1999 Taurus

Consumer Reviews

1999 Ford Taurus

$29 - $4,897  MSRP Range
1999 Ford Taurus

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

29 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Ford Taurus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

my ford taurus wagon

by dubitz from alberta , canada on Mon May 21 2018

i bought this car 12 years ago 2nd owner had 99000 km on it i drove a lot always maintained it and still am love the space and very practical for use i now have 320000 km on it did not have to much major repairs I LOVE MY TAURUS it would be hard to get rid of it its excellent and i would recomend it to any one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first car

by Paleorunner from Colorado on Tue Aug 06 2013

This is a great car! I've had mine for 8 years now and besides an intermittent battery drain it is still running good! I'll hit 100k miles next time I go driving. While I did have another car while learning to drive, I was given this as a gift from my parents at the start of my last year of high school. I now work where I have to go on not well maintained dirt roads and so far the car is doing alright.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great First Car

by Reliable Car Lover from Green Bay, WI on Wed Dec 09 2015

This was my first car and I learned a lot about car ownership from it. Very reliable driving 50 miles a day to high school, decent gas milage. Did all the regular oil changes and tire rotations and never had a problem. Bought it with about 75,000 and sold it with about 150,000 miles and it's still going strong!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, love the huge wagon storage

by wuli from on Fri Jun 10 2011

Great Car! We bought it used 7 years ago and we barely had any problems with it. We love the huge station wagon storage in the back. We can just open the hatch and throw the bikes in. Half of our house fits! Pretty good MPG. Probably around 25 intercity +/-. Overall we are very happy with it, too bad they don't make wagons like this these days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fords best car since the model -t

by bigr623 from reading penna. on Mon Jan 30 2012

taurus is a great car. there very reliable, and economacle for a midsize car. I have owned 3 so far. i dont know about the newer ones like from 2008 on up. but the older ones are great cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value for the money

by Family guy from Wash. DC on Tue Feb 19 2008

Just sold it to my daughter and son-in-law. Fun to drive. Had the 24valve V6 and plenty of power. Tuned exhaust sounds good. Ride was comfortable, but stiff enough to feel in control. This is the SE with adjustable driver seat and plenty more. Only problem was the A/C. Replaced parts of it twice. Ive changed oil at 5K and at 150,000miles it burns a quart between changes - started that only last year.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE MY TAURUS WAGON!!!!

by Married Mom Of Two from Fort Mill, Sc on Mon Sep 10 2007

I've had my Taurus Wagon For 3 Years Now, I Bought It Used With 115,000 Miles On It And It Is By Far The Best Car I Have Ever Owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Car

by mom from Wichita, KS on Wed Jun 27 2007

Purchased this car w/ 12,000. Didn't have to make any repairs other than routine maintenance until after 100,000 miles and those repairs have been minor. Engine and Trans. still working great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent value for the money

by Carman from Foley, AL on Fri Feb 24 2012

The Ford Taurus wagon a great poor-man's SUV. Very practical car and good driver. This is all I have to say. I hope this is long enough now.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Needs trans

by Lw from Monror on Wed Jul 05 2017

Good car just needs Transmission replaced be a great car or take parts off and make ur car a awesome car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1999 Ford Taurus

Never has a car so captivated the motoring public.

And never has a car so angered those same folks only a few years later.

Such has been the plight of the Ford

Taurus, launched for the 1986 model year, when General Motors Corp. owned the midsize car market.

Along came Taurus, a significant machine because Ford bet the farm on it. GM was redesigning its midsize cars. For some strange reason, GM decided motorists relished midsize coupes more than midsize sedans. So GM focused on new two-door-- rather than four-door--cars.

When you own the market for midsize cars, as GM did, you do what you damn well please.

In the midst of GM's W-body midsize coupe--Buick Regal, Chevrolet Lumina, Oldsmobile... Read More