2002 Venture

Consumer Reviews

2002 Chevrolet Venture

2002 Chevrolet Venture

Review Score

3.7 out of 5 stars

3.7

14 Reviews
71% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
3.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
3.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2002 Chevrolet Venture?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It's been a good run

by chris from Currie, MN on February 19, 2010

I didn't like this van when I bought it - my first time as a van owner, and I was used to driving something flashier. I had test drove a few Chrsyler Town and Countries, and they were so much more comfortable. We bought the base model, and the bells and whistles just weren't there. It had 44,000 miles when we bought it. We now have 185,000 miles on it. I consider it an extremely reliable vehicle. Somewhere around 140,000 miles I had to replace the intake manifold gasket for about $450. A month later a spark plug cracked (on the front thankfully, so it was a cheap replacement). The AC condensor had to be replaced (another $450) at about 165,000. For putting 140,000 miles on a a vehicle, I think we did pretty well on repairs. Only major complaint would be the placement of the battery. It's buried under a bunch of stuff, so the replacement time adds up - but, it's not buried under anything critical, so if you know how to run a screw driver and a wrench and have an afternoon off, you can do it yourself. We live in Minnesota and have driven it on some big trips (South Carolina, Upstate New York), and probably on average 50+ miles a day. It's never left me stranded yet. Looking back, I'm having a hard time remembering why I didn't like it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hate to let this van go!!

by Bob, builder of bridges for yard and garden from Sanger, CA on October 8, 2009

We have enjoyed this van on short trips, and for hauling a small work trailer. Great gas mileage, the DVD for kids in the back is a real plus! Never any problems and performed great on a 4,000 mile trip to MO a short time ago. Plenty of room for guests and cargo. Husband got a work truck and we have another passenger car, so have to let it go. :(

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good van

by Regular Joe from Wyoming on May 16, 2008

This has been a good vehicle for us. Plenty of cargo room. Mileage is between 18 and 25 generally. In Yellowstone last summer we did get 30 mpg, but that's due to the slower speeds. Has been very reliable, decent power. Exterior not real exciting. Overall very solid, but probably the least sexy minivan in a category of vehicles known for not being sexy. Will tow a small camper. Soft ride. Traction control kicks in slow and then doesn't disengage fast enough for my taste. ABS is good. Transmission is really smooth. The 6 disc CD player is nice. The best part has to be the price-these are probably the cheapest vehicles around on a price to passenger/cargo hauling ratio.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great minivan

by car guy from michigan on February 20, 2008

this van is great for the whole family. the 3400 v6 performs like a sports car. the only prolem ive had is the dex-cool coolant gets sticky and gums up and you have to flush the radiator. I recomend you use regular coolant because it wont gum up on you. dont use dex-cool even though it might say to use dex-cool only it really doesnt matter. that dex-cool stuff is nothing but garbage

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Van

by Lou from Indiana on March 5, 2014

We bought this van in 2002. It had 17,000 miles when we bought it. Have had very few problems. Just regular upkeep no major repairs .As a women it is very comfortable for me to drive and I felt very safe driving it. It is getting some age on it and I would love to find another one just like it in a newer model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle - very reliable

by Impalavair from SC on August 18, 2009

Bought new in 2002 and hated to get rid of mine, but needed a truck. Had 70k+ miles and needed very little work - rear wheel cylinders leaked and brake light sockets corroded (bulletin on this) - all things I could fix myself. Other stuff was normal maintenance. Minivans are not exciting but their good value for the money - especially used - given that they can haul people and/or cargo. It's too bad people look down on them. My Venture was a workhorse and a confortable and reliable one at that.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good value for the money

by Fritz--own a 1969 corvette roadster from Sheboygan Wi on May 3, 2007

mine is a base version. Handles excellant, performance is very good as is the fuel economy. Ride is comparable to other mini vans i've driven in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

BELOW AVERAGE

by GROUNDHOG from WATERVILLE NY on February 21, 2011

WHERE DO I START, IVE OWNED 2 VENTURES. THEY ALL ROT OUT UNDER THE DOORS, THEY HAVE ALMOST NO HEAT, THE AIR COND STOPPED WORKING EVERYTIME IT GOT HOT OUTSIDE,DOORS AND WINDOWS ARE ALL NOISEY FROM THE WIND,THEY BOTH ATE A SET OF TIRES A YEAR, VERY POOR ON FUEL, AND DONT EVEN TRY TO CHANGE A SET OF SPARK PLUGS ON THEM.[ THEY BUILT THE CAR AROUND THEM] .. REAR WIPER MOTORS ARE JUNK .. WORST VAN EVER OWNED...

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Absolute Junk!

by Aircraft Mechanic by day, Car mechanic by night! from on February 24, 2012

I owned my 2002 Chevrolet Venture WB Edition since brand new and it almost has 100,000 miles now. Over this journey the van has had nothing but problem after problem! Luckily im a mechanic and I have not had to pay for labor co$t!!! Problems have included cheap interior panels breaking and falling off, bad wheel bearings/wheel speed sensors, horn button stuck on, engine oil leak, transmission oil leak, coolant leaks, engine intake manifold gasket ruptured (twice now), cheap leather seats cracking, cheap dashboard plastic cracking, A/C Freon Leaks--A/C Stopped working... All routine maintenance was accomplished, oil changed every 3000, miles, tires rotated and balanced, coolant flushed, spark plugs changed, you name it I accomplished it!!! And nothing helped, something new breaks every month! Please avoid this vehicle if you are shopping for a used Mini-VAN

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Overall good value.

by Kid Curry from Corbin, KY on January 29, 2018

Reliable car at a good value. We bought it used and it was in rough shape, not well taken care of but after cleaning it up it has served us well, they are a little difficult to work on under the hood but that is common for a mini-vans and it has rust issues underneath but again it was not well cared for by the previous owner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Chevrolet Venture

Consider the minivan: Made popular by Chrysler in the 1980s, it became the symbol of the growing, active family. Soccer moms drove minivans in such force that they became a political constituency for presidential hopefuls. No suburban driveway was complete, it seemed, without a minivan. Then came the SUV. Then came the revival of the station wagon. Then came - and continues to come - the "crossover" vehicle, a transporter that is part SUV, part wagon, part minivan.

The minivan itself lost its shine. Soccer moms and Little League dads wanted to drive vehicles with more panache and sportiness than the utilitarian minivan could offer.

Yet the minivan endures, perhaps because of its very utility. Most... Read More