2004 Elantra

Consumer Reviews
2004 Hyundai Elantra

Change Vehicle
4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

26 Reviews
2004 Hyundai Elantra
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Solid Performer

by Driver from on June 13, 2009

The car isn't fancy, but it performs. There is a surprising amount of kick and pep in the engine. The interior is well thought out and the materials are not flimsy. Aside from the usual maintenance wear and tear (like replacing a headlight), the Elantra has not had any problems. You can't beat it for the price.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drive, Park, Drive, Park - repeat

by Ima Commuter from Rural Idaho on July 23, 2013

This lonely 2004 Elantra was sitting in an ocean of 2005's in July of 2004. She was RED and had 104 miles on her. Her "sound system" was a cassette player (really!). We paid nine thousand bucks plus eight hundred and some bucks for blah-blah-blah. Brand new car for under 10K -sure, why not. I figured I'd drive it like I stole it for 59 of the 60 month warranty and sell it quick, before it died. I could not have been more wrong! I'm nine years and 100K miles into this little car. I don't LOVE it or even Love it but I love it. I drive it my commuter 35 miles a day in town and on the freeway with the other commuters (church goers and shoppers on the weekends). The 14.5 gallons of gas get me from payday to payday with no fill ups in between. The heater cooks my feet, the defog defogs, the air conditioner cools. It does nothing spectacular, the carpool never applauds the car and never whine about it either. This is the ultimate commuter car - news talk AM on the radio and a cool breeze (warm toes in winter) for everyone in the car and better than 30 MPG. This may be the ultimate commuter car. Get a good mechanic and have them do exactly what the manual says - no more, no less and this car will get 4 guys to and from work when it is 110 degrees and when it is 25 below. This is not a powerful car with 1000 pounds of humans in it, the guys call the AC button the "Turbo Passing Switch" because that is what I need to do to get on the freeway! 75 MPH takes a LONG time in my Elantra with the pool guys on board. One set of tires, one brake job, one battery and a set of shocks (lighter passengers could make these last longer) along with the maintenance in the manual and I've gone over 100,000 mile without incident. Drive it, park it, repeat - at $25 a week per rider I wish I could drive to work twice a day!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most for the bucks

by Race Track Safety Worker from Hallett, OK on January 3, 2008

Purchased new in June '04, have 55000 highway miles, get 35 to 37 miles per gallon, 5 speed manual gets peppy response with high rpm, factory Michelin ties were terrible, got only 30K mi out of them and rotated & balanced every 5K mi. Paint on rubber front chips easily and was not honored by warranty, power sunroof leaks and was not honored by warranty. For the money ($14,500 loaded) I could not have found a better, more dependable, sporty, sexy vehicle. GT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Late lover

by Cameracharlie from New York on October 26, 2014

I bought this 2004 GT Hatchback used with 145,000 miles on it hoping that my son in college will use it We are the third owners, and the car is far from new. But, our mechanic says it is safe, reliable, and likely to last another 50,000 plus miles, so we bought it. It does everything well and and it has plenty of pep. Its sporty, it handles well and its interior remains in pretty good shape for its age. I'm really sorry that I didn't buy it new, because I've missed out on years of fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Elantra GLS

by Elantra owner from Indianapolis, IN on June 16, 2006

I have owned a 2004 Hyundai Elantra GLS for almost a year, and so far, so good. It is pre-owned but the vehicle itself is very good overall. The car absorbs pavement imperfections fairly readily and the lumbar support is a nice feature. Performance-wise, I find the engine to be somewhat peaky, not really having enough thrust until above 3000RPMs, but it is adequate. Handling is up to par; the factory-supplied tires are not good quality, but it still takes a lot to lose traction and the turn radius is excellent. Exterior styling is more provocative than a lot of other brands, but isn't overly exuberant. The interior of the car is composed of good materials, but could use a couple of chrome or wood accents. Most features the vehicle has standard are sold in packages by other companies, thus giving the car a lot of value for the money. As for the reliability, not a hiccup so far. Only two real nuisances - picky transmission and the city gas mileage is a bummer in comparison to most cars in its class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Husky's best friend

by Product Test Engineer from Rochester, NY on February 6, 2012

Leather seats are great for our husky dog who loves to ride in the front if its available. I am a 5 speed enthusiast and this one is flawless on the go. I have killed other great reliable 5 speed sticks two Corollas and a Subaru. I have a Buick century with matching miles and age as this GT. This GT is not quite as comfortable as the Buick but the sport tuned suspension, power to weight is great feeling like an underpowered formula driver. To my amazement this is the first car that had no pulsing of the brakes peddle. I just put in new brakes and rotors all around after 65000. I have owned it since 7000 miles. I drive it pretty hard; on my third set of tires and front brake shoes, that have all evenly worn out, no misalignment yet even though I do not rotate tires. I change the oil once a year or 10000 miles whether it needs it or not. Mobile One like no other oil does not burn up or turn black. The hatch back is great for hauling a bike or lawn mower and still closes. Fun is resetting the trip meter and watching the miles per gallon dash calculator go over 100 mpg in a long downhill or on the thruway getting up to 44 mpg with a tail wind easily. Oxygen sensors and a catalytic converter last years inspection, this year it needs its first battery and a hand brake cable to pass inspection. Cheep to keep and fun too and looks exactly like a Saab 93.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable car

by johbn from Sterling on February 25, 2014

very reliable car since i owned it. good price match which you cannot get it with toyota or honda. i really like it and recommend it to everyone

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good first car

by JD13 from Parlin, New Jersey on May 18, 2017

Surprisingly roomy for it's size. Easily usable as a family car. The back seats flip down with more than enough room for normal purposes. In terms of reliability, I owned the car from about 73k to about 89k miles. The biggest issue was a squealing belt and a failed water pump and alternator around 85k. This seems common in cold weather for these cars, I've heard the rather distinctive sound from several others as well. Additionally, the clearcoat started peeling pretty badly towards the end, and it developed a rust issue in the rear wheel wells.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome Little Car

by Sal from Cary, NC on May 14, 2018

I did extensive research before buying this car. Many good things stood out. One of them is the car's absolutely wonderful reliability. Out of every review I have read, not one person said the car had any major issues. The same goes for mine! It goes. It sips gas. It has just enough room. It's not an ugly car. I might even say it looks nice. All it needs is basic maintenance and a little love. And it will keep on chugging. Easily past 250,000 miles. Mine is at 146,000 miles and still drives very well, with no costly engine or transmission issues, unlike some other car brands (*cough cough* gm, ford, even honda). It's an all-around good, A to B car that won't let you down.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the most reliable cars I've owned

by Dee from Mechanicsville on June 20, 2017

Got it used from Dealer paid 3,800.00 in 2015. Never had it break down and leave me stranded. Only needed regular maintenance items.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2004 Hyundai Elantra