2002 Thunderbird

Consumer Reviews

2002 Ford Thunderbird

$4,890 - $25,918  MSRP Range
2002 Ford Thunderbird

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

44 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Ford Thunderbird?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BLUE BIRD OF HAPPINESS - DITTO

by MYQTTB from Eagle, Idaho on Tue Mar 15 2011

I bought my 2002 TBird in 2010 on a whim. It was in pristine condition with very low miles. I love everything about it. I have never gotten so much attention from so many different people and it puts a smile on their face and mine. It's an amazing car and I hope to have it forever. So far, no problems with it and I am looking forward to driving it up to the mountains when the snow is all gone. I heard it takes the curves real well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Ford Thunderbird

by Sporty Cindy from Silver Springs, NV on Fri Sep 03 2010

The car in the ad is my Mother & Stepfathers. I would definately recommend buying this car if your looking for reliability, comfort, good investment. I've driven it & rode in it. Either way, it is sheer pleasure! They have taken immaculate care of it, always garaged! Definately money well spent for the car lover!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A thrill to drive!

by jd from idaho on Fri May 13 2011

Ford did a great job, used the jaguar v-8 which perform's and is low maint. I put a new battery in, and that's been it. I feel the style is timeless, and attract's glance's at every stoplight. The only drawback would be height, if you are over six feet tall it's a little tight.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Thunderbird 2002 from Illinois on Sun Sep 02 2012

We love our 2002 Thunderbird. It is a great car and a comfortable ride. It is a fun car with a great design. Don't hesitate to purchase this old car; thankfully we didn't!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

tbird

by ertz from missouri on Tue Jan 03 2012

This car is roomy for a roadster, lots of features. Removable hardtop has it's own rack. Nice sounding exhaust.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Retirement Present To Myself

by T-BirdMan 78-02 from Monroe, Mi on Tue Jun 23 2015

I bought a 2002 Thunderbird Blue, two-tone interior car with 22,000 miles on line. I flew to New Jersey and had it shipped back to Michigan . I bought it for my retirement present to myself. It is an awesome car and everyone loves it. It drives great and has been fun being part of the Thunderbird Club and having it in shows. It's a classic that I would recommend to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by TD from Tuscaloosa, Alabama on Tue Nov 04 2014

Found through cars.com. Wanted one when they first came out, but couldn't afford at the time. Love the styling and really fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by BlueBird from Dallas, TX on Fri Apr 05 2013

If I can't get a 1957 Bird, this is the one I want. Rides great, peppy, chick magnet, my mid life crisis solved.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This car is a head Turner!

by Col from Mesa on Mon Aug 14 2017

This T-bird rodester is great on trips. Fun to handle. I had this car brand new, used to commute to work during good weather. The rest of the time it sat in the garage. Pack light and have a great time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

There is no other power than the V8

by Brooke from Palm Springs, Ca. on Wed Jun 28 2017

I have always owned Ford cars I downgraded from a cobra to the thunderbird and kept the car for years I loved it very sturdy, no major repair issues unfortunately only made 3 years so when you crash the car insurance will not want to repair it parts are hard to find now.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2002 Ford Thunderbird

For decades, Detroit's automobiles used design to evoke an aura, a glamor that would entice buyers into the showrooms. Sure, one needed the functionality of a car, but its function came secondary to form.

Too many cars these days fulfill their mission in life with a bland utilitarianism - fuel efficient, dependable, comfortable, convenient, perfect.

Notice the word emotion in there? You won't.

Cars are designed for function first. These days, a car's glamour is in its perfection, not its stylish allure.

But with all cars reaching the same state of reliability, how does an automaker make its product stand out?

Style. Heaps of it.

With cars such as the PT Cruiser and VW Beetle, car makers are... Read More