2001 Camaro

Consumer Reviews

2001 Chevrolet Camaro

2001 Chevrolet Camaro

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

18 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Chevrolet Camaro?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Loads of Fun

by VSixer from Gurnee, IL on Wed Jun 13 2012

I own a 2001 Chevy Camaro V6 3.8L and one word for it is exciting. Nothing beats rolling down the streets with the t tops off and the loud and aggressive V6 tone coming out the back (after market exhaust system). The car handles very well for an american sports car, love the rear wheel drive.... until the winter months hit. This is where you have to drive well under the speed limit and brake very soon. Otherwise, if your in an empty parking lot then its the best time you will ever have in a RWD drive car. One suggestion would be to buy the manual because yes sports cars should all be manual, the auto gets boring after a while. The seats are very comfortable if you're in the front seats. If your in the back then you better hope that the person in front is short because leg room is limited, but hey, who would buy a car for rear leg room. Interior design isnt bad for the time period, an aftermarket head unit really improves the look of it. I've only had a few problems with the car, fuel pump issue, upper intake gasket issue, and a misfire because of a bad ignition coil, but the car also has 122k miles. But other than that, it is a great car to own and is a fun toy to drive around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable and More

by Have always loved camaros! from Central California on Sat Mar 10 2007

I purchased my camaro brand new, and have been the only owner for 6 years now. This car has been completely reliable! Just recently, I changed the battery for the first time, and with the exception of regular maintenance, it has never been to the shop. It's funny, when I bought the car I was really only thinking about the how I loved the exterior sporty look, color, and t-tops! Reliabilty, although a very important factor, was an afterthought. I am very lucky my camaro turned out to be everything I wanted, even under the hood!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lots of fun for the price

by Shady from on Wed Aug 21 2013

Don't buy this car if you want heated seats and back massagers. It is not uncomfortable but it was not designed to coddle the driver. For the price it is a fun car to drive with lots of power and the light weight aluminum v-8 makes it handle well. Opt for the 6-speed, lots more fun.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car best value most fun

by Joeking25b from Pineville, wv on Mon Sep 21 2015

I love it has few problems they are cheap to fix wix when it does and my kids love it too just roomy enough for family fun

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i have ever owned

by Camaro SS Nut from Chicago on Fri Feb 02 2007

I can't believe this car lost to the mustang. This offers alot of power for little money. I will definatly buy the 2009 Camaro, it is sure to be a hit!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car

by Black SS Nut from Chicago, Il on Thu Jul 27 2006

Excellant car, afforable, powerful and stylish! I would definatly buy again or even buy another. May not be made anymore, but that that doesnn't meant it is not coming back!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

camaro 2001 3.8 series 2

by chevylover83 from miami fl on Mon Mar 10 2014

i.m the proud owner of a fifth generation v6 camaro, i have to say that is a wonderful car cheap pieces confortable fun and fast i love my car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

jackywe

by jackye from chicago il 60018 on Thu Feb 15 2018

camero 3.8 L runs great RS model ground efects clean car /..inside ,exterior, engine,no oil lick.no check engine light, new tires, new brakes, alarm, cd remote control, american eagle wheels 255/45/17 /full option . this car has aprx 240 hp, cuz i install computer cip, and high performance tune up spark plugs on it (gives me around extra 35 to 40 HP 0 to 60 in about 6 sec is like mustang gt automatik ,(23 mpg city, 28 hwy. show contact info

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

110% worth the money!! VERY FAST and awesome!

by BJ from KY on Tue Oct 30 2007

Performance and power are outstanding!! They handle so well on any curve at any speed, they are very comfortable, they look very agressive, and they out-beat the compitition by far!!! Before you say you want a Mustang, Firebird, or GTO...drive a Camaro SS!! Any 1999-2002 SS Camaro..and you will quickly change your mind!! They are to me..the best car ever made in america! See for yourself!! Camaro SS = #1...5 stars!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Good Car

by Chevy Fan from Salina, KS on Tue Jan 01 2008

The camaro is a great car for any age. The interior is designed for the driver not so much for the passengers. It gets me from point a to point b very well and it has a stiff ride but the joy of driving it everyday makes up for that. Also people give you looks that you would not recieve in other cars. Plus just the history and the performance of the car are excellent.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 Chevrolet Camaro

Chevrolet Camaro SS may be a dinosaur, but it's also a pure muscle car that will wake up your red blood cells and put meat on your petrified bones.

The SS, which is the Super Sport-enhanced version of the Z28, is a throwback to an era from the dim and distant past, remembered now only through relics.

That was when heavy, rear-wheel-drive machines powered by massive V-8 engines roared away from stoplights, back when gas was cheap, power was king, and rubber was for burning.

These days, when young hot-rodders are sporting slammed Honda Civics with VTEC engines, the Camaro SS is part of a vanishing breed, sharing its turf only with archrival Ford Mustang.

The Camaro, its sales slipping in recent... Read More