Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 Cobalt

Consumer Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt

$686 - $6,558  MSRP Range
2005 Chevrolet Cobalt

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

36 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best fircar I've owned

by dirt bike rider from las vegas on Fri Oct 21 2011

Great car bought it at 40k now over 108k and still going strong. Never had any problems always started, no problems, never replaced anything (other then fluids, filters and tires the normal stuff) Never going to trade it in. BEST car for your money! I used a wix air filter with a new oil change (normal oil no sythetic) drove from nm to nv over 600 miles and I got 40-50 mpg. Only about $55 of gas at $3.50 a gallon!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Cobalt

by Spend thrift from Marina, California on Sat Sep 01 2012

This car is seven years old with 88K miles but is as clean as a new car, in fact it still seems like a new car ecsept for the radio buttons and a missing plastic cover on the back part of the child seat strap attachment. I payed blue book value, got a two year warranty, and put in a new radio for $500 and am very happy with the car. I get a good 30 mpg commuting to work and 42 on the highway so I feel I have an edge on rising gas prices. The car has security features that can get annoying at times- the horn with honk if you open the door "out of secuence" so you have to have the key fob or else! It is a midsize feel to it where as a Ford focus feels like a minisized compact car. Overall no problems yet and if it is like the Cavalier I owned prevously it should have a very good engine reliability and go to the Cavalier's 142K mileage. I expect to own the car for ten years - 100K miles with only ecessory engine parts ( like altinator, battory) that will need replacing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nice little car

by mysin1 from bartow,florida on Fri Jan 08 2010

bought new 2005 for less than 13k. no frills. manual windows and locks ,5 speed etc.great gas mileage. about 29 city and 36-37 on highway. seats are uncomfortable on long trek, but hey, the gas mileage.no major problems or even minor ones come to mind.1st set of tires wore on front at about 17000 miles.good clutch feel. wish it had a little more power, but hey the gas mileage!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love This Car!!

by Cobalt Lover from Scotsdale, AZ on Wed Oct 19 2011

I have had this car for a little over 3 years and I still love it! Very reliable, have had no problems (minus a recall notice that Chev fixed very quickly). The turn radius is awesomely tight and it has some good speed to it for a 4 cyl. Being in Scottsdale, AZ, one very noticeable comfort is the veryy good air conditioning. My only two complaints would be seat comfort (easily fixed with some cheap seat covers) and that it loses quite a bit of speed while going up really steep hills. Nothing too major and I recommend this car to EVERYONE!! I still enjoy driving it! Bought it with 3000 miles and it now had 32000 miles. Still running GREAT!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best First Car

by LoveMyCobalt from Windber, PA on Fri Jul 22 2011

I've loved this car from the beginning...it has never let me down yet. I've had no problems in the 14 months I've had it and it really is a nice car. The style both inside and out is very clean cut and leather interior is a nice option. Very easy-to-use controls are helpful too. It gets great gas mileage and is very fun to ride around in. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone because it is worth the buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

LOVE it!!

by Cobalt Lover from Indiana on Fri May 30 2008

I love this car!! It's my first, I'm a young adult & fell in love with the look of the cobalt, Chevy cars have always been in the family & so that was the main reason I looked at chevy models, This is definately my Favorite! It handels wonderfully!! Very few jerks in turning or lane changing. It's pretty easy to maintain a certain speed too, there aren't a lot of ups & downs, even without cruise control on. My vehicle was used & came with a sport package, which I love too. The only downsides I've found since buying it (About 3-4 months ago.) Is that it's slightly uncomfortable riding over about 1-2 hours, especially in the backseat. Also, around 35-45 mph, there is a slight jerk in shifting (although mine is automatic). I wouldn't change my mind about owning this car though, I really love it! And I drive mostly city & I get 25-26 MPG, Love that too!! :)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

SECOND MOST RELIABLE CAR I EVER OWNED

by SPORTY GAL from DAVENPORT, FLORIDA on Tue Aug 12 2008

VERY RELIABLE, SMOOTH DRIVE, GOOD CONTROL, GOOD BRAKES, GREAT SOUNDS FROM CD AND RADIO, SPEAKERS WORK GOOD,LOVE MANUAL AND THIS ONE IS IN GOOD CONDITION, OWNED THIS CAR FOR 4 YRS AND NOT ONE PROBLEM. GREAT SIZE TRUNK AS WELL. AND OVER ALL GOOD CAR.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned! Seriously...

by Polishmylife from New York, NY on Sun Sep 17 2017

Owned this car since 2005. Great engine, never any problems mechanically. Only selling because I moved to New York city from Florida and have no need for it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, for an okay price

by Daily driver from Northwest, OH on Sat Jun 17 2006

The Cobalt is a great car that is fun to drive. It handles great, and has plenty of acceleration for whatever you need.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car to own!

by Luke from Lancaster, Pa. on Sat Oct 14 2006

I currently own a 2005 Chevy Cobalt LS 2 door in rally yellow. Compared to my last vehicle (1999 Chevy Cavalier) the performance, option's, and most of all style is much better. It's a great car for every day driving, very reliable, performance is great for a 4cyl, good on gas and low maintenance. Lot's of color's, model's and option's available and from my experience with this vehicle I would recommend it and you'll get a lot out of this car for your money in performance, style and most of all reliablity.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt

INSTEAD of General Motors, how about Specific Motors?

While its fortunes in the high-volume Everyman-sedan market have been ever so sketchy lately, the world's biggest car company definitely has some mojo in male-enhancement products, limited-production cars such as the Corvette C6 Z06, the Pontiac GTO -- now with hood scoops! -- and our test car, the 2005 Chevy Cobalt SS Supercharged Coupe, which is a very fine little car despite its resemblance to a cheese slicer.

A factory-tuner version of the Cobalt coupe, the Cobalt SS-SC -- pronounced sick to the yo-boys? -- makes a case-closed argument for the wisdom of letting professionals build your car, instead of ordering a bunch of aftermarket junk out... Read More