2011 X5

Consumer Reviews

2011 BMW X5

$9,541 - $20,737  MSRP Range
2011 BMW X5

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

61 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 61 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2011 BMW X5 x35d - awesome performance

by 4MoJoe from Boise, ID on Tue Aug 30 2011

Bought in May of 2011. Mileage is really great, the diesel power is amazing. Not a noisy or stinky car like diesels of the past. It's too bad North American drivers haven't embraced diesel like in Europe. Car is comfortable, great ride, nicely finished and quite attractive. (thumbs up)!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great deal on X5 diesel

by BMWMan from Louisville, KY on Wed Jan 23 2013

I bought this car certified-used from local BMW dealer - price was well below anything else within 300 miles, and it had half the mileage (<9K miles). I only drive BMWs, we traded an 02 X5 - I am biased toward BMWs because I am used to the way they drive, handle, and perform, and I know where everything is and how it works, and there is no better service experience in my opinion. Having said that, be sure you get warranties, including maintenance, because they are EXPENSIVE to work on. Fortunately mine have never been any major trouble. But even the routine stuff is very pricey, so get the maintenance warranty. The car is immaculate - buying new cars is nice, but certified used is the way to go in my opinion, unless you hate money. I saved a bundle on immaculate low-mileage used vs. a brand new one. I have never owned a diesel, but wanted to try it for the better fuel economy and so far I am impressed, averaging ~22 mpg in town and some highway driving. The performance is also great, great acceleration/torque, and tight handling. After a month I am very happy and impressed - hope to stay happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Car I ever had

by X5 Driver from NEW YORK CITY, NY on Tue Jul 05 2016

I am very satisfied with a purchase! BMW 2011 3.5i is a great car for city. I do have a decent MPG(20), it is roomie and very nice looking. When you look for this car to buy used, interior is the great way to understand if the mileage is accurate. Don't buy it in NYC. The ride is rough, but you get good handling because of that. Steering wheel is hard to turn, but it makes it unique. This car is a great Sport Utility SUV for the people who knows what it is.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressive power and gas mileage

by Frank from Boulder, Colorado on Sat May 06 2017

Impressive power and gas mileage. The suspension is stiff but I like that I also plan to tow a 3500 pound camper.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

? 2011 BMW X5 XDRIVE35D

by ValK from Palo Alto, California on Wed Mar 22 2017

The ultimate driving machine + gas saver on a long distance travel. Diesel engine does not lose power at high altitude. I am happy overall, will get a newer model of X5 Diesel soon

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic bang for the buck used

by Philooo from Miami Fl on Thu Jul 12 2018

You can buy my X5 V8 used for a fraction of the original cost and they drive very well even with a lot of miles on them. You do need to have a good independent shop locally as small things will break and dealers are charging you 10x more for labor and parts. But if you take the time they are no more expansive to fix than any other cars and they do drive 100x better. My car has the adaptive suspension and this is the one option that make a huge diffeent. The V8 power is just insane and the steering feel is very entertaining. Great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My dream car

by Carbas from CA on Fri Oct 12 2018

This is one of the best car I ever own, its completely satisfied my expectation with amazing performance, design, driving pleasure. It has a lot of necessary options which makes your experience and comfort way more better. The only thing its not so reliable and expensive in maintenance. All of All I'm gonna buy new X5 as soon as I get rich ;)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best diesel SUV

by HRK on Sun Aug 12 2018

I have owned this vehicle for 7 years, it is very reliable with great gas mileage for a good sized SUV. The interior and exterior still look brand new. All the amenities have remained comparable to today?s standards.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

X5 is the best

by Knows cars from Denver, CO on Thu Sep 15 2011

I purchased a new 2011 X5 3.5i loaded with the staggered 20's. Only vehicle of 20 I have puirchased that never needed to go back in with even a minor adjustment. This car is flawless. Amazing handling, look and comfort. I could not go near the 5 Series after driving the X5 SAV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!! AWESOME

by LB$40000HIPPY HOBO PEACE :) from Rehoboth MA on Sun Feb 27 2011

I had a 2010 GX460. we liked it then we went looked at cars. Then we fell in love with the 2011 x5's. Ordered a 35iXDRIVE premuim. Black w/ cinnamon interior love it. Highs: Really Nice SUV, High quality Interior, Plush Materials, Nice Shifting Transmission, Real Sexy, NICE WHEELS!!!!! Lows: Power liftgate operates to fast, high pricing, everything in packages, real pricy, tight third row seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7