2009 CR-V

Consumer Reviews

2009 Honda CR-V

$5,634 - $14,486  MSRP Range
2009 Honda CR-V

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

72 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Honda CR-V?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 72 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BEST SMALL SUV

by Jim from Chicago, IL on Sat Jun 23 2012

I bought this new in 2009 and it is now three years old with 30,000 miles. No complaints at all. I recently replaced the tires which made it a lot quieter. Plenty of room and power and the heated leather seats are great. The mileage is about what I expected, not great but it wont break the bank. I wish it had Blue Tooth and I understand that the new ones do so maybe a trade in next year.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Honda CRV-LX

by Felipe from Oakland, California on Wed Aug 24 2011

I bought this 3-year-old car after a disastrous 6 months with a new Mini Cooper (I won't go there!). This is my 3rd CRV and I should have stuck with them ... .they only seem to get better and better with each model. I have NOTHING bad to say about this car that I've had now for 5 months, except I don't particularly like the GPS navigation software but Honda is replacing mine free under warranty so the new one may be better designed. Other than that, it's the best-designed car I've ever owned or ridden in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by exhausting research from warwick on Thu May 03 2012

I love my new crv for a compact suv it's very roomy and comfortable (I,m 6'2"). The one thing I had to have was a clear view of the road something the other small suv did not have. What do I mean ? most small cars/suv due to the position of the rear view mirror it blocked my sight.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

takes time to appreciate

by davo from chicago suburbs on Mon Mar 07 2011

we are leasing a 4x4, heated seats etc and the initial feeling was it did not have enough power to provide for a smooth ride. Having driven it now for 2years i've come to realize the 4 gives a smooth ride and makes the fuel economy better...a win win situation. I will be buying the car at the end of the lease

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Family car

by AlexS from Stoughton, MA on Sat Oct 22 2011

Good: Great family car; well designed interior with lots of storage room; my wife sits between our twins' car seats in the back seat, which allows grandma to ride with us (a big convenience); exceptionally reliable; acceptable mileage (consistent 21 mpg on average). Bad: weak engine; high level of noise; 21 mpg is so-so for such a weak engine. Bottom line: it is a sensible shoe, no more - no less; easy to live with, but would probably not buy this car again.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Better than most

by HC from Maine on Mon Apr 04 2011

I have owned the crv for 2 years now and like it . It is good in snow and slippery roads as we have plenty of both where I live. I usually get about 32 mpg on the highway and about 25 on short trips to town which are about 15 miles each way. The road noise is a bit much but I got used to it as this is my 2nd crv. I will buy another one when I trade again next year if not sooner as they hold their value quite well. Improvements could be a quieter ride,better tires as the ones that come on new cars now just don't last. I have had zero problems with the car thus far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Sprite119 from Indianapolis on Thu Jun 21 2012

Such a comfortable ride and great gas mileage! Perfect for family and long distance travel. So glad I bought this!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love It

by smurphy from Chesapeake, VA on Mon Jun 04 2012

I was looking for a dependable vehicle. This is it. The Honda CRV fits me perfectly. Good gas mileage...better than advertised. Plenty of room inside for passengers. I bought a used 2009 LX with about 30,000 miles on it. Affordability was more important to me than all the bells and whistles of the EX or EX-L. I plan on putting at least another 200,000 miles on it. Been driving it for about 4 months and I love my CRV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

CRV_Lover

by CRV_Lover from on Wed Sep 07 2011

Small and reliable SUV. If you are looking for an SUV with lots of power, this is not the one. Other than that, it is nice car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Honda,Of course!

by Honda enthusiast from Western, NY on Mon Jan 02 2012

Great ride. Incredible value. Primary vehicle is a Pilot. This is a secondary vehicle, which could easily replace the primary in a pinch.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2009 Honda CR-V

Now in its 12th model year, the Honda CR-V remains one of the best-selling compact SUVs on the market, ahead of veterans like the Ford Escape and Toyota RAV4. As of Dec. 1, it was 2008's best-selling SUV and No. 10 in overall sales behind three full-size pickups and six cars. Not bad for an SUV in a year marked by a flagging market and high fuel prices.

The auto market doesn't lie. The best products reveal themselves through sales numbers. However, sometimes the market can be slow to catch on, so we revisit the leaders as the landscape changes. The CR-V was redesigned for 2007, and though it's well-rounded and deserving of its success, a couple of shortcomings are evident.

 

Handling the... Read More