2004 Taurus

Consumer Reviews

2004 Ford Taurus

$460 - $6,096  MSRP Range
2004 Ford Taurus

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

36 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Ford Taurus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Value for the Money

by Average Driver from Kansas City, MO. on Fri Aug 21 2009

The 2004 is the third Taurus I've owned; No major problems with any of them. All of them get from 23 to 29 mpg. I've had both sizes of engines and both of them have plenty of power for normal driving. They are easy to drive and very comfortable. I will definitely buy another one when the time comes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Would buy again & again

by Loyal Taurus Owner from Cincinnati, OH on Sun Aug 01 2010

I brought this car used in 2006. This car has never failed me, and holds up great. It came through a nasty wreck in the winter of 2008 and it shocked me how well we (me & the car) came out of it. If I had my way, I would never own any other car than a Taurus. Lots of room, very reliable..very very pleased!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fords are #1

by MooseMan from Allentown PA on Sun Feb 12 2012

On my 3rd taurus like the ride. I drive 50 miles oneway to work. Got 165k on one and 130k on the other.Just take care of the transmission and they are very good running car.Also have a Sable { Taurus Mercury sister car}.also a great running car..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by G-Unit from on Fri Jan 23 2009

This car is very comfortable and very nice to drive and ride in. The features are good. The gas mileage could be a little higher. The engine is good and I've had no problems so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid vehicle

by Goatherd from Colorado on Thu Jun 11 2009

This is the second Taurus we've owned, and it has never hiccoughed. Runs smoothly, no trouble. Not fashionable or flashy, but doesn't look excessively dated either. If you're looking for something to move people in comfort, haul groceries, or commute to work, this is a solid choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family car

by Hard on cars from Cleveland OH on Sun May 06 2007

While everyone raves about the Toyotas and Hondas and pay big bucks for those - people overlook the Ford Taurus. You get the same quality car for half the money. My personal Taurus is my daily driver - it has plenty of power to get me around town. The ride quality is very good - it handles Cleveland's potholes and poor weather very good. There is a lot of room for the kids in the backseat. I feel safe putting my family in this car because it is a bigger car. For the import econobox price - I have a larger domestic car - and I support my fellow Americans by buying domestic. All the buttons and switches are nicely placed and have a nice quality feel to them. I have not had any trouble with this car since I bought it and would definiately get another one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by Car lover from MN on Sat Jan 27 2007

I've owned 3 taurus's and have had great luck. Was able to get 278,000 out of my last 2000 model. Would rec. to anyone who is looking for sound transportation.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy with my Taurus

by Taurus Owner from on Thu Nov 13 2008

I cart around two active kids in this car daily. It's dependable and reliable and gets 25 mpg on trips. I would reccomend this as a great all around car, I've been enjoying mine for almost 8 years and I would buy another. It maybe is not the most stylish looking vehicle, but I went with safety over a fancy exterior. The interior is roomy; even with 3 in the back seat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

320k miles

by mikedallas from dallas, tx on Tue Sep 19 2017

Did have to change starter, alternator but the engine and transmission just works with no issue. Really like driving it on highway. I drove it to from Dallas to Boston and many places. It's very smooth on highway. Also the gas millage on highway is very good too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

car for sons(reliable)

by reliable car fan from Baton Rouge, La on Tue Nov 26 2013

I had been looking for a reliable car for my sons for a while and I am so glad that I waited and took the advice of a coworker to go to cars.com. I was so blessed to hop on this deal right away, a 2004 Ford Taurus. I know if I had waited a day longer that this car would have been gone. I feel very blessed to have found this good car. It performs well and the ride is comfortable. It's a mid-size car and suitable for two growing teenagers to get around school, etc. I thank God for the deal and I pray for many yrs of use for my sons.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4