2016 Grand Caravan

Consumer Reviews

2016 Dodge Grand Caravan

$6,406 - $20,038  MSRP Range
2016 Dodge Grand Caravan

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

100 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 100 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

owner since 1991

by caravan aficionado from Salt Lake City, UT on Sat Apr 16 2016

this is the third caravan I have owned, the utility of a caravan is amazing! people, furniture, drywall, nothing gets wet or blows out. the first generation was a good kid hauler with a weak transmission, needing replacement twice while I owned it. our 2001 is still going strong with the only complaint being the brakes are not quite strong enough needing replacement often. so far I am very pleased with my new van and am hoping for many miles of service just like the others

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb ride, handling and cargo room!

by BigD from Gaylord, michigan on Sun Nov 29 2015

After 40 years of gm junk, was shocked at how how nice this dodge caravan is. First trip from mi to tn it rode and drove like a cadillac. Stowaway seats are awesome, window viability also superb. Mind you I also own toyotas so I'm used to hi end quality!!! Handling surprising . My first Chrysler product ever probably won't be the last!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not much you can't do with this

by AstonMyers from West Des Moines, IA on Sun Jul 29 2018

I have the minivan for over a year now, didn't buy it because I have 11 kids or anything, bought it for it's practicality and use when taking vacations. Has been extremely reliable and versatile to whatever I need it for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mom of 3

by FluffyMommy from Modesto, CA on Mon Oct 19 2015

Overall, I love this van. It's very roomy, I love that you can put down the seats and use it for large items such as furniture. The Blu Ray and all the features such as rear chargers and HDMI are awesome. Can't wait to take it on a long trip. The only thing I wish were more powerful is the drive train. You can feel it slipping at times, as if it's just not powerful enough to pull all that weight. LOVE the outside. Love how it looks rugged and not wimpy. That's why I chose Dodge over Chrysler.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Total Lemon

by Ike from Phoenix on Tue Jul 24 2018

My mother taught me that if I don't have anything nice to say, to not say anything at all. Sorry mom. This car is a piece of junk. We bought a 2016 used Dodge Grand Caravan last year and promptly had to get the transmission fixed at just under 36k miles. Fortunately it was still under warranty, but not anymore. Now it has 47k miles on it, but we're still having issues - some small and some large. The front passenger leather seat ripped, the rear bumper is started to peel away by about an inch near the rear wheel, and the dvd player compartment broke so it's constantly hanging down. Those are the small things. In addition to fixing the transmission last year, we just took a trip and the car is overheating every time we turn the AC on. This has all happened with less than 50k miles. Can't wait to see what the next 50k brings.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

The electronic parts are the weakest link.

by dizneedave from DUNDEE, FL on Tue Jul 16 2019

When the van is working 100% it's a joy to drive. It's built for comfort, not for speed. It's the little things that fail that make it not such a joy to own. The electronics seem especially prone to failure. You will find yourself troubleshooting strange issues from time to time or dropping it off at the dealer and throwing your hands up in the air and accepting this as the price of owning a Chrysler product. They are *quite* comfortable, like a rolling breakroom. I own them for that reason but understand that they sometimes develop the strangest, unexplainable issues. Most aren't show stopping, and your tolerance for dealing with a strange noise coming from the engine compartment or a light that just won't turn off for some reason will greatly affect your enjoyment of this vehicle. I love 'em, but I've become pretty good at troubleshooting them over the years. When they are well maintained, they are just a great, comfortable transporter. People and cargo. Nobody hates sitting in a Chrysler van and they have enough available room to move nearly anything. I recommend them, but it helps if you have some idea of what you're getting into.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome truck/van/car

by Flaggs from Wi on Wed Aug 30 2017

This van can do it all, I had a Toyota van and when I needed to get rid of the middle seats to haul something it was a real chore to get the seats out and than you 4 rails to deal with, the stow and go works perfect with very little effort and in seconds you have a complete flat floor, very comfortable and easy to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable family Van

by Fambam from Santa Maria, California on Tue Nov 14 2017

The 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan vehicle gets me anywhere I please for an average lifestyle. It’s nice to have complements from neighbors and friends in regards with the style which was a surprise coming from a 2 door coupe manual transmission. Flex Fuel economy is a plus being able to fill up with E85 fuel rather than the regular gasoline, but not available from just any gasoline station but it’s nice to have the option to purchase cheaper fuel. A tremendous amount of space for the whole family; easy to get in and out, and also loading groceries and roughly large items with the help of the easy stow and go seats leveling the cargo space with the vehicles floor.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Last auto purchase was in 2005!!!

by Creative Downsizing Retirees from Oak Hill, Fl on Sun Nov 04 2018

We traded in a '04 Camry with 319,882 miles (yes, really!). I expect the same performance from this Grand Caravan - better not dissapoint me! We will now also downsize by selling a pick up truck. The Grand Caravan has stow and go rear seats and that creates a space large enough to accommodate a full sheet of plywood. So we feel we now own a very comfortable vehicle that can double as a pick up truck bed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the room and comfort

by Sueb2267 from Lima, OH on Tue Jul 25 2017

I have 3 grown children and 2 grandkids and I love the room and comfort of this van. It was hard to travel with 2 car seats. We always had to take 2 vehicles. Best purchase I've ever made.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan

Editor’s note: This review was written in October 2015 about the 2015 Dodge Grand Caravan. Little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The 2015 Dodge Grand Caravan boasts workhorse utility and value, but drivability problems and poor crash tests might send you elsewhere.

We tested a 2015 Grand Caravan in Cars.com’s Ultimate Minivan Challenge, which you can read here. A corporate twin to the Chrysler Town & Country (Dodge and Chrysler are both brands of Fiat Chrysler Automobiles), the Grand Caravan comes in an economy-priced American Value Package, as well as... Read More