2002 Impala

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet Impala

$1,082 - $5,494  MSRP Range
2002 Chevrolet Impala

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

26 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2002 Chevrolet Impala?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Big bang for the buck

by Daily commuter from Zeeland, MI on Wed Aug 18 2010

As a second owner of an 2002 impala, this car has done very well for me. I'm a commuter and I've noticed an average of 25 to 26 mpg on the hwy. I initially got the car when I worked only 20 minutes from work. Now I driver 1 hr and 15 minutes to get to work. Aside from the normal oil changes and regular maintenance, performed by yours truly, I can honestly tell anyone the impala is a good car. With over 176k miles under its belt, some of the more extensive maintenance is surely just around the corner.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good car

by lucky man from nebraska on Tue Nov 27 2007

daughter and wife rolled 5 times and walked away just a little beat up, after seeing car and how good it held up, am now looking for the same 2002 for replacement. A++++

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impala 2002

by bhatta from Moore, SC on Sat Mar 20 2010

Very reliable, good gas mileage, just do regular maintenance and oil changes. Hanldes really well, stable and smooth drive. I would say it is better than most cars of its class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Overall not bad...

by Mommy of two from Illinois on Mon Jul 23 2007

I loved this car. Lots of Power (I had the 3.8L) Amazing fuel economy: averaged 32 MPG on the HWY and 28 MPG around town. However it aquired a transmission problem at 100K miles that we never could figure out. I thought this car looked upperclass and drove like a sports car...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Impala

by Michael from Dyersburg, TN on Tue Sep 15 2009

The Impala drives comfortably and handles really well. I drive mine daily and it has been reliable for at least the last 5 years, the parts are relatively cheap and i keep a close eye on the work that is done on it. My Impala is just the best, even with a couple massive dents in it, it handles really well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great overall vehicle

by imapala gal from Timmins On on Sun Aug 19 2007

This car handles very well, lots of room for family travelling. the trunk has lots of room for cargo, luggage. we love the options, the style and the comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Impala

by paul d from Summerville SC on Tue Aug 16 2011

I purchased my Impala new in November 2001. Has been across the country a five times with no major issues. Replaced catalytic converter at 100k miles and a manifold water leak on warranty. now has 134k running great, good gas milage, second set of tires and battery, Great second car now retired. Worth keeping, first tune up at 130k miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Dream Come True

by Mr Impala from Middle-of-no-where, Texas on Wed Sep 10 2008

I have wanted an impala for a long time now. and when i found my white 02, i fell in love. even with a few miles accumulated on the car, it still rode like new. with a little TLC, these cars go a long way.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

02 impala

by Mcasey from Braintree MA on Wed Mar 19 2014

I bought my used impala LS with 36xxx miles on it (bought in 2012) I have put another 60k-70k miles on it and I really haven't had a problem with my car. I'm 6'2 and surprisingly the car fits me and there is still room to spare. The radio in my car is phenomenal, the LS model comes stock with an amp (not sure about the other model) and it plays loud and clear and the speakers haven't blown. this was my first car and I hope to have it for a long time because it is fun to drive and I like the features on the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by Anu from MI on Mon May 07 2018

I drive this 02 Impala for 16 yrs now. It good a great pick up, comfortable ride, reliable. I did regular oil changes and the car lasted long enough. No serious issues for 10 years until car started overheating. I replaced the engine with a remanufactured one and a changed the radiator. Still drive well at 267k.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 Chevrolet Impala

Remember when the Chevrolet Impala was so big and wide that you could land a helicopter on it and still have room for a large dance band?

You can't buy a new Impala like that anymore. Thankfully.

But what you can get today is a nicely styled front-drive sedan that looks midsize-manageable from the outside but is big-car cavernous on the inside. And if you get the LS model -- the tested Impala in this case -- the standard 3.8-liter V-6 power plant lays down 200 horses with barely a yawn.

For those who think safety first, the 2002 Impala pulled down the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's highest ranking (five stars) in both front- and side-impact testing.

All for a starting price... Read More