2004 S2000

Consumer Reviews
2004 Honda S2000

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

25 Reviews
2004 Honda S2000
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Roadster Extraordinaire

by JP from San Joaquin Valley, California on May 2, 2013

If you want to call the S2K a gocart or a skateboard, whatever.... The car sticks in the turns amazingly. It is a sad day that Honda discontinued this car. We purchased a mint 2004 with only 5K miles and it is the most fun car to tool around in. I've looked at this car for several years and finally found a Rio Yellow, my wifes favorite color. I bought it and told her it was hers, now just need to get her to drive it more. The soft top drops very easily and here is where the poorest of engineering on the S2K comes in, the boot for covering the folded soft top. A real pain to attach each time. Oh well, a fine automoble!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Third S2000, First Used

by S2000 Gal from Middletown, NY on November 12, 2010

This is my 3rd S2000, I've owned an 06 and an 08 previously, both purchased new. Due to circumstances I had to sell the 08 and I got my 2004 just 2 months later after not being able to live without one :) With just over 23,000 at time of purchase it felt nearly like a new car and reliability has been excellent. First stop was to be checked over by my regular mechanic and he tells me it is in great condition. I will need brakes in the spring but that is to be expected in a 7 year old car. Things I love about the 04: no TMPS, DRL, maintenance minder, and the Suzuka Blue color! Things I miss from the newer S: a dash temperature gauge (yup, that's it). Still getting used to not having traction control on this one (VSA). For those who are not S fanatics, this is a 6 speed manual gearbox, RWD and perfect 50/50 front/rear weight ratio car. The convertible top folds up or down in about 5 seconds. LOVE LOVE LOVE the Honda S2000 - wish they still made them. If you can't buy new, don't be afraid of a used one! http://www.TeamSuzuka.com

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just too much fun

by Whitewoolf from Durham, NC on April 19, 2014

I just purchased my S2000 and I couldn't be happier. The car is a blast to drive and the styling is timeless. It's not a car for large people, though. The interior is tight and every bit of space is used. Well designed interior makes good use if the space. I'm looking forward to many years of fun with my S2000

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fits like old jeans

by BMW guy - Except for this car and a truck from North East Mississippi on May 17, 2009

I drive my S2000 20 miles to work every day (15 miles of back roads, and 5 miles in town). It's easy to get in and out of, and the suspension is as compliant as a civic, and way cushier than my truck. The engine will put around and play nice and efficient in town, but puts on it's game face on the back roads. As far as the long haul, I'd MUCH rather do 1000 miles in this car than in the jump seat of my wife's minivan. Spend the extra money for a car with a hard top. It goes on in five minutes, and makes the S2000 a 4-season car. Snow tires are a good idea between November and April whether you plan to drive in the snow or not, because the summer tires get very hard in cold weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

quick sporty good looking

by jp from Silver Point TN on September 23, 2012

After looking for months and deciding a 2008 was too expensive, I "settled" for a 2004. Not a muscle car at 237 hp, but plenty with the light weight. A hoot to drive on mountain roads and ok on the interstates. Quiet running so you can hear a break out coming when the Bridgestones start to complain about as soon as any other sign that you're taking a curve as fast as you can. Lowest gas mileage when pushing pretty hard was 24, but ususally 28 or 29. My favorite of 11 previous sports cars I've owned (MGB, 260Z, 944, Miata, included).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Everyone should have a raodster once in their life

by Honda Momma from Indinapolis, IN on May 9, 2009

The Honda S-2000 is awesome!!! After driving mini-vans for 20 years, I went back to school, changed jobs and got a hot car...with room only for me and my husband, no kids and no gear! It is so fun to drive, it makes me feel like a kid again! The six speed manual transmission never lets me forget that I am driving a high performance vehicle. It's great to drop the top and turn up the heat on a winter day, and crank up the radio and go driving nowhere in particular.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT ROADSTER

by S2K from Austin, TX on February 17, 2009

This car is a true roadster, with plenty of performance and handling. Along with Honda's world renown reliability you can't go wrong. Had mine for two years and loved every second of it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

For Those Looking For A Roadster

by speed from California on February 17, 2007

The high RPM's are great fun, then as you look down at the digital speedometer, you think about the price of the speeding ticket. The initial getup is slow, but once your high in 2nd gear, the freeway is your playground. The s2000 has good room for a 2 seater, but it's not suitable for long drives or commutes. The turn radius is bad and there are not many available interior comfort features. The ride is bumpy and the engine is loud. But, once you put the top down and take a sharp turn 3 times faster than the car behind you (without even a chirp from the tires), you'll remember you got this car for pleasure, not business.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A must have

by paha from charlotte, nc on November 21, 2006

best honda out there, i recommend getting a 2004 and up one, a real racing car, and comfort. better then bmw nissan toyota or any domestic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a real sports car!

by endless road from Sacramento, CA on January 18, 2007

I have read critic reviews that complain about the stiff ride of this car. It's a sports car for heaven sakes! Yes, it doesn't ride like a Buick. It corners like a go cart and accelerates like a rocket just like real sports cars do. The Honda S2000 is a lot of fun to drive if you are into "driving" and a lot of work if you are not. Beyond that, it's reliable, beaurtiful, sexy, and a joy to own.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3