2002 Envoy

Consumer Reviews
2002 GMC Envoy

Change Vehicle
4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

28 Reviews
2002 GMC Envoy
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best vehicles that I have ever owned

by Beach Bum from Knoxville, TN on December 12, 2009

Bought the 2wd Envoy new 07-2002. Has 130,000 miles. Runs and drives great. I drive it from Tennessee to Florida on a regular basis with no fear of problems. Replaced thermostat at 7000 miles and water pump at 52,000. No other problems. Brakes are original. I change oil every 3000 miles and it uses no oil. Gas mileage is 22 on the road and 19-20 around town. I think it is a great vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Envoy. Reliable purchase.

by Benjamin Iowa State from Ames, Iowa on February 12, 2016

Attractive features: This 2002 GMC envoy (blue) with just less than 150,000 miles and 270-horse power has several features which drivers of all ages would find appealing. This vehicle includes 5 available seats, 2 front heated seats, an automatic transmission, and a 6-cylinder engine that offers a quiet and comfortable ride. The dash interior comes with a stock CD changer; two power outlets, no sunroof included in the specific model, but does come included with power-adjustable seats. Review: I have no problem giving this vehicle five stars out of five stars. This early 2000?s model gives back seat riders a great amount of legroom, and is a wonderful vehicle to take the whole family in on long car rides. In between the two front seats there?s two cup holders. The back seat also includes two pull down cup holders that will hold any size cup or drink. I purchased this SUV with just over 100,000 miles on it and I?ve never purchased a more reliable vehicle. This vehicle has never been in an accident and does have two dents in the rear trunk door; otherwise there is no cosmetic damage. The SUV comes with a ball and hitch and is very good for towing. When not towing, this vehicle will get around 22 miles to the gallon. When towing, depending on the size of your load, the vehicle can get anywhere from 13 to 18 miles per gallon. The four-wheel drive comes in very handy if you live in an area where it snows in the winter and even without the four-wheel drive on, it does pretty well in snow. The size of this vehicle is smaller than your standard pickup truck, yet big enough to haul a trailer or small family with room to spare. The back seats fold down to allow the entire trunk to become open which you can use to transport numerous items that wouldn?t fit otherwise. Many consumers worry that the SUV is a 6 cylinder and not a V-8. In my opinion, the 6 cylinder has enough power and as a result, produces an extremely smooth ride. The main console is a bit undersized but the vehicle has no other major inconveniences. Although this model was discontinued in 2009, I wouldn?t hesitate to purchase another one with less mileage on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

still driving almost 10 years later

by mikie from Toledo, Ohio on March 8, 2011

I bought this suv new and would have to say that it's been a good to very good suv. The styling is still good after 9 years. All the electronics and all the auto-gadgets are still working. One of the issues i was worried about was it being a straight 6 and not a V-8. The V-8 was not available when i bought this. The 6 has more than enough power and couldn't be any smoother. A cooling fan clutch went out at 45,000. That was covered by an extended warranty. Main computer went out at around 50,000 miles. A 1100.00 repair. Had to replace the compressor that works the air-ride suspension at 95,000. I now have 112,000 miles and would like to keep until around 150,000. I don't see any reason not to. It has the miles it has on it because it's so comfortable that we take it everywhere. A terrific road trip car. Would i buy another one? I'm kind of looking now for a used one with less miles, but they are hard to find. Seems like anybody who has one is as happy with theirs as i am. It's a shame that it was discontinued in 2009.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

style and comfort

by cool curt from wilmington delaware on July 1, 2012

love the way this vehicle handles the road .Just purchuse a 2002 to replace a2002 ford explorer and i swear there is a big difference in the smoothness of the ride and comfort . I feel more at peace even in rush hour traffic. Thje only setback is the cargo space is just a little smaller.But hey, i didnt buy it for that reason. Igot it for the style and COMFORT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've owned

by Manny from Aurora, IL on June 11, 2007

I Love my ENVOY! It's the greatest vehicle I've owned so far and I've had plenty of SUV's. I've had a Lincoln Navigator, Jeep Cherokee, but none compare to the ride, smoothness, comfort, and everything else on the Envoy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Well rounded vehicle

by DZ from Detroit, Michigan on April 23, 2013

I've had my 2002 GMC Envoy SLT for about 2 months now, and it has been great. With about 93,000 miles on it, the straight 6 cylinder engine still provides a healthy amount of power, so you can feel all 270 horses, and hear a throaty growl as you give it gas. The handling gives the driver a superior feeling of control and stability. The four speed automatic transmission is smooth shifting and reliable.The two-tone leather interior supplies a luxurious and sophisticated feel for an American SUV, and the suspension delivers a smooth ride. The SLT trim is equipped with a 6 speaker Bose audio system, which includes an FM/AM radio and a 6-disc CD player, and provides a sonorous effect with deep base and precise treble. The additional features of quickly heating seats and a fast A/C also add to the vehicle's list of good qualities. The 4 wheel drive is another great feature in this vehicle, especially in the extremes of Michigan weather. The versatility of the vehicle is another thing to boast about. The back row of seats easily folds down to allow a huge amount of space that could accommodate for a variety of products, from plants to tools to furniture. The exterior styling gives off a very masculine vibe, especially with the addition of 17 inch chrome wheels, and the lowering effect of the running boards. Although the front has a somewhat "friendly" face to it as opposed to its cousin the Trailblazer, it is still very appealing to the eye. Mechanically, the vehicle has presented no problems for me at all. The only thing replaced thus far has been the windshield, tire hoist, and all four tires, which are all common used car teething problems. The only possible negative feature of this vehicle that I can muster up is that the middle console is a bit on the smaller side, but this is just a small inconvenience that is overcome by the car's positive attributes. This vehicle is a great value for the money that it is worth; so much that is nearly a steal. Not a bad first car, in my opinion.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very good car

by skipp from Manasquan NJ on August 24, 2012

I actually have an 03, same suv as the 02. I bought it for my 18 yr old at 110k on it. he now has over 130k on it and the only thing i replaced was the fan clutch, Parts Geek 65.00 great site for parts. It handles,drives and performs like new, not a squeek or rattle anywhere, I drive a new Volvo S 80 and have no problem taking his truck now and again. Only down side is fuel economy around town. But on highway not too bad and drives smooth as silk.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My wife and i both have envoys

by Micahj from albertville, al on December 9, 2017

Love this size vehicle. I traded a gmc yukon for this one. No regrets. Worth giving up any truck for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My wife and i both have envoys

by Micahj from albertville, al on December 9, 2017

Love this size vehicle. I traded a gmc yukon for this one. No regrets. Worth giving up any truck for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Blue Envoy

by blue envoy from Ca on November 28, 2006

this is a very nice suv it rides smooth good accleration for an Suv can be pushed hard and handle it nothing major has needed replacing the only big problem is the MPG is horrible if im lucky i get 11 mpg but most the time its like 6 mpg worse then a V10 ford

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2002 GMC Envoy