazing vehicle and I am extremely satisfied with the purchase. Having test drove all of its' direct competitors, the X3 m40i definitely outperforms every other vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Drive

by Cubbie03 from Aurora, IL on Wed Dec 12 2018

If you care about how your car drives and performs as soon as you hit the peddle, then the X3 will meet if not exceed your expectations. I thoroughly enjoyed the drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In love with this car!

by Bdsusak87 from Los Angeles, CA on Mon Dec 03 2018

I have never been so excited to get inside a vehicle I own. Comfort level and overall drivin experience has never been better on the X3. I highly recommend this car to anyone thinking about buying it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle

by Robert from Long Island NY on Mon Apr 08 2019

Rides as smooth as silk, handles well plenty of power, a luxury ride with sport like handling comfortably with all the features you need in a vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great "compact" luxury SUV

by CINCYFAN from Washington, DC on Sat Aug 03 2019

The 2019 BMW X3 30i is a great, compact luxury SUV. I've always preferred and driven sedans but after my BMW 3 series (F30) was t-boned and totaled last year, I decided I needed a bigger vehicle...but not too big. I debated the X3 and X5 and ultimately decided that the X3 was the better vehicle for my 20+ mile commute in DC traffic. I ordered the vehicle; added all the safety, entertainment, and luxury features I wanted; and waited three weeks for it to be delivered. While I appreciate the appeal of the 6 cylinder turbo, the four cylinder turbo engine is plenty for me and my DC commute. I especially like the safety, luxury, and tech features and believe they're critical in any new car. Like any BMW, once you start adding options the price escalates pretty quickly. That said, you can get good deals throughout the year...you just have to be vigilant. I would absolutely recommend the X3...in fact, six months after we bought mine, we purchased one for my wife.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb Machine

by Dee Medford-Baker from Spruce Pine, NC on Fri Jan 18 2019

This is my second X3. We upgraded from a 2011 to a 2019. I love the resigned body adding more space especially in the back seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best in class BMW X3

by Benedict from Covington on Tue Nov 27 2018

It is literally the best car i have driven. Sporty, great gas mileage, looks outstanding, not overly complicated infotainment system, good stereo, excellent ride and sounds great!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An SAV that does everything well Fun, practical

by HONDABMWGUY from Tulsa OK on Sat Oct 27 2018

Competes with RDX, Q5, GLC. RDX is value leader, GLC is boring, Q5 lack a soul. The X3 40M now that invokes the BMW of old. Turbo Inline 6, build quality fun to drive but great highway car. The 40M can be had around $55k if you go lightly on options. I would dig out the extra money from the lower turbo 4, give up Starbucks or whatever to grab the 40M. Close to 400 hp folks. My retirement car and I could not be more pleased. Maintenance still included = this is rare. Check out at BMW Tulsa if you like. The base X3 is best of those mentioned at well. Just do not drive the turbo 6 first:}

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2019 BMW X3

The verdict:

The redesigned BMW X3 is a refined luxury SUV, but the biggest case against it might be another model in BMW’s showroom.

 

Versus the competition:

The X3 boasts decent quality and drivability in a bustling class of compact luxury SUVs, but the more affordable X1 could be the X3’s undoing.

 

Redesigned for 2018, the BMW X3 has standard all-wheel drive and comes in four-cylinder (xDrive30i) and six-cylinder (M40i) configurations. We drove a well-optioned X3 xDrive30i.

Cleaner Styling

The new X3 is decluttered versus the 2017 model, emulating the smaller X1 — a handsome place to start. Three bumper openings replace the prior four, with lighting elements in the outboard units instead of last year’s separate foglight dimples. Styling is subjective, of course, but I suspect this will age well — unlike the first- and second-generation X3s, which struck me as too busy-looking.

Exterior dimensions haven’t changed, but the wheelbase is 2.2 inches longer. Eighteen-inch alloy wheels, LED... Read More