2003 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews

2003 Dodge Ram 1500

$2,325 - $12,045  MSRP Range
2003 Dodge Ram 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

47 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Dodge Ram 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent in every way

by Darth Vador from Conroe, Texas on Tue Dec 11 2012

This truck has a hemi, 235,000 miles and the only thing I have had to do is change plug wires once, buy 2 new sets of tires, put new shocks, absorbers, brake shoes and pads and a new battery twice. The normal things that you do to a vehicle. Change oil every four thousand miles, etc. Other than that, it has been excellent. Starts and runs like the wind and is not for sale.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Was my dads now mine

by ram family from fargo ND on Thu Jun 28 2012

this was the first thing i ever drove and now its mine i love the thing my friends all want to drive it around i get compliments on how it looks and it will tow like no other we towed a skid-steer through some really hilly terrain and didn't hiccup and we left tow-haul mode off great truck id recommend it to anyone

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great truck, awesome power

by ryam from on Thu Mar 08 2012

This truck is unbeatable. it has power, styling, tourqe and everything in-between. I could easily pull a boat and still has enough room for people to sit in the back seats

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome Truck!

by Truck Nut from West New York, NJ on Thu Dec 07 2006

I love this truck; however, as a daily driver, it costs me quite a bit to run. On average, it gets about 14 mpg, but the power / performance makes up for it. It's the truck with the most "testosterone" and it's really fun to drive. As for styling, it looks good from all angles at all times of day. In my opinion, other trucks pale in comparison. As for interior room, there's plenty - even for my family with a toddler. The center console is great for a DVD player or laptop and it holds tons of stuff. If you want a real pickup, get this one. Just be ready to pay for the power!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this Truck

by tomkat2 from SF Bay Area, Ca. on Wed Jun 01 2011

113k and still humming. No major problems. Use as light duty truck and family car. Ram is a solid truck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Pickup for the price

by towmaster from Sioux Falls, SD on Wed Aug 09 2017

This particular Ram 1500 doesn't have all the options in the world but is a very reliable vehicle. I used it primarily to drive in the snow and tow my camper and it never once let me down. I will buy another dodge in the future for sure!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this truck

by Dodge Lover from Visalia. Calif on Fri Dec 02 2016

love everything about this truck, except the dash getting so cracked, and falling apart, other then this this truck is comfortable, roomy, and gorgeous,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfortable Allrounder

by 4x4John from Tampa, Fl on Fri Jun 02 2017

It is a rugged vehicle with a very smooth ride. Enough space and easy to drive. A bit heavy on fuel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun -Fun-Fun

by PackerBacker from Van Buren,Ar on Fri Aug 08 2014

Just bought a 2003 dodge 1500 4X4 quad w/ 58,000 miles . garage kept most think it's a 2007. I gave my 2000 dakota to my daughter, she always has wanted it. i love the full size and ride of this truck and the 4.7 v8 has plenty of power. The split single to dual exhaust sounds awesome.Power and Noise takes me back to real musle car days :) .Griffith motors in Neosho,Mo. had the truck and were 100% good on what we talked about. They actually met me half way to make the deal.Now thats service!!! only had it for one month, but the smile on my face still says it all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I've ever owned

by AlSosa from Katy, tx on Wed May 24 2017

I got this truck back in 2006, 11 years and still running strong. The only major issue I had was oil pump failing at around 150k miles, but that was due to sludge build up from having my sister borrow it for a few months. Other than that been running strong since. Only other major maintenance work have been the brakes, wheel hub, and ball joint replacement. But for a truck 14 years old, a little pampering can't be too much. Fair gas mileage since I just drive about five miles to work and back, about two weeks on one tank of gas. I have the magnum 4.7 l v8. Quad cab slt rwd. Overall great interior space, can't find anything with so much space inside so far, even the ford excursion is a bit smaller than this ram.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2003 Dodge Ram 1500

Here's a lesson that life truly isn't fair: A well-known car company realizes there is still a market for its biggest, baddest engine, a powerplant from the 1960s that was as big as a ... well, powerplant.

After long meetings, intensive discussions and more than a few giggles, it decides to reintroduce the engine in a current product.

But does it appear in something you can truly rip, snort, tear and tumble in? Sure.

Just feel free to bring along the extra load of lumber or your friend's couch.

Muscle-car fans feel free to weep. Truck lovers rejoice.

Whatever side of the fence you sit on, you only have to appreciate one thing about the new Dodge Ram: The Hemi is back.

The what?... Read More