2006 Envoy

Consumer Reviews

2006 GMC Envoy

$3,249 - $10,005  MSRP Range
2006 GMC Envoy

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 GMC Envoy?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Mid-size SUV that tows

by Gunner from Unionville, Pa on Tue May 03 2011

We bought a ?06 SLE2 new and have ~77k miles on it. The only issue it has had was something in the fuel indicator/sensor/sending unit that failed under warranty. It rides like a car, has a tight turning radius and gets the advertised 21 highway mpg. It can also tow two horses when we need it to. Beats the pants off its competition for towing. It?s a pity they discontinued this model because I don?t need the Yukon XL and the Acadia won?t meet my towing needs. We intend to keep it a very long time. It?s been a solid investment and very reliable. We drive all over the east coast with it. Acceleration is fine, engine is quiet, just an all around nice pick.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 envoy

by baarstad from portland Oregon on Wed Aug 07 2013

Hi we have had our 2006 envoy since new. I used it to drive across country as I live in portland oregon and have property in South Dakota. Never let us down. Sure it has the usual issues every few years ( cracked exhaust manifold) hub bearings but that is part of owning a vehicle right. It now has 290,000 miles and still going strong! That's right two hundred and ninety thousand miles and change. Still smells like new leather and drives like a new car. Will keep it untill it finally calls it quits which I do not see in the near future.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent vehicle

by ph from on Wed Jun 09 2010

Went to cars.com to find a reliable slightly used vehicle. I had a 2004 Envoy in the past and had really liked it, so when my GMC Acadia lease was up I was looking for GMC quality but looking to reduce my payments. I founda 2006 with only 12,000 miles on it. It's just like new and I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Saved my life! Never have to second guess an Envoy

by 3 time envoy buyer from New Jersey, North on Thu Jan 17 2013

So I've been driving envoy's my whole life, I bought my first envoy 2 years ago as a used 2002 SLT with 80,000 miles on it and yeah it needed the usual work every used car needs but once it had that done the car was a charm. Its high class at middle class rates, and features as good as any lugery car. The way it handles while driving is like no other and its turning radius is perfect! I've been driving ambulances and ALS SUVs for 3 years and everytime I get behind my envoy after work I'm the happiest guy in the world. I also purchased a 2005 a year later with 45,000 miles on it just to keep the car fresh and used my 2002 as a trade in for it. It again gave me no problems at all. The only thing was I let my girlfriend drive us home one day and we had a very very bad car accident thank god we were in this envoy because it saved us! The truck was hit by a 16 wheeler and flew over a divider and did a flip and the only damage it took was to the front and side all safety features worked all air bags went off and in the words of the state police if it wasn't a gmc we would've died! The truck suffered no interior damage and I owe my life to that truck for saving me! I used the insurance money to buy a 2006 SLT and I love it just like the rest it's even better then the others a d it handles so much better then my moms jeep or dads Benz . I will never stray from an envoy or GMC ever !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mom's Envoy

by Marie from Kansas City, KS on Thu Jul 20 2006

Hi I have had my envoy for seven months and I absolutley love it! the V-6 has the power and acceleration of a V-8 with the fuel-economy of a V-6! It is also smooth riding, sucure hadiling, and a quiet interior!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle for Towing a Boat and having Fun !!!

by CaptainFun from Medford, Mass on Thu May 04 2017

Roomy stylish comfortable with plenty of Power. This GMC Envoy Denali has all the extra's leather seats Bose stereo and great overall view of the road it makes traveling a long distance a breeze.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Envoy

by Butterfly from Winston Salem, NC on Thu Sep 12 2013

I fell in love with it when I first drove it. Love the sunroof and leather interior. It's my new baby!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Drake02 on Mon Aug 20 2018

Love my envoy has almost everything I need only thing missing is Bluetooth cabability. Comfortable and stylish great for family transportation and in town driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Electrical Nightmare

by Sad Envoy Owner from Waynesville, NC on Tue Jul 04 2017

This was my second Envoy (tree fell on my 2003). Bought the 2006 used with 107,xxx miles on it, and for a while it was incredible. Setting aside the typical repairs of ball joints, rotors, and a few odd things like the transmission shift cable breaking, within 6 months this V8 began to mysteriously not start or turn over, out of the clear blue. Drive from home to get gas, then nothing. In one 4 week period it was towed 3 times to a very reputable mechanic. Such problems are known to exist in some V8s around 2006, and they are almost impossible to track down. Replace the starter/solenoid, worked great, then BOOM dead again. Ignition switch, boom dead again. Relay switch in the fuse box, replaced, then BOOM dead later on. Just dumped it as I couldn't afford to keep repairing it and being inconvenienced with the towing and shop interludes. Too bad, as I really liked the Envoy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great experience! Thanks again Curtis

by M from Marietta from Marietta, Ga on Sat Mar 21 2015

I had a great experience with Curtis Robinson. He was a genuine sales person and knowledgeable of the product. I told him my price range and he didn't try to push me higher or out of it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2