Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Taurus

Consumer Reviews

2008 Ford Taurus

$1,302 - $9,358  MSRP Range
2008 Ford Taurus

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

48 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Ford Taurus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 48 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Terrific Value

by Demanding Buyer from Chicago on Sun Oct 04 2009

2008 Taurus SEL 2WD purchased new in June 2008, so I've had it 16 months and have 24,000 miles on it now. First of all, I'm a very discerning buyer and grade harshly. I'm one of those guys who researches for weeks before going to a showroom. By that time I have 98% of the decision made, down to the color and options, and I already know what inventory the dealers have on their lots. My initial preference was leaning towards a Camry, Altima, Avalon or something in that genre. Taurus kept popping up in the car sites as a candidate so I finally read up on it. The specs were most impressive! 3.5L V-6 with respectable power, yet 24-28 MPG. Extremely high safety ratings. Extremely low emission ratings. Impressive technical specs. Good reviews from experts and owners. Simply put, the Taurus lives up to everything you read about it. My personal highlights: 1. LOTS of room! I'm over 6 feet tall. This thing is very roomy. This is the first car I have ever owned where I can sit in the back seat and have 4 inches of room between my knees and the front seat. The trunk is huge. Everyone who rides in this car comments on how roomy it is. 2. Nice power but still gets very good gas mileage. Plenty of power when passing, etc. I get in the 24's commuting, and pushing 30 on road trips cruising at 75 MPH on the highway. 20-gallon tank means 500 miles between fillups. This is a GREAT road car. 3. Very comfortable. We take a couple of 1,000 mile plus road trips each year and ride in comfort. 3. Plenty of amenities on the SEL. Decent stereo with iPOD jack, dual climate controls, cruise, power locks, windows and seats, etc. I have just passed 24,000 miles and have had no repairs; just periodic oil changes and checkups. For those looking for a mid/large sedan, the Taurus is a must-see during your search for a new car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

56 out of 56 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of Ford's Best Cars on the Road

by Reggie from on Fri Jun 24 2011

It has been two years since I have own this vehicle. I would like to inform anybody whom may be reading this review is getting true information about this vehicle. This car is worth more for the money. It is the idea car for the individual or family members. The new design of today's cars have very limited field of view driving in heavy traffic conditions. This particular Ford model car has a great view in all direction. From all the safety features to the value of this car. Believe all the good reviews you read from these owners because they are telling the truth. Hands down this is a very good car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST UNDERATED VEHICLE IN THE WORLD

by Tatonka from Plainfield, IL on Sat Jul 04 2009

I'm in sales so not only do I drive alot but also rent many vehicles. The totally overated Camry and Accord don't even compare to the Taurus. Simply put there isn'tanother car with as much room, power & handling, quiet, comfortable ride with all standard options (including the top rating for safety) unless you pay triple the amount for a large BMW, Lexus or Mercedes. I'm not saying the Taurus is equivalent to those BUT . . . if you want a combinatin of all the aforementioned attributes, this is THE only car out there . . . period I'm totally impressed with this vehicle and everyone who rides in it can't believe they're in a Ford. If you're in the market for a family sedan, I dare you to test drive one. You probably will find yourself buying it a short time later. Get one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car For The Road

by Road Trip from Albany, NY on Tue Apr 14 2009

I just bought this car three weeks ago with 13000 miles on it, it now has 17800. Myself and four others took this car from Albany Ny to Fort Lauderdale Fl(22 hours)and it was the most comfortable ride i have ever been in. Even with five adults and all our luggage we both comfortable and we still averaged 29 mpg for the trip. I plan on keeping this car for a very long time, its a great car and i would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice affordable full side sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by jarhead from NC on Thu Jan 26 2012

I bought this car in the Limited trim with 55,000 miles on it. We now have 86,000 on it. She runs like a champ. Plenty of power and handles great. The interior room is awesome. The back seats have unbelievable head and leg room. The trunk is large enough to pack a families worth of stuff for a week and half and still have room. The traction control is great. Almost no road noise. The interior is very quite. The Microsoft Sync and the sound system are great options that I really enjoy. I would like to see a bit better fuel mileage out of it. It should get better than a combined 23 mpg, but it is a big car. The only draw back is on the Limited model the 18 inch tires are more expensive than the 17 inch tires that are on the SEL. If you want to purchase one, make sure the car doesn't have the stock Pirelli P6 tires. A lot of dealers will put these tires back on because they are cheap and they are the tires that some of the Limited's came with from the factory.They make the car seem like an over priced boat. Once I replaced the Pirelli's with Hankook Optima's the car is a totaly different beast. The tires truly make the car something you want to keep.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A closely guarded secret

by Terces from Detroit, MI on Mon Sep 10 2007

Had driven a 500 for 6 months as a work vehicle so when the Taurus came out, I rented one to compare the two. This car is a major improvement over the 500. The power issue of the 500 is now resolved. It had good pickup-and-go power and windnoise was virtually non existent. Handling was good especially on the highway. Ford needs to run a test drive clinic so people can drive this car and not judge it solely by its exterior. This is an excellent car for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Going Strong

by cbink7227 from Grand Rapids, MI on Thu May 04 2017

My 2008 Ford Taurus now has 173,000 miles on it and it's still going strong. It's even survived two teenagers. Typical maintenance, one major repair, a new set of tires, a new battery and it's still holding up. I hope this car goes strong for another 100,000. We use this car for all our driving needs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Taurus SEL FWD, September 30, 2009

by Berkshire Report 4 from on Wed Sep 30 2009

The car now has 23,675 miles on the odometer. Fuel economy for the summer months June through September was 26.2 mpg (8,803 miles and 335.6 gallons gasoline). Fuel economy ranged from 29.5 mpg to 31.0 mpg for road trips consisting of 95% highway, 5% city driving. Tire wear has been excellent, with 60% of usable tread remaining. I can drive the car for hours without feeling fatigued. The steering response and handling continue to be excellent on both dry and wet paved road surfaces. The car has not developed any squeaks or rattles. One light bulb, license plate illumination, required replacement. And I had a four wheel alignment made at 21,000 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I've ever owned

by Blue Oval Fan from Burlington,Ontario on Sat Jan 27 2018

I've owned 1992 and 2000 Taurus cars and liked them. I bought my '08 used in 2010 with 42.000 kilometres on the clock and still drive it today. Regular maintenance is about all I've done,other than having to replace the heater door actuator which apparently is a weakness in the Taurus. I love the roominess since I'm 6ft. 2" and can sit in the rear seats with legroom to spare. I'll drive this car forever since it's so well built. Fuel consumption is very good considering that the car weighs close to 4,000 pounds. Well done, Ford!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Taurus SEL FWD

by Berkshire Report 3 from on Sun Mar 01 2009

The car now has 7,700 miles on the odometer. I drove 4,635 miles from December 1, 2008 through February 28, 2009. Fuel economy, actual, was 21.9 miles per gallon (211.4 gallons gasoline). Driving was approximately 70% highway and 30% city. Vehicle handling and control was: (a) excellent on dry and wet pavement, (b) good on snow covered pavement and (c) poor on ice covered pavement. The deepest single snowfall encountered was 12 inches. The traction control and ABS systems worked perfectly at all times. The heater, windshield defroster, rear window defroster and windshield washers worked perfectly at all times. Ice accumulation occurred on the windshield wipers during a snow and sleet storm. The lowest temperature encountered was minus five degrees F. The car has not needed any repairs or adjustments. The car has not developed any squeaks or rattles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2008 Ford Taurus

Even if you've never owned a Taurus, you probably know someone who has. Before the demise of the original Taurus, it was Ford's bread-and-butter family car and had a prominent spot in driveways across America — a degree of popularity the carmaker hopes to regain, at least in part, with the new Taurus. It's a revision of the slow-selling Five Hundred, a practical car that suffered from unimaginative styling and modest performance.

The five-seat Taurus keeps the Five Hundred's better attributes and reverses many of its faults, and it deserves to be a hit. Whether or not it will be depends on how consumers react to its cabin and styling. Both have improved, but neither is as compelling as some... Read More