2008 Caliber

Consumer Reviews

2008 Dodge Caliber

$1,497 - $9,637  MSRP Range
2008 Dodge Caliber

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

60 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Dodge Caliber?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 60 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Soo much power for so little cash!!!

by Collector-X from Oregon on Wed Jan 30 2013

Bought my 08 Caliber SRT-4 off the showroom floor in 2009 with 212 miles on it. The seats are the most comfortable I have ever had. I'm 6'0, 245 lbs and the lumbar support and side bolsters are awesome. The hard plastic interior leaves a bit to be desired, but this is easily overcome by the driving experience. Dodge put 98% of their resources in this car to the power-train, handling and seats. I wasn't expecting a super luxurious interior. What is there is functional and stylish for what it is. This car comes from the factory rated at 285HP and 260 Ft lbs of torque at the wheels and it shows. This is a performance machine and it let's you know it. As with most FWD performance cars, the torque steer must be respected which is what makes this car a drivers car. You must pay attention when you get on it. This is not a car for the lazy driver. The handling is fantastic, especially in the mountains. The oversize front brakes are actually from the police package Charger and just as the acceleration is phenomenal, you also need to bring this bad boy to a stop so the extra large rotors are there for a reason. The sound system is awesome with 12 speakers. Yes the road noise is a bit loud, but that's to be expected with the low profile tires. People seem to complain about the rough ride but this is what you get with a stiff sport suspension that allows you to take corners like you're on rails. One look at the low profile tires will tell you that the ride is gonna be stiff. In closing, you will have a performance vehicle that will out perform most V8's, is a blast to drive and all for under $25K. You must understand that this is a performance car, not just a grocery getter, though as a grocery getter, you will get there pretty doggone fast.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SRT-4 is a Hotrod

by Hotrod owner from MD on Wed Nov 04 2009

The SRT4 model is a terrific car. I love the turbo, combined with the practicality of a hatchback. The handling is true-sports car. The brakes are the best you can get. The seats are racing seats that are very comfortable. This car is highly misunderstood and under-rated. It is a well-kept secret. Now that they don't make them any more, if I were you I would go get one quick.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great bang for the buck

by Architect from Chicago, IL on Thu Aug 26 2010

I love this car. The styling is crisp and emphatic, it's comfortable, practical, and versatile - does everything I need it to do, and with pretty good fuel economy. Not as much pep as my last car - a Saab - but all things considered a great value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far.. so good..

by PAGirly from Allentown, PA on Thu Jul 21 2011

Purchased my used 2008 Dodge Caliber SXT w/ 27,000 miles on it in April 2011.. I have not had any issues thus far.. It's my little mini SUV for half the price and works well for my family.. My husband thought that based on the outside view of the vehicle that it would not be roomy enough but, to his surprise, the vehicle is extremely roomy and he had plenty of head and leg room.. In my opinion, the ride is smooth and I get wonderful gas mileage as well.. This is my first ever hatchback and I absolutely love it..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by Sweetly from Missouri on Mon Feb 11 2013

Bought my 2008 Dodge Caliber new and just traded it in a few weeks ago. Such a good car it gave me no problems at all and I traded it in at almost 100,000 miles. If you are thinking of buying a used car this is one to look into.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Small car for a big person

by WheelingJohn from Wheeling,il on Fri Aug 01 2008

I am 5'11" and 270+lbs. I fit easily into this car and drive 40 miles daily to work. The automatic transmission is slow unless you use the transmission in the automanual mode, then it has a nice "pick up and go" feeling. I am getting >27mpg in this car on a mixed highway/local streets driving and with the gas prices hovering around 4.00/gal I love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very confortable for a small car.

by Nello A from Council, ID on Tue Oct 07 2008

I have averaged from 29 to 37 miles per gallon of gas and have been happy with the way this small four cylinder motor performs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

cool

by block head from st.louis,mo on Fri Nov 26 2010

a great buy,good value,the family loves the new car,the color is is what the family loves the best ,thanks dodge !

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly suprised how good it is.

by GlryCrk from Appleton, WI on Sat Apr 09 2011

Bought '08 Caliber R/T to replace old van. Wife wanted better MPG. Looked online for cars she might want and this Caliber was the first car that caught her fancy. Drove a SXT and then the R/T. I was very impressed with the performance of the R/T vs. SXT. The response and overall feel of the R/t sold me. Doesn't look like a compact car. The stereo is very cool for stock. Love the MPG. 27 first fill. 30 the next. Comfortable. Noticed the blind spots and complaints on the cheap plastic. I guess once you are driving it it doesn't seem a problem. I really like the CVT transmission and the smoothness if you feather the accelerator. I can get to highway speed and never have the RPM over 2000. IMO doing this saves a lot on MPG. Obviously not going to do this trying to merge on the freeway but normal driving I feel this is a plus. Wife is happy and I'm impressed. We'll see yet on reliability but we love the car so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

As good as my wife's Accord

by Paul from Ann Arbor, MI on Fri Jan 18 2008

Purchased the 2.0L automatic version - seems to be the most poplar. Last new car purchased was an 03 accord EX. These cars are optioned almost identically. The Caliber rides better and is roomier. Power is not as good as the Accord but is MUCH better & smoother than the Toyota Matrix we test drove. Reliability is good so far & the Lifetime powertrain warranty sealed the deal

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2008 Dodge Caliber

Performance hatchbacks are an interesting automotive breed. They try to harness the excitement of a sports car in a decidedly unsporting package — the hatchback — that's better known for its ability to hold a ton of stuff. The Caliber SRT4 is one of the newest entrants in this class and is the latest product from Dodge's Street and Racing Technology group.

This is SRT's first attempt at a fast hatchback, and the SRT4 leaves a few things to be desired, especially in terms of the powertrain, steering system and cabin quality. In the end, it's not as entertaining as the Mazdaspeed3, one of the SRT4's prime competitors.

Styling
The transformation performed on the Caliber in turning it into... Read More