2000 Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2000 Jeep Cherokee

$697 - $10,753  MSRP Range
2000 Jeep Cherokee

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

43 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Jeep Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

great vehicle

by Jeep Driver from Cincinnati, OH on Thu Aug 19 2010

I love my 2000 Cherokee limited. The most practical car I have ever owned. The only issues I've had are the normal "cherokee" issues: Evaporator coil, power window relay switch, oil pressure monitoring gage. I have 155,000 miles on this car and it runs great with no problems. The body has held up great. The interior has been held up great too, considering it's age. Some rips on the drivers seat from entering/exiting the vehicle. Yes, the ride is rough and the cabin noisy, but this is offset by the versatility and pure joy it is to drive this vehicle. My little jeep has taken me places I shouldn't have gone: steep muddy hills, farm pastures, snow covered roads, muddy roads and never even given the hint of getting stuck. The tight turning radius makes this car easy to park in a crowed mall parking lot. Parallel parking is a breeze. I've towed boats, trailers, land scape materials, and hooked bike racks to this little jeep all with no problem. I use this car as my daily drive for my 25 mile each way commute. Combined country roads, freeway, and city and I get about 18 mpg.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

54 out of 54 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jeep keeps Trucking at 140K

by Shermdog from Toledo, OH on Fri Feb 15 2008

I bought this vehichle because of its rugged reliability. I needed a horse that could carry my camping, hunting, fishing, skiing equipment and whatever else on the weekends. The jeep is something you don't have to be nice to. I have driven it 40K since I purchased it 1 year ago with 100K miles. Normal maintenance except for the power windows ($400), and my AC finally went out($900), both common problems. Engine and transmission are as soild as ever. It may not ride the best, may not have all the bells and whistles, but it will get you there and back for lots less than other cars. I get 21mpg at 80 MPH, 25 at 60 MPH. Its great in the snow, muddy fields, and for doing errands around town. Its easy to park and manuever, with great visiability. She'll stop if you get on her a little. Jeep missed the boat when they didn't pay attention to their customers and start making sensible upgrades to a great SUV. The 4.0 IL 6 is one of the best engines ever made. Tows my snowmobile easily. They should have left the design alone and improved the engineering on the components, seats, etc to bring this little brute in to the 2000's. Have you ever seen rust on a Jeep Cherokee? Jeep are you listening? I plan to keep this little monster until she quits. Then I'll look for another one, or drop a new engine in her and drive the heck out of her some more. Uses 87 octane gas. I have the command trac.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jeep Cherokee

by Dogtired from Orlando, Florida on Fri Nov 19 2010

Jeep Cherokee 2000 4x2 Sport. Good reliable and great looking ancient SUV. The basic design is almost 30 years old, like the F-14 Tomcat, it was retired a bit too soon for a great all around vehicle. Wish I bought a 4x4 version, that is my only regret. Gets me to where I need to be. It is a shame they don't make vehicles like this anymore. Good power for a uni body design with less weight to push, it is a good performer with a big straight six torquey 4.0L engine. Needs a bigger cargo capacity for work related stuff. Backseat area is a joke, way too small and cramped for adults, only put them in there for less than an hour if you still want them as friends. It is a 10 year old truck and still running strong. I usually get over 20+ mpg easily on highway, because I baby that throttle and draft off semis whenever possible to help with fuel economy. Looking to get a Ford Truck soon in addition to my Jeep which is my daily driver for more hauling and special apps needs. Constantly loaded with 600-700lbs+ of gear in the cargo area all the time, while it doesn't hurt a thing, but I do know I need to upgrade soon. My Cherokee does it without complaining. In addition to daily commuting, it is primarily a work truck and does it well. With regular oil changes at around 7-10K miles with the best synthetic oil: Mobil One and Mobil One 301 Oil Filter. Easy oil changes takes 15 minutes to do, the longest part is to wait for the oil to fully drain. With regular maintenance, this puppy is at 150,000 miles, and I think I just broke her in. Rides smooth and still with lots of get up and go power. Compared to all the fancy trucks that are selling out there, this is very plain Jane. Very rugged utilitarian design, basic instrument cluster and no nonsense dependability. All you really need is AC, cruise control, and radio. Need no other distractions like LCD displays, DVD, and etc. Too much distractions gets in the way of driving. Yes, I said "driving", the only entertainment I need is a basic radio, primarily for traffic conditions, news and NPR. Even though there are still millions of them out there. I highly recommend picking one up for basic transportation and light cargo needs. Some Jeep Wrangler purists bash Cherokees, but that's ok. We are still Jeep and like a red headed step child we are gonna get some love eventually. :)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best All-Around Vehicle Ever Made

by Kermit from Pace, Fl on Mon Apr 30 2012

I have owned my 2000 Cherokee Sport for about a year now and I'm VERY happy with my purchase. Mine had 170,xxx on it when I bought it but it still runs good as new. Cosmetically, the vehicle was in 9/10 shape. I was in the market for an SUV like a Blazer or Explorer to replace my Pontiac Grand Am. Since I play in a band, I move my instruments a LOT and my little car didn't offer much space. I saw a Jeep Cherokee Sport sitting at a local dealership for a reasonable price so I pulled in and checked it out. I was liking the vehicle so I took it for a test drive and fell in love with the vehicle. The good: Powerful Engine! I love the I6 engine in these Jeeps. Plenty of power for the highway, trails, rocks, or anything. I've taken mine out on the interstate many times, and taken it on many, many backroads without issues. Lots of space! The trunk is monstrous in this SUV and it's one reason I purchased this vehicle. The rear seat also folds down for more trunk space. Fun. This is a very fun vehicle to drive, simply put. Bad: Gas Mileage is pretty rough. 14 city isn't really great for a student like me. Road Noise/Engine Noise. It's a loud vehicle at speed. Overall Comfort. I would dread taking this on a long road trip just because it is a little cramped inside for a long drive. Around town, I have no complains. Overall I LOVE my Cherokee and it's a great vehicle for the all around driver. Get one!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My third Cheerokee

by A true believer from Wisconsin on Tue Jul 27 2010

The Jeep Cheerokee sport has to be one of the most reliable, solid and longest lasting SUV's on the road. I am on my 3rd one and the other 2 are still in the family with my brother and nephew. All 3 have over 200,000 miles and none has had any engine or transmission work beyond normal maintenance. The heavy duty suspension, 4 wheel drive and uni-body constructionmake this a go anywhere, anytime vehicle. I feel safe in any type of weather and still tow my boat to my lake property 300 miles away with no worry about breakdowns. The inline 6 cylinder engine has to be one of the best ever made. It still has factory compression and oil pressure. It gets 18 to 26 miles per gallon depending on what speed you drive or what you are towing. That is more than most of the "newer" 4wd vehicles that claim better performance. Your driving vision is great because you sit higher than a car driver and you have no blind spots due to the tinted glass all around the vehicle. For my nephew, this was his first "car". After driving it for the first 2 winters to school and work, he has decided to keep it until he finishes college. He has never missed school or work due to bad weather. If I ever have a serious engine problem, ( and I doubt I will) I would repair or replace it. Heck, another 300,000 miles would be worth the price. Yep, I love my Jeeps.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle EVER

by Jeepster513 from Cincinnati, ohio on Sun May 15 2011

Had this jeep for a long time great great suv. Its beast thrgh snow shifts great not that bad on gas- no rust has 90k on it now - its in high demand and good resale value at 11 years old. Wouldnt trade for the world.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Car....

by USMC Mech from New Jersey on Thu Oct 07 2010

I love my 2000 XJ Sport it is an amazing truck very reliable and surprisingly good on gas. I would love to own another one and do plan on keeping this one for as long as i can.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Should have never been discontinued...

by DW from Rumson, NJ on Wed Feb 13 2008

I own a 1994 and a 2000 Cherokee Sport. Both have been reliable and has never left me stranded. As of 2/13/08, I have 107,000 miles on the 1994 and 31,000 miles on the 2000. Performance from the 4.0L is one of the best. This SUV weighs less than most, so the torque from the I-6 is more than enough. Plus, they respond very well to performance modifications. A little cramped inside, especially the rear. Get rid of the stock tires and upgrade to appropriate tires that better suite your lifestyle. Command-Trac 4WD is excellent, but favor the Select-Trac 4WD that allows you to drive on smooth pavement full-time. Styling is classic. The drive is a bit harsh at times, but it's a Jeep. Steering is a little loose. The brakes are average (drums in the rear). MPG is above average for this Jeep. Also, upgrade your headlights to a brighter bulb or a different system. Regular maintanence is a breeze. The aftermarket is excellent for this Jeeps and every Jeep on the market. Overall, it was one of the best SUVS out on the market for the every day tasks. Good as a commuter, and just as well rounded being a soccer mom vehicle or grocery getter... but for the work horse, you can't beat the 4.0L, the 4WD, and the Jeep heritage. Jeep should bring the Cherokee back and replace the useless Liberty and the embarrassing Compass...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 Jeep Cherokee 4dr, AT, 4WD, I6

by Sonny D from Professional guide and journalist on Thu Feb 07 2013

Looked at perhaps 40 vehicles...most way...overpriced or those selling had no real answers to serious questions. CARFAX was a major factor in pre-determining car's background history and helped put my mind to ease. Strong solid I6 engine...9 out of every ten of these vehicle engines last in excess of 250 - 350K miles. Rugged, 4WD, one reliable outdoor vehicle when you need it, you got what you need to bring to deep into the great out of doors, and return you safe back home after a long weekend of camping, or pulling that flats boat to some out of the way backcountry saltmarsh way out in the boonies...where no cell phones work and get you there and back out again.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Its a Jeep thing...

by Go anywhere, anytime from Marlborough, NY on Wed Jan 13 2010

OK, with sold axles front and rear, and no CV joints up front, you'll never mistake this for a luxo SUV. But it will go anywhere, anytime, with stone-axe reliability, decent mileage (22 hwy), and decent handling (helped, no doubt, by the low CG courtesy of the uniframe construction).

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5