Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 Camaro

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet Camaro

2002 Chevrolet Camaro

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

42 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Chevrolet Camaro?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 42 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Value and Reliability in a Camaro

by Car Guy from St. Louis on Thu Dec 20 2012

I just purchased a 2002 35th Anniversary Camaro Coupe. This is an awesome car. I got the automatic though I would have preferred a 6 speed manual but it is still a lot of fun to drive. The LS1 engine puts out 325 HP and is surprisingly quick. The SLP exhaust puts out a nice rumble not a roar. The front end styling is classic, especially with the limited edition graphics. The front interior is roomy, the back for kids only. There were only 3,369 Anniversary editions built and they are all Red, but hey, that's my favorite color.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Don't forget the V-6

by Albanypark from Indianapolis on Tue Nov 24 2009

I recently traded a 1994 Z-28 on a 2002 V-6 with very low miles and the Y87 package, which includes tight turning and steering ratio, lowered final drive ratio (meaning higher numbers, but that is "lower" gearing for performance) and the limited slip differential - all excellent features to have. The car steers wonderfully precise, as expected, and brakes are strong and progressive. Power is very good for an older V-6, though any modern OHC V-6 these days is faster. I only expect respectable performance out of this car, not muscle car performance. Fourth-generation F body Camaros hold up extremely well, which is one of the reasons I stuck with this model. The standard 235-55-16 tires are disappointing in the "touring" version specified as original equipment. Only a few replacement choices are out there in this size. The dealer installed BF Goodrich 96T's as per specification, but the sidewalls are just too soft for a sporty car. Interior seating is very uncomfortable - you cannot push the seats back far enough, for some reason, and you cannot see well over the monster dashboard, which is not a good thing in a "sporty" car. The fabric upholstery looks more like the $29.95 aftermarket seat covers you can buy at Walmart. I mostly wanted this car because it's a bit of American history - if Harley-Davidson can sell "history," and Jaguar can sell "history," why not Chevrolet? The car was assembled in Canada, but almost all the major parts are in fact made-in-USA. Oh - the T-tops. I would not have bought this car without T-tops. Remove the sun shades and it's like being in an old fighter cockpit; take off the T-tops in good weather and it's almost as good as a convertible, but with no cowl shake. Much better and more airy than any retractable sunroof I've sat under. Iconic, as well.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a wonderful car

by kkollwitz from Greenville SC on Mon Nov 10 2008

I bought my Z28 new in 2002, have had it for about 7 years now. Car has not been to the shop except for brake service and a loose exhaust clamp. Last long trip the car got 28.66 mpg at 70 mph. T-tops are easy to manage, don't leak, don't rattle. I have them off about 8 months a year. Not a comfortable car, but the terrific fun factor tends to drown that out. I have the 6-speed Hurst manual, and enjoy it. Fast, reliable, nimble and affordable- I hope the next generation Camaro is as good over the long haul.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Dependable Car I've Owned

by Owner of an '02 camaro from Fresno, CA on Fri Jan 23 2009

I have had zero problems with my 2002 camaro. If you take care of this car, it will take care of you.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Camaro Convertible

by Jim-Tara from Eustis, Florida on Sat Jul 16 2011

I have personally owned 48 cars in my lifetime and the 2002 Camaro Convertible 3.8V6 is by far the most overall economical car I have ever had. After owning this vehicle for 8 years without any mechanical problems just routine maintenance I just sold it and miss it already.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Camaro

by me from Maryland on Tue Mar 22 2011

Great car! I love the 2002 Camaro, fun ride. This is my second Camaro and I still have my first--a 1977.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Gets LOTS of looks

by Camaro luvr from Elk Grove, Ca on Tue May 29 2007

This car always gets attention when it arrives. It just looks FAST sitting still and rides great and is fun to drive. It's a little uncomfortable on long rides (over 3 hours) and a little short on trunk space, but for cruisin' around the town, it can't be beat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent care for those who enjoy driving

by Mark from Fairbanks Alaska on Wed Mar 21 2007

I drove the car from Houston to Fairbanks Alaska (4200 miles) in four days and 2 1/2 hours in March through snow storms that closed schools and -35 degree temperatures. Car handled flawlessly and averaged over 29 miles per gallon on 75MPH freeway driving all the way from Houston to Calgary. The fuel injected 5.7L engine coupled with the six speed transmission is amazing. The interior heater is extremely effective in keeping the car warm on cold winter days. This is my second Z28 and I hope they make the new ones as aerodynamic as the 1997 to 2002 editions.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for the Buck Sporty Convertible

by Convertible Sports Car from Michigan on Sun Apr 07 2013

I have owned several Camaros and have yet to find a lemon. The 1998-2002 LS1 engines are super reliable, fast and a lot of fun! Would recommend the V8 for adult (mature) drivers and the V6 for younger ones! Great car for the money! Convertible is even more fun in the sun.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car for the Money

by shade tree hobbiest from Greenville, SC on Mon Nov 06 2006

I love this car. Beautiful styling and a ton of power. It has a great sound system with the monsoon stereo package and handles well for it's size and muscle. Nice features like the GM oil life monitor and steering wheel radio controls. It's not too bad on gas if you aren't racing it. Cruises down the interstate at 75 mph turning 1500 rpm's.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2002 Chevrolet Camaro

The Chevrolet Camaro is a 35-year-old teenager born and reared on the wrong side of the tracks. It's going to die that way. It goes out of production at the end of the 2002 model year.

The same fate awaits the Camaro's practically identical twin, the Pontiac Firebird. Ditto the offspring of those two moribund muscle cars -- including this week's test car, the completely doo-wopped 35th Anniversary Edition Chevrolet Camaro SS convertible.

The special-edition 2002 Camaro SS writes its own epitaph. It reads: "Here rests a car that couldn't face adulthood with anything approaching grace and class. Better to go out in a flame of red, black and silver glory with big V-8 engine snarling and... Read More