2005 Avalanche

Consumer Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche

$1,862 - $16,350  MSRP Range
2005 Chevrolet Avalanche

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

24 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Truck!

by booze from on Tue Dec 01 2009

Bought my 2005 in 2009 It's the best truck I've ever had hands down. It's loaded with great features. Can't wait for the snow!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by sand from Burlington NC on Thu Oct 28 2010

The Avalanche has been great! It has the comfort of a suv with the versatility of a truck. Wish I had purchase one sooner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2005 Avalanche

by robr from Sherwood, Or on Sun Mar 30 2014

I purchased this vehicle in 2005 and traded in my 2001 Chevy Silverado king cab for this larger, more comfortable truck as my children grew into their teenage years. I use the vehicle for long trips, hauling, and the occasional run around town and I can honestly say it is as comfortable as my wife's Mercedes (ride, low road noise, seat comfort) and it has absolutely never left me and my family stranded on the long trips. I have only ever had one issue with the vehicle and had to replace a chip that made my display panel show an error. Once the chip was changed I've never seen the issue again (around 75,000 miles). I now have 105,000 miles on the truck and it remains as comfortable, quite and reliable and shows no signs of breaking down or giving me trouble of any kind. I have done all recommended service but all vehicles require that! In my opinion Chevy/ GM did an outstanding job on this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hard Plastic

by GIJANERET from South Hero, VT on Mon Aug 18 2014

I have a 2005 Chevy Avalanche LT 2500, love the truck it has the hard plastic all around. After awhile the plastic fades to a grayish color. I used a heat gun (4 hours) and it turned the light gray/gray to the factor black. No damage and it doesn't loose the texture.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very happy so far

by Recent Purchaser from Grand Haven, MI on Thu Jul 17 2014

I recently purchased a 2005 Avalanche from Preferred in Grand Haven. This is our second vehicle we've purchased from Campbell Stephenson. He's an honest, standup salesman and I would highly recommend him. Thanks Campbell! The truck doesn't have the large grey plastic on the sides. It's a great looking truck and drives beautiful. The interior is great and the instruments are easy to follow. It has great room in the back seats as well. I'm very pleased so far!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck ever

by Chevy till I die from Long beach ca on Fri May 18 2012

Loved my truck did everything I asked and more. I put 194,000 miles on my truck before it died and I'm buying another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

FANTASTIC VEHICLE

by SPYDER from Cape Girardeau on Mon Dec 13 2010

We have so much fun with this truck. Everything about it it wonderful. It has tons of power to spare.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Must have!

by Family Guy from Ontario, Canada on Tue Feb 05 2008

I own a 2005 Avalanche. It's the most versatile and reliable vehicle I've ever had!! It hauls everything ... in style. I will buy another Avalanche when I wear this one out. Dave

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All purpose beast

by Cris from on Tue May 02 2017

This car never ceases to fail me. Truck with 4wd, strong engine, adjustable to any lifestyle, and a sporty but tough look. Despite the year, it is a truck that still turns heads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Most Versalile Pickup Ever Invented

by EricB from Southeast WI on Wed Jun 14 2017

Smooth riding and quiet. It takes only seconds to convert it to being able to haul 4'x8' sheets, or 8' (or even 10') boards with the tailgate closed! Yet, it's not as long as most pickups, so it's easier to handle. There are so many design features on the Avalanche that are actually useful that it makes you wonder what some designers are thinking on other vehicles! Simple things like well-designed cup holders that securely hold different sizes, sensible places for things like pens and cell phones, and dash controls that are intuitive. You can't leave ANY light on to drain the battery...the vehicle will shut any of them off automatically - and that was on my 2005. And of course, there's only one Avalanche design, very cool and unique... sorry but the Honda Ridgeline is a pale comparison - both in design and power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3