2017 ATS

Consumer Reviews

2017 Cadillac ATS

$17,267 - $31,195  MSRP Range
2017 Cadillac ATS

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

33 Reviews
82% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Cadillac ATS?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

when it is not being fixed it’s great fun to drive

by Tom from Dubai on Sat Dec 15 2018

Owning this car is a blast while on the road. I have the 2016 3.6 engine with magnetic ride control and it is just a wonderful car to dive especially on curvy roads. It does everything i could need from a car. The negative side with mine was the issues i keep having. I didn’t have any issues with the cue system that many complain about, accept a couple of freezing scenarios and had to do a hard reset twice. After 30 000 kilometers the car needed an entire new torque converter and apparently this issue is a more common problem with this model. The car would hesitate and jerk when driving arround 80kmh at arround 1500-2000rpm. At 40 000 kilometers the oil pump had to be replaced. Now at 47 000 kilemeters the entire differential has to be replaced after i started having a whining noise from the back. I still love driving it as it is soo much fun and the interior is such a great place to be in but I deffinetly don’t intend to keep it after the service and waranty run out. I’m not sure if mine is a lemon as i had more issues than most people reporting online but i thought it would be worth sharing.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Made in the USA.

by userchico from Evans, GA on Sat Apr 01 2017

I never own a Cadillac and I am sold. I traded in a 2013 Mercedes C300 and I am glad that I did. The suspension and technology in this car is amazing. Also three years of tire rotations and oil changes isn't bad.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

OUTSTANDING STYLING AND PERFORMANCE

by SKY KING from LOS ANGELES, CA on Sat May 27 2017

I HAVE OWNED A CADILLAC BEFORE BUT THE 2017 ATS COUPE IS FUN TO DRIVE AND IS THE BEST CAR THAT I HAVE EVER OWNED.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Most unreliable car I ever owned

by Retired senior from Tampa Bay Florida on Fri Jul 10 2020

Had continuing problems with power steering. Dealers in 2 states could not diagnose problem. Finally they replaced the Rack on power steering. Next the Torque Converter had to be replaced. Next a front wheel bearing had to be replaced. All this in the first 20,000 miles. Too bad because it was a beautiful lookin car and fun to drive when it was right.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Terry from Ohio on Fri Jan 19 2018

Best handling car I have owned. Has many features that I will not want to be without. Low speed cruise control is great. Love the turbo charged 4 cyl. engine with 26.5m mpg average. All wheel drive works great in this snow.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Has a transmission problem in the 8 speed!

by George from Fort Mc Coy on Sun Feb 16 2020

I already had to spend $534 on the transmission, GM won't back the problem, says the transmission fluid used wasn't good for the 8 speed transmission had to have transmission Flushed and refilled with Mobil 1 Blue transmission fluid, people are trying to get a Class Action lawsuit against GM but they are fighting it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful car I've ever owned!

by Dee Oh "Dreamer" from Beavercreek, Ohio on Wed Nov 14 2018

This car was the ####... it was way too fun to drive and I had a hard time staying outta the gas pedal it was one with the road and handled like a dream! Most would say not an everyday ride I would say drive it every day everywhere !!! Loved it !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My newest Cadillac

by Randy D from Waterford Ct. on Wed Mar 07 2018

I love this car! I have always owned a Cadillac and they have been very reliable and a comfort to drive and this new ATS is no different! Wonderful sporty car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i ever owned

by JoeG from Woburn ma on Sun Dec 23 2018

Car is great, fast , economic and very luxurious This car was beyond what I expected and i was expecting a lot since i was getting a cadillac

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by StoneyMX from Jacksonville, Fl. on Wed Feb 20 2019

Beautiful inside and out, plenty of leg room up front, a little tight in the back seat but hey I don't ride back there. The infotainment system takes some getting used to but the handling and performance more than make up for it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2017 Cadillac ATS

The verdict:


The 2017 Cadillac ATS is a fantastic-driving sports sedan right out of the box without having to add expensive performance packages.

Versus the competition:


The Cadillac ATS excels in the driving department but isn’t as roomy as its competitors.

Despite being on the older side of the class, the 2017 Cadillac ATS holds its own against more recently redesigned compact luxury sports sedans. I tested the ATS during Cars.com’s Luxury Sports Sedan Challenge, in which we pitted the ATS 2.0L Turbo against the BMW 330i, Audi A4, Mercedes-Benz C300, Alfa Romeo Giulia, Jaguar XE and Lexus IS 200t. The ATS finished fourth, beating the BMW 3 Series and standing out in a few key areas.

Our 2.0L Turbo Luxury Coupe trim had rear-wheel drive and a new-for-2017 Carbon Black appearance package, which gave it the look of a mini ATS-V

How It Drives

During the Luxury Sports Sedan Challenge, the ATS Sedan was a favorite of mine both on our tight... Read More