2016 X5

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW X5

$29,805 - $49,525  MSRP Range
2016 BMW X5

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

30 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great for tall drivers, but short... not so much

by fireman-175 from on Thu Nov 10 2016

After having a 35D F15, my wife isn't happy. You see, the car is great but there is a design flaw you need to know about if you have short legs and want to stay clean. There is a running board type molding beneath all doors. It extends out about 2" too far. So, when a person exits the X5, they tend to have to really step out instead of down/out. Or you get the back of your calf dirty from hitting the ledge. I am 74" and hit it sometimes. My wife is 5' 6". She hits it all the time. Why they have it there? Don't know. They also have an aluminum added running board that extends even further. I really like the diesel, quick, smooth and good mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All around great car!

by John from Gig Harbor, WA on Mon Apr 30 2018

We went car shopping thinking we were going to end up in a Yukon, but decided to go take a quick look at the X5 to cross it off the list. Dang we instantly loved it. First thing I noticed was the amount of leg room, I'm 6'5" btw, the seat went back too far. I also sat in the back seat and there was plenty room there as well. Good cargo space too. Test drive it and I noticed how quick and nimble it was. Long story short we didn't even look at the Yukon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X5 50i INDIVIDUAL MODEL

by Dr Cleven?s Individual X50i from Keller, TX on Tue Oct 17 2017

This vehicle is beer than I expected. The interior is well-made and different. The tires are bigger and wider. The power and responsiveness are excellent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Never waste my money again

by Speakup from Phoenix AZ on Fri Jan 05 2018

Bad gas mileage. Parts falling off. Lower grade glass being used. Features you can't turn off. Horrible customer service at dealership.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dependable

by TomKat from Naples, FL on Sun Sep 18 2016

this is the sixth BMW and obviously if we have come back this many times, we must be pleased. I like the new --easier to drive version as well as the "stop/start" when at lights.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best 3rd Row Luxury SUV on the Market!

by Car Guy Al from Glen Ellyn on Fri Nov 10 2017

My wife and I love her car! The 2016 X5 50i is larger than the competition (Q7, Land Rover Sport) and in my opinion has better performance and handling. The fit and finish is impressive and the engine sound is music to my ears! If you're looking for a 3 row mid-sized luxury SUV there really isn't another car close to the X5 50i. If you don't need a third row... well than the options open up a bit and there are a lot of other SUV's that come close (Porsche Cayenne) However, if you need a small 3rd row for the little guys to haul around your kids & their friends and gear to practice this is a clear winner in this category.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Such a beautiful, elegant vehicle!!

by Sleek , elegant design, excellent performance!! from Dacula on Wed Jan 06 2016

Simply put...love the 2016 X5, superior performance, very luxurious inside/out, handles the road with such precision, truly the ultimate driving machine!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Wife's Pick for Best Car She's Driven

by Ralphie from Massapequa, NY on Mon Mar 06 2017

We found this car using BMW's certified pre-owned page on their web site. We had a number of criteria that substantially reduced the number of cars that were available in our area (cold weather package, no black or white exteriors, no black interiors). So we had to do a search to find what we wanted. We found this car that had it all and more, including a $4500 B&O sound system. My wife says that it is the best car she's ever driven, as it's very comfortable to drive and it gives her a good view of the road. It has abundant power with the MPPK software and a Dinan upgrade, and the ride is sporting but not overly harsh.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable SUV I've owned

by Mspala17 from on Sun Jun 04 2017

Truely the "ultimate driving experience ". Couldn't ask for a better handling SUV, especially in Sport mode

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this car

by kristi from phoenix, az on Mon May 22 2017

This is the best SUV that I've ever owned. Very comfortable and I love the 3rd row seat feature. This is my 2nd X5 and I don't think I'll want another type of SUV again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3