2002 Odyssey

Consumer Reviews

2002 Honda Odyssey

$670 - $6,166  MSRP Range
2002 Honda Odyssey

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

33 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Honda Odyssey?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Good solid vehicle that our kids love

by Silver Bullet from Louisville, KY on Tue May 01 2007

The Odyssey is a good value for the money when bought used. We've taken ours on a couple trips now and I enjoy the comfort and good handling. It doesn't feel like you are driving a truck like some other minivans do. The seats are very comfortable and turn on the heat and you have instant warmth which is easy to get used to. Be careful though or you might not like driving a car without heated seats. The Odyssey has a lot of power for its size which adds to the pleasure of driving it. Its not a sports car ride but it definately feels more like a car than a van. You will have no trouble passing when you like. The kids love the DVD system with wireless headphones. For long trips its awesome because they can listen to movies without everyone having to hear. Its a little bit of a problem though because they tend to whine when we take the other car. The dual air with climate control is also a nice feature. My other car doesn't have all the gadgets so I've enjoyed them on the Odyssey. Remote power doors are something that come in handy too. Just punch a button and wha-lah... one or both doors open for the kids to jump in or for loading groceries. Overall I think the Odyssey is a great van. Compared to other's I've ridden in its a cut above in many ways... especially handling and comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

311K miles

by Manatee from Florida on Sun May 29 2016

We bought this van with 307K miles on it for a new driver in the family to use it for learning to drive (my other car is manual trans). Its safety features were the main reason I chose it, but it was also very clean and well-maintained. We added an aftermarket back-up camera, but the visibility is better than my Honda Accord regardless. It's great for picking up my aging parents at the airport since it's so easy to get in and out of, and we have driven it on several 500 mile trips since we got it. The previous owners replaced the trans at 160K miles, but we haven't had any problems other than an oil leak at the oil filter housing. The brakes give you confidence, and the engine still loves to kick into the VTEC mode despite all the miles!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

238,000 miles!

by Lov'n it! from Chelsea MI on Wed Jan 15 2014

We buy minivans with 90-100k miles on them (if the vans make it that far then we know they're reliable) and drive them until they require too much maintenance. We are just ending our time with our first Honda Odyssey (2002). We purchased it in 2006 after the owner had changed the transmission due to the known transmission problem (at 88,000 miles). We have driven it everywhere and hauled just about everything - from loads of firewod to 4x8 drywall to a 3500 lb boat AND we live on a dirt road (known to be hard on cars). One thunderstorm we were driving and a tree fell on top of our van (tree was about 1' in diameter). I saw where it hit (right behind our heads) and then wondered if the roof would hold - it held just fine and then the tree rolled off the back of the van after smashing the side window behind me. We got the van fixed and it continued to prove very reliable. I have owned 3 other minivans and was only able to get an extra 65-75k miles - this one we got about 150,000 miles out of it. It also has lots of gusto and is fun to drive on the highway when you want to accelerate fast. Yoohoo!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

ody02

by Familymom from Honeoye,NY on Sat May 15 2010

The only complaint is that we only have 70,000 miles on it and already need transmission work and all vans are hard on the transmission. Thank God the dealer we bought the car from gave it a warranty. Besides that I love it!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EX-L

by Minivan person thingy from Minneapolis, MN on Wed Jul 16 2008

It's definitely a well-put-together automobile, and does what it is made to do as good as it can. We have the EX-L with leather seats and a DVD player. The captains chairs are very comfortable, and the DVD screen, although a bit awkward for second-row occupants, is large enough to enjoyably watch a movie on. The automatic doors get stuck VERY easily, especially if you live in a climate where it gets cold during the winters. We have had to buy de-icer multiple times to get them to open. Stereo display only shows track number, not track length when listening to a CD. Overall, a nice minivan and is up to par with other Honda's.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Great car! But needs a transmission

by Hondamom from Cleveland, ohio on Fri May 19 2017

I have owned this car for 3 years & fell in love! Didn't need anything for 3 years only regular maintenance. Now the transmission is going & our family is going to be with out a vehicle for awhile.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY DEPENDABLE.

by BRUCE from CLEVELAND ,OH on Tue Apr 10 2012

SUITS MY EVERY NEED FOR WORK AND FAMILY.A TRUE TRANSFORMER.....THIS IS THE FOURTH ONE MY FAMILY HAS PURCHASED.1996 1998 2002 AND 2003.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Honda Odyssey EX

by Carol from Wilmington, NC on Sun Aug 06 2006

This vehicle has a V6 engine, luggage rack, radio/CD player with remote audio controls located on the steering wheel, theft recovery system, power windows, keyless entry locks, front and rear heating and cooling system, center fold down table, hide-away storage under the front passenger seat, cruise control, rear window defogger and wiper, dual power sliding doors, third row bench seat is a hide-away for added cargo space and the second row seats can be removed if additional cargo space is needed. The exterior is silver and the interior is gray. This van has always been garage kept and well maintained. It has never been wrecked. The exterior and interior are in very good condition. The van has four new Michelin tires and a recent alignment. The majority of the 94,000 miles are highway miles that were traveled on Interstate 40. This is a very dependable vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Extreamly reliable!

by GroovyVan2.0 from Chicago on Fri Apr 28 2017

Ours has been passed down through three family members, going fifteen years strong! The Honda Odyssey weathers extreamly well throughout the seasonal changes. Gas is also a factor that plays well into the minivan, milliage is exemplary, and seating is great! You can pile seven people into mine all with seat belts. Thus making safety a great factor, especially for children and teens!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very pleased

by crwinsmore from Cary, NC on Fri Jul 18 2008

Purchased an EX with 44,000 miles on it, and now have 98,000. Just replaced the timing belt, as well as water pump as precautionary measure; mechanic advice. Not one repair otherwise; just maintenance. Very strong engine; really like the acceleration. Very comfy interior; love the space. If it had external temp, I would have given 5 stars for features. The DVD player with wireless headsets is great. Auto doors are sluggish sometimes and rattle a bit; always have. (Had a Chrysler T&C for 8 years before a rattle occurred, so that's a little disappointing.) Wish wind noise and road noise was lower. Ride is rather harsh w/o newer tires . I put Michelin Hydroedges on it once and took them off after 20,000 miles- way too rough and loud. It's not bad with Michelin Destinies. Handling is great- not much body lean for a van, partly due to its width. Still, after 98,000 miles, handling is still very responsive. Fuel economy is 19-20 in city, 23-26 on highway: Great for a vehicle this size. Very pleased overall. I bought it from an owner that had bought another new Odyssey. I hope to do that again!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2002 Honda Odyssey

The Odyssey continues to evolve as part of Honda's journey with its minivan. Until this year, the popular Odyssey was not available with the leather upholstery or built-in entertainment system found in some competitors, but that has changed.

Now you can have the full-luxury treatment if you like, and for a price that is more than competitive with other brands. Heated leather seats, side airbags for front-seat occupants and a built-in DVD rear-seat entertainment system are available on the EX for those who might have otherwise looked to a different brand for those features.

Upgrading the engine to 240 horsepower, installing a five-speed automatic transmission and revising the chassis for... Read More