1994 Mustang

Consumer Reviews

1994 Ford Mustang

1994 Ford Mustang

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

21 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1994 Ford Mustang?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

fun car for the money

by Wiscdriver from NE Wisconsin on Fri Sep 10 2010

Mustang GT with the 5.0 and a 5 speed. Have owned my mustang for a little over a year, bought it last fall and drove it all spring and summer this year. Wouldnt recommend this car for winter, the engine has too much torque. Awsome car for the summer months though, and good on gas in stock form, I was getting 27 mpg on the hwy before I changed my gears. Changed rear end ratio to 3.55. Still get 22 mpg, and car gets up and goes really well now. These cars with the 5.0 last a long time if proper maint. is done on the drivetrain. Very common to have the front suspension wear out between 110k and 130k miles, cost me about 550 to rework all of it(tie rod ends, ball joints, etc) These cars were very underated in the handleing department. With some wider rims and sports tires the car can really carve some corners. Not as fast in stock form as the newer mustangs, but the 5.0 is easy and cheap to modify and performance can easily be made superior to cars ten years newer. Interior is much improved over the fox body cars from the 80's, and overall is pretty good, but there are a few weak spots like the door panels(insert with the power window switches gets loose) and the rear seat belts make noise sometimes. Overall the materials are pretty good though and hold up well. Mach 460 stereo is fantastic, just put a modern head unit in to play MP3 etc and you are golden. Overall a fun sporty car that is affordable to buy and holds its value well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Butch from Staples, MN on Thu Jul 29 2010

Wife drives to work everyday 86 miles round trip. MN winters are terrible, but this car was driven 5 days a week with no problem. 150K and don't have a problem with starting and not ever being plugged in. Still get 32mpg and my wife loves the manual shift. But all my Fords are just short of 200K and they all run great without ever having to be plugged in, even at -30!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

favorite car ive ever had

by hung like a mustang from baltimore,md on Thu Apr 14 2011

the car is a great buy for any new age muscle car enthusiast. i had a 98 v6 when i was younger and really enjoyed it. now that im older i've bought a 95 gt! love it even more. the car has great response and excellent pickup/ the only negative thing i could say is it does not handle well in inclimate weather. but that always changes with your experience at driving a rear wheel drive vehicle

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding!

by Cobra Convertible Enthusiast from Rosebud,SD on Wed Sep 15 2010

The best value for the money of any car ever owned(owned my first in 1964). My wife, kids and grandkids similarly enjoy. Great ride, great performance, great fun! Get a convertible!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely fast & fun

by atlstangclub from Atlanta on Fri May 28 2010

Purchased a convertible in the spring of last year and had the top down almost all the time. Took a 8hr trip with the top down.. not loud.. could talk fine at 85 mph. Good gas milage unless you are flooring it all the time. Get a convertible!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most enjoyable sports car to drive I've owned

by Ford sports car and collectible car enthusiast from South East Kentucky on Fri Oct 21 2011

I have a severe back problem, and was really surprised to drive this car and find out how well it drives for someone with a back problem. Most sports cars don't drive with comfort as well as this one. It also handles extremely well and has plenty of power, not to mention gets decent gas mileage as long as you don't keep your foot inn it. I would love to keep the car but with a crushed spine I need a automatic transmission car to drive. The Ford SVT Mustang Cobra is the most comfortable, great handling, good looking, sports car I have had the pleasure of driving. The model I'm driving has power windows, door locks, seats, and trunk release. It has an after market stereo with factory speakers which sounds decent, rear window defogger, and AC. The thing I dislike on this mustang, is that it doesn't have a low fuel warning light, or alarm. Other 1994 Mustang have this light but not this Cobra. I checked and it's not that the bulb is burnt out, it just never came with one. In all if this car came with a automatic transmission and the fuel warning light, I could see myself owning this car for a very long, long time. Just a great all around car to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable for it's age

by MustangLover from Plainfield,IL on Sun May 09 2010

I bought a '94 Ford Mustang V6 in November '08. I put a little work into it and it's still running strong at almost 207k miles. Would recommend to anyone. Most reliable car I have ever owned. Blows a lot of newer cars I've driven out of the water.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I won't sell my '94 Cobra

by Lil Red Pony from Boise, Idaho on Mon May 15 2017

In reading some of the other posts, people having problems with the SN95 Mustangs are simply not doing the maintenance. The 5.0 is an old school V8 with nothing all that complicated. I have owned my '94 Cobra since '95 it has 98,000 miles and runs perfectly. I have not had a major issue with it. I suspect that those having problems have either created them, or bought someone's beater. I love this body style, it is probably the sexiest that Ford ever came up with, it has curves like Sofia Vergara, and you can tuck some seriously fat tires under her rear! The seating is the most comfortable I have been in, although except for hauling groceries or kids, the back is useless, but that's okay. Handling is decent and power is decent. If you install lowering springs, caster/camber plates, decent tires and some basic power adders it will give you more than enough power and handling to get into and out of trouble. The car is quiet and comfortable on long trips, I used to drive mine daily in winter snow and summer heat (if you have trouble in snow or wet weather, you can't drive), as well as cross country trips. Now it only sees sunny weekends, road trips and car shows. Back in the day I compared it to new Firebirds and Camaros, and found the quality with Ford to be superior to Chevy and Pontiac, the GM interiors looked cheap, like they were designed by Fisher-Price, although the GMs had more power. The Cobra and the Firebird have the best styling, I liked the way the Firebird looked then, however, the Camaro was downright ugly (it still is). I have considered selling this car and buying something else, but here is the deal, it is faster than a 66-70 GT350 and handles better (stock-to-stock comparisons obviously) (I have auto crossed this car as well), everyone from Mustang enthusiasts to Kit car manufacturers are using the parts from SN95 Cobras and GTs to make their cars go fast, so I wouldn't gain anything from buying another project car when all of the parts came off of an SN95! Mine is all there and I have taken care of it, go fast goodies for it are not outrageously priced, so modifications can continue. I might could see buying a new 2017-2018 Mustang GT, because 418 horsepower with a warranty, but you are looking at $47,000, a fat car payment and high insurance premiums! So if you can have one old car to play with, you could do a lot worse. If you can find a Cobra, you have a relatively inexpensive and fairly rare base to start with. Until I win the lottery and can afford to do everything, this Mustang Cobra is what I am happy with (...and even then I'd probably keep it!). A final disclaimer, I have owned VWs, Chevys, Dodges, Fords, Hondas, Acuras, Toyotas, Mercedes Benz, etc., and this is the car I keep, although I'm kinda sweet on old VW's, especially Type 3 Notchbacks!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun and exciting car to drive

by JackieBlue from London, Ontario on Wed Nov 08 2017

I've owned this GT V8 convertible since 1999 and honestly I have to say it has never given me any problems and it still looks great and runs fantastic. My biggest issue is that when you want to replace the top, it comes with the window attached. You can add another $500-$600 to the price of a top. Also, it rubs against the body, when lifting or dropping the top. Therefore it wears fast at the bottom 2 inches where it meets the back window.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car 94 Mustang GT

by Fords the way to go! from on Mon Jun 13 2011

This car is fantastic and extremley reliable. It was purchased brand NEW in 94 and we still have the car and is running great with no problems whatsoever. Our mustang was used everyday from work to vacations and was driven all throught the year including winter. Just a pair of good tires bags of sand or any heavy object in the back for weight and it was good to go!We still use it for eveything to the present month June 2011.*NOTE* PREMIUM Gas was always used nothing else and proper care and maitenence Garage kept. The car is just amazing and the mileage for ours is a whopping 170,000miles and still going with no problems.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1994 Ford Mustang

There are many Mustang enthusiasts who probably never are going to warm up to any modern Mustang.

Time - in an automotive sense - stopped for them in 1973 on the day the first generation Mustang went out of production.

That might be one reason why Ford reached into the past for inspiration for its new Mustang. There are a lot of people out there who feel Ford made a U-turn to a dead-end street when it brought out the Mustang II in 1974.

In fact, the second generation of the Mustang - and even the third, built from 1979 to 1993 - had little of the style and none of spirit that made the original one of the most loved American cars.

But stop a minute.

Let's say you are a fan of the older Mustangs and... Read More