2004 Intrepid

Consumer Reviews

2004 Dodge Intrepid

$420 - $5,500  MSRP Range
2004 Dodge Intrepid

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

22 Reviews
82% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Dodge Intrepid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

3.5L HO only!!!!

by Intrepid fan from Tennessee on Wed Dec 16 2009

3.5 HO SXT. bought it with 103k, so far so good. don't put cheap gas in this car, triggers the check engine light and temporarly makes the tranny jerkish!! also don't mix different types of gas also triggers the check engine light. Exxon plus. i owned the 1999 2.7L 2 years ago sludge caused the engine to seize at 127k. avoid the 2.7L LO.the 3.5 is very powerful, but noisy when pushed. sporty handling. sporty suspension.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love it

by NewDodgeFan from Dallas, TX on Thu Jul 29 2010

I bought my 04 Intrepid in 2006 with 58,000 miles on odometer. It is a reliable car that i've ever owned. In only 4 years, I've put 110,000 more miles on the odometer without any problems, except the routine maintenance. However, check the coolant outlet housing for leakage. I replace once in 2008 and change the Dex-Cool to regular greenish coolant. I like the performance and styling of this car, and it is still my good buddy on the roads everyday....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dodge stopped making their best auto in 2004

by Business traveler from Atlanta on Thu Jan 31 2008

I have owned 4 new Intrepids (1996,1998,2000,& 2004) and have put 100,000 trouble free miles on each. They are large, good riding and handling vehicles. I have had both large and small v6 engines. The small v6 provided 29 mpg on highway and 23 mpg in town.. I past on each vehicle to other relatives who put an additional 100,000 trouble free miles as well, only changing oil, brake pads and tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car in the world the 3.2

by jeezy from ca on Fri Jan 19 2007

This car is the best car i've ever owned very reliable never had check engine on ever perfect speed compatable with the torque

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car watch for 2.7L

by rayK from Wixom on Mon Dec 01 2008

These are great handling cars as long as you maintain them. I have a 2.7L engine which I knew had problems when I bought it. I have used Mobil 1 since I got it. The 2.7 has a known slug problem and many fail early (HAVE A MECHANIC CHECK ANY PROSPECTIVE PURSCHAE). I do love the car though and have had few problems over 100K miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT HANDLING CAR

by JEFF THE STUDEBAKER MAN from GREENSBORO, NC on Tue Jan 20 2009

I OWNED A 2001 INTREPID SE FROM 2004 TO 2007. THE CAR HAD THE BASE 2.7 V-6. PLENTY OF POWER FOR CLIMBING NORTH CAROLINA'S BLUE RIDGE MOUNTAINS (GREAT HANDING ON HAIRPIN CURVES. ALSO) GREAT FUEL ECONOMY ON LONG TRIPS TO FLORIDA. I HAD NO OIL SLUDGE PROBLEMS WITH THIS ENGINE WHATSOEVER!! I TRADED THE CAR FOR A SMALL FORD FOCUS. IRONICALLY, THE FOCUS ONLY GETS A FEW MORE MILES PER GALLON.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

gets the job done

by rjn from connecticut on Sun Mar 27 2011

i agree with someone who previously mentioned putting el cheapo gas in this vehicle might trigger the check engine light and mess with the tranny a little. when i got this car all i have done is give it oil changes and put 93 gas in it. just for the heck of it i replaced the transmission fluid. 140k + miles and still going strong!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Have ever owned, Its a MOPAR!

by The Intrepid from Lakewood, WA on Sun Dec 30 2007

The car rides great, gets me from point A to Point B. Great performance on my 3.5 HO V-6. Its fast and reliable, give some problems here and there but it keeps on going and going!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2004 SE

by Hmmmmmmmmmm from Pocatello, Idaho on Sat Jul 05 2014

. Bought my SE 3 years ago at 101,000 miles. Comfortable enough. Huge trunk. Stylish on inside and out. Some road noise. Loved it until it hit 110,000 miles (yes, I drove it only 9000 miles in three years) and then everything seemed to hit the fan. Starter is going (had that looked at by a mechanic who said that it had already been replaced once), needs new power steering pump, passenger window can only be controlled by driver (already had that fixed once), and sometimes speedometer doesn't work. Time to trade it off.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Keeps on going.

by Dodgerman from Tennessee on Wed Dec 30 2009

I purchased my 1999 Intrepid used with 26000 miles with the 2.7L. I now have 205,000 and have had no maintenance issues! Vehicle is roomy, yet has a sporty feel to it. Hope my next Dodge is as reliable as this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3