1997 Mustang

Consumer Reviews
1997 Ford Mustang

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

20 Reviews
3.9 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

97 Ford Mustang GT

by RayRay from Oklahoma City, OK on April 12, 2009

I bought my 97 Mustang GT in 2003 used. The GT had 64,800 miles on it when I bought it, now with 179,650 miles added, it is still running strong. The gas milage is not bad either, if you are not putting the padle to the metal. I would recommend the 97 Ford Mustang to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fast n fun 2 drive !

by zx14man from philadelphia pa on March 28, 2010

i bought this svt cobra mustang in late 96 brand new but it is a 97 car ! put it away in the garage and drive it 800 miles a year the car currently has 12,000 miles on it ! did some bolt on things to it and take it to local car shows in my area. great collector car since they only made 845 in this ocean pacfic green with the tan int. good luck with your search e-mail if your interested in mine ! thanx john

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best bang for the buck

by driver from Jacksonvill FL. on June 5, 2013

I had a 1997 mustang gt 5 speed manual , premium ...... That model had leather , lights on the internal mirrors 460 mach sterio system. these thing alone made the car worhty on the inside . That was All stock ....it came that away ..... The power under the hood was decent ... I know 215 hp isn't that much ...but the car was light , and cut good in the wind . The handling was great . Don't judge any car by its hp until you drive it ...... I did with this car and now after owning it for 6 yrs , I would recommend it to any one who likes sports cars . The car was fun , and best bang for the buck .... Just understand ....any car you drive hard ......( DRIVING FAST ALOT, BRAKING HARD ALOT , RACING AROUND CORNERS ALOT , EVEN PLAYING FROM LIGHT TO LIGHT ) lol will break down after awhile .... That's any car . I love my 1997 mustang gt .... and if you like sports cars ...you 'll love this one .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for the buck when buying a V8 Convertibl

by Supra Turbo Owner that took a chance on a Mustang! from Los Angeles, California on February 26, 2008

I shopped around for a V8 Convertible and yes, bang for the buck compared to Camaro Z28, the 97 Mustang GT Convertible is the way to go! The styling on this car has a new and old aged retro look! This type of body will be a collectors car because of its own originality of using old and new age looks combined together for the Mustang! Great buy and lovin; the pedal happy torque/power! I highly recommend it to anyone!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST AMAZING CAR EVER

by ejacky from North Carolina on November 17, 2012

I've had my 1997 manual v6 3.8 liter mustang since 2006. While it has had it wear and tear over the years its currently going on over 220000 miles and is still holding up amazingly! She still drives just as well as whenever I bought her at 130000 miles. Regular maintenance is key.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cobra Convertible

by Beva from Newtown on September 29, 2014

This is my second Cobra. They are great cars, Both cars have been Sunday driver cars. They both required very minimal maintenance, looks great, get comments from people on how nice it looks. 305HP was plenty of plenty of performance for its day. A bit different today with monster cars like the Hellcat pushing 707 HP stock from Detroit. The car rides nice and best of all, whenever you turn the key, it6 starts right up. Not like my 70 Challenger, turn the key and wonder what is going to happen today.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1997 Ford Mustang GT Coupe

by Auto Show And Track Car Review from Ontario Canada on July 8, 2013

The 1997 Ford Mustang coupe has many things that keep us coming back to Ford in the Pony car wars. This is one of our favourite Mustang styles due to its bold wishes to change the game up completely. It has a healthy number of old as well as new styling features. Our favourites include the 3 bulb vertical tail lights, and functional hood vents. However not everything is a hit on this car. The 215hp 2V 4.6L V8 may sound incredible all the way up to its 6000rpm redline, but a 6.2sec 0-60 time was a bit disappointing. Also, any heavy engine modifications are expensive. Around the bends however, the car is a different story. with 290 lb-ft of torque, and incredibly sticky 245/45ZR17 tires equipped, the Mustang GT used amazing grip to throw it around the corners at top speed with minimal body roll. With those great torque numbers you also get great punch coming out of the corners. When the back end inevitably steps out, the slides are some of the easiest to control, 5/5 cornering performance. Brakes have a nice feel but initial bite is a bit low, fading was never an issue. Our 1997 Mustang GT has been slightly upgraded and puts down 303hp at the crank. This is the power the GT deserved. But whether it's bone stock, or a straight line speed freak, the 1997 Mustang GT is an amazing car we would recommend to anyone. You will not be disappointed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Greatperformancevalue

by Cobrafan from Seattle area on April 8, 2013

Great performance value. I'm 6', and driver's seat track (elec) doesn't' go back far enough for ideal driving position. This cobra convertible is a "sunshine car" only, with a lot of bang for the buck: fully optioned, rare, and performance and handling exemplary a 16 year old car. A little thirsty for 92 octane, but I didn't buy it to baby it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value

by Geek4Life from San Francisco, CA on April 18, 2013

I've owned German sports cars multiple times the cost, and they are not nearly multiple times the value. Mustang GT looks fantastic, esp convertible with top down, has plenty of power, sounds fantastic and really grips the road with its fat wheels. As a US made car, it's incredibly inexpensive to maintain. Get the premium sound system with speakers even in the window corners; it rocks!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best First car ever

by Gabe from La Feria, Texas on December 10, 2017

Had a '97 V6 Best $1500 I have ever spent. Took me to San Antonio and back home with no problem(4hour drive). The key was very good maintenance. It was the greatest first car ever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1997 Ford Mustang