1997 Taurus

Consumer Reviews

1997 Ford Taurus

$800 - $3,944  MSRP Range
1997 Ford Taurus

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

22 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1997 Ford Taurus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Not Bad

by ARMYGURL89 from MI on Wed Jun 08 2011

Not a bad vehicle for a soldier, i live in MI and travel constantly has not been let down i put over 10000 miles on it with in the last 4 months and havent had to get too much more than the regular maintenance done. Its all a matter of finding it used from people who take pride in their vehicle. If not of course it will be a clunker. I inspected as well as my sergeant and father. We are all mechanics so we made sure not to miss anything.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by Ford Lover from on Sat Oct 17 2009

My first car is a Ford Taurus and it happens to be a 1997 model!It's a very stable car!The performance is always good, and it's a comfortable one for family travel as well. Even I have a new car, but still keep it coz' it's still under a good condition after years. Would like to share it with you if you are trying to pick one for your 1st one to have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'm buying 2010 model

by 97' Taurus owner from Cincinnati on Wed Mar 18 2009

I bought 97' Taurus GL in March of 1999 and it has never had any major problems. It as a 153k and we go on vacation with it every year. This is why I'm sticking with the Ford brand and I am going to buy the 2010 Taurus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great First Car

by Ford Lover from Binghamton, NY on Wed Sep 19 2007

I bought this car used and it has never let me down. It was my first car and I loved it until recently when I finally had to get a new car :( But 165,000 miles and it still runs great! I had Ford tempo before this and they are very similar cars. Def would recommend.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Transmission issues.

by weekendwarrior from on Sat Aug 11 2012

I have owned one for four years now and currently have 198000 miles on it. Biggest problem I've had with it is the transmission went out at 177000 miles and cost $2300 to rebuild. Engine is solid and doesn't burn a drop of oil. Second biggest problem can be finding the right part when they do break down. Easy to maintain and repair for any shadetree mechanic if you can find the right part first. Except for transmission, repairs were surprisingly affordable. Check engine light was an initial problem but a $50 code reader telling me that the gas cap was on loose fixed that. Overall a good value car for a young driver but, a thorough test drive by a qualified independent mechanic is a must.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Car

by socaltaurusowner from Los Angeles, CA on Mon Jul 13 2009

This car was amazing. No complaints at all. Spacious, gas friendly, reliable, hands down perfect. Absolutely the best first car to ask for or recieve in such great condition. Buying a 97 Ford model in 2007...with only 67,000 miles on it and no problems is ridiculously unbelievable. I'll keep this car forever if I can.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

most dependable work car

by get her done from polk county florida on Tue May 01 2012

great to work car or just run around town it drove really great to New Orleans i past everything on the road.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car!!!

by Abby from on Fri Jan 01 2010

Our family bought a Ford Taurus brand new twelve years ago. So far, it has only had a few expensive repairs (which is good considering it has 200,000 miles on it). The only downside to the car is the handling. It makes very wide turns, which can be a problem in heavy traffic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Ron

by family from binghamton, ny on Sat May 27 2006

Bought used with 103,000 miles. It has been a great car!!!! Had a 1995 tourus with 185,000 and would still be driving it if another driver didn't total it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Value

by Dale from Maryland on Mon Jan 19 2009

Have 97 wagon, purchase used with 35K miles and now has 135K miles on it. Has been a dependable vehicle with minimal problems. Ride is stiff but then if you look at the load rating for the wagon, it is higher than for the sedan. Have towed with it but you would need to be careful not to tow in hills or hot weather without adding a transmission cooler. [Tried towing a large UHaul through mountains in august with my 2001 Taurus and blew out the tranny]. The only problems I have had with the 97 is that the air intake gets a carbon buildup around the butterfly valve causing a high speed idle condition and has to be cleaned occasionally to correct. The other problem is that one of the door open switches is stuck in the open switch so the interior dome light stays on if left in the automatic position. Am somewhat disappointed with the mileage as drive mostly on the highway but only get 20 to 24 mpg but do have to admit that since most of my commute is on roads with 65mph speed limit, I then to cruise at 65-70 most of the time. I bought this car to replace my 1986 Chevy van as car was big enough for most family trips and could pull a trailer. It has worked for those purposes but the majority of the mileage has been from my 75-150 mile per day commute/business in the Wash DC area.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1997 Ford Taurus

In 1995, Ford officials told me that the shape of the new Taurus would grow on me over time.

Well, two years down the road has proved Ford correct. I dislike the Taurus' design quite a bit less than I did.

Perhaps all the Taurus really needs is a redesign of the rear end, some nicer-looking taillights and a more cleanly designed trunk lid. In any case, I almost like it. The avant-garde styling is starting to look familiar.

Even though some people still consider the shape of the Taurus to be controversial, few would argue that Ford engineers smacked a solid hit with the car's performance, handling and quality.

Technically, this is an excellent car. And it's hard not to like a car as well-made as... Read More