2001 Durango

Consumer Reviews

2001 Dodge Durango

$536 - $6,920  MSRP Range
2001 Dodge Durango

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

20 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Dodge Durango?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

i love my 2001 durango got it used 5yrs ago

by lockman1 from belvider nj on Wed Dec 03 2014

the best truck I ever owned reliable powerful got it used with 155,000 miles like new condition in 2009 I would buy an other durango again great suv

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Durango enthusiest from Fort Worth, TX on Sun Jul 27 2008

Can carry almost anything in the Durango from 6 adults very comfortably to bikes, and anything else you can think of in the back. Sometimes use this verses the truck to carry things.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Performance for Size.

by Ken from Georgetown, SC on Sun May 14 2017

I purchased a 2001 Dodge Durango with the SLT package back around 05 and it had around 60k miles. It has ran great and the only issue I am having now is the transmission. The transmission issue is understandable due to the car having over 260k miles. If you could find one of these for under 6,000$, its a great deal.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dodge Durango

by SnowWolf 2012 from Radford, Va on Wed Oct 18 2017

This SUV was a great vehicle and it provided me with enough seating for my children. I would love to own another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Excellent starter car or mini project

by adubleu from Moreno Valley on Mon May 22 2017

Good vehicle. I just don't need three SUVs. I also don't have time to make the minor repairs it needs.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car owned

by Jennis from KNIGHTDALE, nc on Sat Jul 21 2018

Was the 2nd owner. Owned for 13 years and just recently sold. Have hated myself each day for a week. Vehicle was always maintained and never once left me stranded. Rode great and towing was perfect. Only issue was transmission went out around 130,000. Had it rebuilt and vehicle was back to running perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not very reliable

by Timithye from Maine on Sat Apr 25 2009

Bought this for my wife used, 5 years ago. Very poor gas mileage, had mechanical troubles almost from the start, nothing very easy or inexpensive to fix. The biggest that come to mind are both rear leaf springs (within 18 months of owning) had to replace a steering knuckle in the column, front driveshaft failed, water pump and air conditioner compressor failed and the latest is a check engine 1740 code for transmission troubles. The best part of the vehicle is the comfortable ride and all the bells and whistles, but they do not make up for the issues we have experienced.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'01 Durango

by Dodge Fan from Dowling, MI on Sat Jan 30 2010

I have put a lot of hard miles on my Durango, and it stood up to the test. Plenty of power from the 4.7 V8. Plenty of room for my family. Great little truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very durable, excellent snow vehicle!

by Durangogogirl from Kennewick, WA on Tue Jan 12 2010

I lived in Northern Idaho where 6' of snow is the norm in the winter. My durango powered through it like it was nothing, excellent handling and performance, even though its now 9 years old, any problems I've had with it have been very inexpensive and easy to fix. The third row seat is a dream come true for the busy mom on the go! I highly recommend the 2001 Dodge Durango SLT to anyone! I would definetly buy a Durango again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle...if you find a good one.

by Love my Durango but... from Illinois on Thu Mar 10 2011

1998-2000 Durangos/Dakotas had major problems...engine sludge, faulty transmissions, terrible ball joints, steering shaft issues... I've owned my 2001 Durango Sport for 2 years and have only had the issue of the intermediate steering shaft going bad. I regularly change all of the fluids...yea, that's cost me some money but the truck has been more than worth it. So why do I not recommend this vehicle to a friend...poor gas mileage and the possibility of buying a Durango and dealing with the above listed issues. Dodge never lived up to taking care of the issues that were noted by thousands of owners and therefore have lost a lot of buyers. My truck has been great but I also did a lot of searching and I've maintained the vehicle as I do with all of my vehicles. Don't get me wrong, I love my SUV and it has been great to me BUT with all of the noted failures with the 4.7 and 5.9 motors that were put in the Durangos and Dakotas, I wouldn't want anyone taking a chance on this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2