Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 Canyon

Consumer Reviews

2005 GMC Canyon

$4,243 - $11,147  MSRP Range
2005 GMC Canyon

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

20 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 GMC Canyon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

great ride and mileage

by MN canyon from MN on Sat Mar 12 2011

Bought mine used in early 2010, one year in now and glad I did. I have the 4WD club cab and the 4WD was great to have this winter, shifts into smoothly and handled the snow effortlessly. With gas prices going up the 5 cyl is also nice on the wallet. I pull a simple 16 ft boat in the summer and it handles that well also. ZERO mechanical issues, even for a used. Routine maint is all I have invested.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Most troubled truck

by aircraft enthusiast from fresno, ca on Fri Dec 28 2007

I have owned several GMC trucks and this one has had the most trouble the day I drove it off the lot. Good power and handling but with a cost of engine troubles.Every owner I have spoken with has had the same reaction. Major engine trouble just out of factory waranty. With severe engine noise after repairs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good ride

by The bodyman from kentucky on Fri Jan 27 2012

had this ride since 2006- drove 6 yrs and only had to do routine service- and a 129.00 fuel sensor. just did the brakes at 90k. good gas mileage, still the same battery, a little snug for me on long trips- i'm 6'2' 200lb. Great engine and really smooth trans and 4whl drive...nice stereo and great hanfdling on the highway.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best small truck I ever owned

by JT from Stamford Ct on Tue Jan 20 2009

Bought this truck new in 2005,loved the look. I really didn't need a new truck, but couldn't pass up the price. It's a Sle reg cab 4wheel drive 5 cyl, it does everthing i want it to do, nice ride, light plowing, plus i get 27 mpg on trips. I'm very happy with vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

333K and counting

by kfab from New Hampshire on Fri Jun 08 2018

I bought this truck new and have primarily commuted with it. I also use it for light hauling and for trips to the mountains for summer and winter activities. The reliability of this truck has been outstanding. I passed 333,333 miles last week and it still runs strong. Everybody is amazed by how good it still looks. Don't buy it if you don't love it, you will be stuck with this truck for many years!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome truck

by texas guy from on Sun Jul 22 2012

nice truck alot of room good gas millage love my truck nice options motor is real good really nice truck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Used Truck

by butch from overland park kansas on Mon Jun 18 2012

I bought the above truck, a one owner with 79000 miles. I have driven it for over 2 months and am getting 29 mpg in the city. It looks great and I have had a lot of comments about how it looks. I really like the cool feature of the sun roof automatically closing when you trun off the engine. It handles great and I am impressed by the pick up and go it has,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Decent little truck

by Kt from Alberta on Tue Oct 16 2018

Decent little truck. Never had any problems with it. Very spacious in the front. Just enough room in the back for passengers. Needed a truck decent on gas. But a truck that could also haul my quad when needed. Would recommend this truck. :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great mid-size truck

by Howard67 from Savannahga on Tue Dec 12 2017

Great truck runs and drives great. Sporty looking truck, handles real well street or off road. Interior is basic but comfortable. Love this truck

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2-08-2017 31,000 MI ON 2005 CANYON CREW CAB 5CYL

by WRKPAC from HOBART IN on Thu Feb 09 2017

DRIVER SIDE SPEAKER FAILING FOR SECOND TIME, JUST REPLACED EMISSION CANISTER IN REAR ABOVE SPARE TIRE AND REPLACED EMISSION SOLENOID BELOW ALT.AND DRIVER POWER WINDOW HAS STOPPED WORKING LAST WEEK. OF COURSE A COUPLE BULBS BURNED OUT OVER 12 YEARS BUT I HAVE DONE REPAIRS MYSELF. JUST DOWNLOADED WIRING DIAGRAM FOR WINDOW AND WILL TEST AND DECIDE IF SWITCH OR MOTOR HAVE FAILED. GARAGE KEPT W/HIGH TOP CAP.ORG TIRES. THIS HAS BEEN A VERY GOOD TRUCK FOR ME CONSIDERING IT IS 12 YEARS OLD. OIL HAS NEVER BEEN DIRTY AND TRANS FLUID STILL CLEAN. 15 MPG CITY-23 MPG@ 70 MPH HWY.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2