2016 Escape

Consumer Reviews

2016 Ford Escape

$9,710 - $20,218  MSRP Range
2016 Ford Escape

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

252 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Ford Escape?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 252 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Ford ESCAPE Titanium AWD EcoBoost

by minimarker from Philadelphia, PA on Mon Aug 07 2017

Fully equipped with power, leather, looks, power outlets for USB/charging devices, speakers everywhere, sunroof than includes front & back seats, remote start, push button engine start, auto hatch, LED lights, heated seats in winter. This vehicle ride is comfortable, handles well, accelerates well and is loaded for today's lifestyle. Plenty of room for shopping & vacations if needed as back seats recline completely. Ford Sync & Multimedia a plus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

LOVE my new ride

by AngietheWanderlust from West Palm Beach, FL on Thu Jul 06 2017

My previous car gave out on me previously after 4 years- best overall value and standard features are what attracted me to the Ford Escape. I test drove both the Ford Escape and the Chevy Trax... what a huge difference! I definitely picked the better vehicle in the Escape! The only things that could use improvement in my opinion are the comfort of the seats (a little hard for me and that will not make for great road trips) and the size of the computer screen where the rear-back up camera appears (it's quite small). Other than that- I absolutely love the car! It rides so smooth! It's not a gas guzzler and gives me better miles than my previous sedan! It has a sleek and updated design. This is my first American car and I'm looking forward to it lasting!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very pleased with purchase

by katcm from Birmingham, AL on Sat Mar 10 2018

I love the features this car has. My only complaint is where the gear shift is located which was corrected in the 2017 version. Very comfortable ride. Low noise as well. Back seat is a little cramped for 3 people unless they're small people. Three teenagers are very cramped! There's more cargo room than other small SUVs. Overall very satisfied with my purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

loved my car

by Donald Aiman from Reading, PA on Thu Jun 28 2018

I owned a Ford Escape that was comfortable and reliable to drive. I enjoyed using it on trips both small and large. it was a great car for my daughter to learn to drive in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Great Escape

by chinandolls from KY on Sun Sep 03 2017

The longer I have it, the better I like it. Soooo many years since Ive had a Ford, there was quite a learning curve. Plus, my love of older cars, made the Escape more of a change for me. However, it's steadily won me over to like & enjoy it more & more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excited to get into this car, just drove it home.

by Mike (OBG) Teach from Farmington, Mi on Thu Jun 27 2019

Going from a Focus to an Escape. I have admired these cars on the road and now get a chance to drive my own. The instruction into details of this car was excellent and complete.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by lkola1 from Calgary, AB on Wed Oct 25 2017

I am not a very big person but this vehicle makes me feel safe on the road as I am high enough up to feel secure on the highway. It reacts so well with changing conditions as well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Escape!

by Mark R. from Plymouth, IN on Wed Oct 25 2017

The Ford Escape is a perfect vehicle for me. My family of four can all ride comfortably no matter the distance. I have the Titanium package and I love all the features like touch screen, backup camera, auto lift gate, etc. When my lease is up I may have to stick with this vehicle because I’m not sure I would be happier with anything else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favourite Vehicle Ever Owned

by Marye on Mon Mar 19 2018

I love my new Ford Escape. The ride is so smooth and quiet with plenty of leg room and cargo space. Great mileage as well. Best vehicle I ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just got the escape.

by DeweyV from Jeffersonvlle on Fri Jul 06 2018

We are still learning how to use all the new items we have never had in a vehicle. For a 4 cylinder ecoboost engine, I like the power, acceleration.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 26

Our Take on the 2016 Ford Escape

The verdict: The 2016 Ford Escape’s styling is about as exciting as a slice of bread. As with many good sandwiches, though, the good stuff is inside, this time in the form of its excellent new Sync 3 multimedia system.

Versus the competition: The Escape has been a dim bulb amid many bright lights in the compact SUV class. However, the new-for-2016 Sync 3 multimedia system is a cut above and makes the Escape stand out in the segment.

Escape competitors include the Mazda CX-5, Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4; compare them here. The upgrade to Sync 3 is the only big change for 2016; compare the 2015 and 2016 Escape here.

Exterior & Styling
The Escape got a dramatic styling update for the 2013... Read More