NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$19,718 - $36,426  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

288 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 288 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great midsize SUV with aggressive exterior styling

by 3rdfred from North Tustin, Ca on Sun Oct 21 2018

Great so far. Bought a 2017 Explorer Limited with 15k miles just off lease not wanting to pay for instant depreciation of new car. It is loaded with safety features, cameras, etc. Looked at GMC Acadia but it was a little smaller & didn't have a CD player or cooled, ventilated seats a must in So Cali for a 72 year old guy. Traded in an old Lexus LS400 for this. Also still have a Vette convertible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Versatile SUV

by GradyE from Cleburne, TX on Mon Jan 07 2019

Very comfortable, good performance, nice amenities. Having had the previous version of Sync, the Sync 3 on this model is MILES ahead in user-friendliness and options. The vehicle is very quiet on the highway and excellent on road trips. Very happy with the purchase!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

comfortable ride

by Grandma 7x on Wed Jul 04 2018

This vehicle will be awesome for the grandchildren. great ride, cool seats. Love the front and back cameras. The moon roof will be a surprise for the babies to see the stars

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still Can`t believe all the Explorer can do

by Gary from Roseto,PA on Fri Sep 06 2019

I never thought I would be lucky enough to own such a beautiful vehicle. Another home run by Ford. Its easy to know why I don`t buy anything else. Can`t believe all the crap you read by the biased magazines and car testers. We love this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sharp and Reliable

by Doubledayy from Taylor, MI on Tue Oct 17 2017

The exterior of the Explorer is beautiful. I don't think I would change anything about it. The headlights are extremely bright, which is great. The interior dash is a little clustered- a lot of the buttons could be added to the touch screen radio to make more room. The A/C fan buttons are located at the bottom of the dash, and if you have your lower console open, it's hard to press the buttons while driving since the console cover covers the buttons. The buttons on the steering wheel are placed on a slight angle, which makes pressing them while driving a little tricky until you get the hang of it. There is also no seek button on the steering wheel when listening to Bluetooth. The sound quality isn't the greatest, either. The seat warmers are incredible- they get extremely warm. The steering wheel warmer is not as great. It doesn't really get past lukewarm. The interior is quite spacious. Lots of leg room, and the seats are decently wide. The middle bench is perfect for me- I can lay the single seat down and keep the two seat up, which makes more room for my dogs. Or I can leave all the seat up (middle and back) and fit more people. All the benches are quite comfortable, too. The gas tank is smaller than I like. I have to fill up more often than I prefer. The gas mileage is decent, though. The vehicle gets up to speed faster and easier than any of my previous V6's without destroying my gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very smooth riding vehicle

by Jack from Green bay WIsconson on Tue Nov 20 2018

3.5 liter v6 has adequate power to move the vehicle, vs 3.5 liter v6 twn turbo, and turbo gets worse gas milage, but limited comes standar with a 2.3 liter I 4cylnder 280 hp engine but what rpm do you have to rev engine to to get the 280 hp, also I think this small of engine will not move the vehicle with effiencently thus getting poor gas mileage in comparison to the 3.5 liter engine. the xlt can be loaded with options, stereo none sony 6 spearker system with 8" nave screen sounds good , limited will come with electical button to fold 3rd row seats, and can get electical lifting power lift gate, but you can get this option with xlt, gas mileage is good for this size of vehicle, mpg is 20 mpg city highway if you drive very conservitatively you can get 22mpg for city highway driving engine is quiet, 6 speed transmition shifts smoothly. Long in comparison to Jeep grand cherokee. But the cost of maitenance should be much lower.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Travel Vehicle

by Emartin on Sun Aug 12 2018

This vehicle is a quiet comfortable ride. Great technology. Only down side is the cheap plastic trim around the windows. Not an issue as long as you don’t have to replace the windshield. The easily crack and brake and need to be replaced with the new window. This is a poor design choice made by ford. Still would buy another one in a heart beat! Great SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ended up buying one

by Random Anonymous Blackmail from Rochester, MN on Mon Oct 09 2017

We were looking for a vehicle to replace our Ford Expedition, as we really didn't need a full sized 3rd row any more, but still needed the 2nd row bucket seats. Having one for a rental for a week on vacation, I liked the vehicle but the rental had the base 2.3L turbo charged engine at 280HP. Well there was noting wrong with that aside for it constantly having to kick down and even though it was a 4 cylinder, the MPG ratings are not much different across the model line. After putting this against the Durango, and the now smaller Acadia, we purchased the Explorer Sport (@365 HP), being model end year we paid less than the Durango and Acadia with similar options. Power is smooth, I am refraining from getting on it since we are still in the break in period. Cabin is well laid out, buttons are intuitive, driver position is confident and comfortable without feeling like you are on the top of the vehicle risking falling out of the window on a sweeping curve. There are a ton of options and safety features, Ford really has paid attention to the consumers wants and how they functionally use vehicles. I can't give an accurate reliability rating, as I only have 120 miles on it, but Ford the mainstream 3/36K and 60/60K warranty. I can see some spots where the exterior shape could look better, but the updated front fascia and grille makes it look like an actual SUV instead for the previous years where the front end looked like a glorified mini van. We were intending on buying a black one but when my wife saw the ruby red metallic with the black trim of the sport model.. guess which one we got. And I can't argue, it looks sharp.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best new car I have owned

by explorer from Sherman on Tue Aug 15 2017

We needed a third row and this filled the bill. It has an excellent technology package and we are truly enjoying the hands free aspect of navigation, on the road as well as the radio function.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 6th Explorer

by Rob from Johns Creek GA on Mon May 01 2017

Reliable, comfortable, and safe. I have owned 6 explorers and whenever its time to shop for a new vehicle I shop around and end up back at Ford and end up in an Explorer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 29