2000 Taurus

Consumer Reviews

2000 Ford Taurus

$378 - $5,814  MSRP Range
2000 Ford Taurus

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

29 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
3.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Ford Taurus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best

by indy from Indianapolis on Tue Jan 13 2009

I am somewhat familiar with foriegn cars after two Toyotas, one VW and a Nissan. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with our purchase of a used Taurus. This is one well built and reliable automobile. Ours came with 60k miles and was later sold to a family member at 130k. Another 40k later, he sold it to his best friend who is still driving the car today. In our three years of ownership, we never spent a dime on that car except for oil changes and a set of tires. Good job Ford.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable car I have ever owned

by Ford Tough from Knoxville, TN. on Wed Dec 17 2008

I bought my 2000 Ford Taurus SE in 2003. It had 53,800, I gave $8000 cash for the car and have never regretted it. The only problem I have had with this car is the air bag sensor. Oh and the sound that the car makes from the rear wheels is annoying but you compare that little annoying sound to the reliability, to me its worth it. My car has 150,000 on it now and still handles and performs as well as it did the day I bought it almost 6 years ago. Very dependable car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY AWESOME

by GREAT CAR from Mass/Medford on Thu Feb 15 2007

I live in the New england area. I bought my 2000 ford Taurus with 36k miles on it. I travel alot for buisness and its and awesome ride. Roomy and very comfortable for long drives. Its not very good in the snow. I was very sad to see it go.... It died on me with 175,451 miles on it. I had to put some work into it when it got in the 90,000miles-112,000. Other than that its and Awesome ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable car

by every day around town driver from Virginia Beach, VA on Sun Jul 15 2012

bought car in 07 used, 51,564 miles, SES model,4 door sedan with optional 3.OL, 4V 6-cyl engine and all speed traction control, paid $4,000 for it, it's been serviced every 5,000 miles, with oil change, etc.. 120,000 miles had brakes done, rotors turned, change oil and oil filter replaced, lubricate everything, change transmission fluid, cabin air filter replaced,(spark plugs replaced at 109,822 miles and good until 170,000 miles); if the vehicle is serviced regularly, and yes, you have to pay for the maintenance, then the car should be reliable. I'm very happy with my Taurus and taking it for the yearly inspection and 125,000 mile checkup. I hope to get at least 200,000 miles or better out of it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I've had excellant/reliable service so far

by Traveler from Lafayette TN on Sun Sep 27 2015

'Bought this Taurus new, and have enjoyed reliable/economical service. I've driven this vehicle 350,000 miles as of this date. I've had no issues with it, It has had ongoing/timely preventative maintenance. In 15 years and so many miles and engine hours some fittings/things do wear out. High wear items like ball joints and shocks, some suspension components have been replaced as needed. After so much time in service the A/C system hit its service life and was replaced. The transmission was replaced at 320,000 miles. The car still attains between 27 and 25mpg on the road in level tarrain. The car has provided exceptional service.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good and Bad

by 0529review from GA on Fri Dec 26 2014

I got my 2000 taurus in 2002 with 58k on it. It know has 238k and everything on it is wore out. It is breaking down every other day. But it was the most reliable car i have ever owned. After it gets about 200k it will be wore out but before that it was a great car and i would love to get another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great handling, 24Valve 200hp Duratec is great.

by Just an Old Car nut from CO on Sun Nov 05 2006

3rd Ford Wagon I have owned and just a terrifice car. I sell Honda's too so I know a great value. You can't beat the value in this car. Enjoy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best all around car

by Montainman from Kings Mountain, NC on Tue Jun 02 2015

2000 with 140K. Very reliable and still looks new. 24 valve gives you all the power you need! Wish they still made this car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2000 Ford Taurus SE

by Rich from PA on Fri Jan 19 2018

I've owned this car for the better part of its life. While it doesn't get the greatest gas mileage, it has been reliable and got my kids where they needed to go as teenagers.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and Safe

by Leoness78 from Sacramento on Sun Jul 30 2017

Great older model 4 door sedan. I owned one for 16 years and made 2 long road trips across the US from CA to the East Coast after it had hit 100k miles. With regular maintenance, these cars can run well over 200k miles and still be reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2000 Ford Taurus

When Ford took the wraps off of its 2000 Taurus last spring at the New York Auto Show, enhanced safety and a fairly major redesign were key elements.

The 2000 Taurus (as well as the mechanically similar 2000 Sable) is now on the street and I have had a chance to drive both. It comes in LX, SE and SE station wagon models. Prices start as low as $18,245 for the LX and range to $$21,445 for the SE Comfort model.

Across the board, from drivability to styling to function, this Taurus is a notable improvement. It has a little more headroom in front but 1.9 inches more in back. The trunk is 1.2 cubic feet bigger and it is easier to get things in and out. It now contains an emergency release... Read More