Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2000 Expedition

Consumer Reviews

2000 Ford Expedition

2000 Ford Expedition

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

19 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Ford Expedition?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

A decent large SUV

by FamilyMan from Novato, CA on Fri Sep 22 2006

I bought my 2000 Expedition intending to build it up for mixed on-highway and off-highway use. The truck in stock condition was too bouncy and the steering was very light. I swapped out the shocks for stiffer aftermarket versions and swapped out the tire & wheel combo for larger and firmer all-terrain rubber. In addition I added a winch plus huge driving lights. The stock Ford lights are OK on low beam but anaemic on high beam. The stock interior seats are very supportive and comfortable. The stereo is fine, but could use a sub-woofer. The controls are all well-placed. Overall fit is pretty poor: inch-wide gaps between dash trim and side trim, ultra-cheap interior door handles... I added genuine wood overlay to add a little color to the inside of the vehicle, which was monotonous gray. This is a vehicle that provides a decent platform for build-up, and a LOT of interior space, which was important for me as I take my children into the wilderness for 5-day trips and we need to carry enough food & water in addition to tents, sleeping bags, clothes, etc. The dual-climate controls (front/back) are really helpful, and the bench seat is also surprisingly comfortable. I especially appreciate the three-position bench seat recline feature, which is wonderful. Even the third row is acceptable for children up to about 10 years old, but no place for an adult. The vehicle has been pretty reliable, though the ignition pack for one of the plugs failed at 73,000. The brakes are soft and need more bite. The engine feels under-powered even though the nominal output (at high revs) is 260hp. Fuel economy on long trips averages around 13mpg while around town 10mpg is typical. Interestingly, on long trips it's 13mpg regardless of whether there are 7 people plus a full load of gear, or just one person traveling light. It's been a reasonable off-road performer, covering nearly 10,000 on sand, rocks, trails, and dirt roads. The stock underbody protection has held up very well. Visibility on road and off-road is excellent.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Super reliable and reasonable price for maintaince

by bear from Shawmut, Mt on Mon Feb 11 2013

Expedition has been the second best car we have owned. 1986 Taurus was the best. No magor repairs in 260000 mi. Only brakes ,tires, sparkplugs and a ingition coil. It ia a rwd and was used to tow / haul supplies around the ranch. It was bough with 33000 mi. Gas mileage was fair for a full size 4.6L Suv. It averaged 16-17 in combined driving. I would recommend this car to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nicest car we have owned with 4 x 4.

by windinmyhair from N.E. Pennsylvania on Fri Feb 13 2009

rear heat, comfy, good head room for tall passengers, 3 rd seat comes out for more space. comfy to drive, I'm short and the electronic seat makes it easy to adjust for any person to drive it. good storage space between seats up front. doesn't hug the road as good as I thought it would when passing at 70 or 80. Pretty good gas mileage, we get about 18 mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY RELIABLE

by ... from on Sun Oct 30 2011

can use this SUV for everything. bought it new in 2000 and still have it to this day. Has about 170k. extremely reliable in the snow and rain. has had its issues (after about 120k) but i plan to buy another expedition when this one goes up.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle that I have ever owned. Reliable

by Go U of M from on Thu Apr 20 2017

I have owned this 2000 Ford Expedition for about 12 years. Love the interior with third row seating, comfortable, and has been very reliable hauling our family of 6 around. It now has over 225,000 miles and still has the original engine, transmission, etc. It is 4x4 and still works fine. Haven't had to put hardly any money into it to keep it going other than regular oil changes, transmission FILTER & fluid, and coolant changes, along with a couple of coil packs and a gas cap. This is the most favorite vehicle that I have ever owned. It has the 5.4 engine (2 valves per cylinder - not the junk later 5.4 with 3 valves per cylinder that go bad with higher mileage). I liked it so much I went out and bought another one like it but was a 2001.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Built like a tank...

by bigtruck from Philadelphia, PA on Sun Feb 12 2012

A great daily companion. Feels big, yet drives small. Ford hit a homerun with the design and build quality. Toyota Sequioa copied from this design.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

reliable car

by ex man from compton,ca on Tue Feb 14 2012

good comfortable reliable car ,,,,,, dependable and stylish , not to good on gas but ok.. use for work put in at 65 miles a day and its still running good and strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

a good vehicle for my use

by dan az from gold canyon arizona on Thu Jun 07 2018

it has been a good vehicle for my use when family is visiting i put the third row seat in and everyone can go together and when it is in use for work it hauls my material and tools i have 178000 miles on it and the air conditioning having it repaired instead of trading it in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the room and the ability to carry all of us

by Sheba562 from Puyallup, WA on Thu Aug 31 2017

It can take the whole family which consists of Great Grandma, Grandma and kids and grandkids. It is great for camping trips too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Always wanted one!

by Ford Truck Fan from Charles Town, WV on Thu Jul 06 2017

Love the size, the looks and options it has. Enjoy driving it very much. Plenty of room for me or to load things in the back. Gets through the rough weather with no problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2