2006 Commander

Consumer Reviews

2006 Jeep Commander

$2,869 - $10,417  MSRP Range
2006 Jeep Commander

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

95 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Jeep Commander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 95 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome family adventure wagon

by Motomiker from Salinas, ca on Fri Mar 24 2017

We had VERY extensive list of criteria our next vehicle must meet in order to be a perfect fit for our family. This one met every one and then some. All the gadgets the wife loves and the power to pull a trailer and become the foundation for our outdoor activities. We did our homework on this one and read ALL the reviews. If you are realistic with your expectations, you will be stoked with this rig. Keep in mind this jeep was never designed to run the Rubicon and one simply does not buy a V8 and expect sky high MPG.. again be real with your expectations and this Jeep fills alot of requirements. Hope this helps!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

opinion

by zach m from Adams MA on Mon Mar 08 2010

i own the 2006 commander and i love it i high recommend it although gas mileage could be better i do love the comfort and the drive great car no regrets

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome SUV! Love the Hemi!

by Commander from Lakeland, FL on Tue Nov 05 2019

Have owned this vehicle for more than 10 years and love it! Distinctive and upscale in addition to being powerful and practical. Can't understand why Jeep stopped making this model. There are still many on the road, attesting to its reliability. Awesome vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beats the rest

by bigdad from Nashville Tn. on Fri Sep 01 2006

We tried all sorts of suvs from the big ones to the small ones. Commander is just a great vehicle to drive. Power is there when needed [hemi] and the ride is smooth and steady. handles like its on a rail. Build and fit is as good as any domestic vehicle I have seen in a long time. jeep has heard the message and their answer is an outstanding vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Finally a nice vehicle!

by Jcommander from Blairsville, GA on Sun Nov 11 2018

This Keep us by far my favorite. It's big, roomy, very nice interior. My only need with it is that it doesn't get up and go when I stomp the gas like a V8 should. I would still by another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great and Versatile Vehicle

by Commander from Tampa, FL on Thu Nov 01 2018

Just the right mix of fun, practicality, and good looks. 5.7 L Hemi Limited model provides great power and it's a trail-rated full-time 4x4 (AWD), but it has a nice leather interior, rides well, and is very comfortable on long trips. Love the back seat stadium seating with their own sunroof and retractable shade. Third row seats are handy and the third row A/C vents/controls are great. Able to do the tough jobs and still take you to a dressy event. Nice, distinctive styling gets a lot of compliments.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second one still in love!

by Mastercommander from Chicago IL on Mon Jul 29 2019

I’ve owned two commanders now and they are a serious hidden gem. The limited 4x4 hemi was way ahead of its time and still an amazing car to drive more than 14 years later.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY NICE

by JEEPNUT3 from DES MOINES, IA on Fri May 19 2017

MORE OPTIONS AND COMFORT FOR LESS MONEY THAN ANY OTHER CAR I'VE OWNED. GAS MILEAGE COULD BE BETTER BUT IN LINE WITH SIMILAR VEHICLES.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Jeep I ever owned. No BS review.

by Cayenne-Commander from Wilmington NC on Mon Feb 24 2020

This Jeep came black with Limited trim and a potent 5.7L HEMI V8 engine and 4x4. I towed a nearly 30 foot boat to the beach and the V8 gave me 18 MPG and the instantaneous throttle response when you press the pedal brings the 346 ci engine to life with an addictive barbaric gurgle. Deep and mellow exhaust sound matched performance as I timed a 0-60 mph at 5.8 seconds (with Jeep GC SRT8 exhaust headers, 85mm ported throttle body/MAF, & custom glasspack mid-muffler system + performance tuner and 210/218 @ 0.50" duration COMPcams camshaft). This is the most reliable Jeep (3 priors) I ever owned and was way ahead of it's time. I am looking into upgrading to a newer one. Spend some money on aftermarket handling and suspension upgrades and you have yourself the best looking, safest, & best performing Jeeps that can get groceries or dominate in any weather. I use 20" 5-star silver (concave) GC SRT8 rims and sticky in All seasons Michelin pilot sport as 3 + and have always felt confident as the driver of this awesome rig. Look towards 2009+ Commanders with the 5.7L Eagle V8 to really live up to it's namesake.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this jeep

by Carfan from Firestone on Wed Oct 30 2019

Of all of the cars that I have owned this one has been my favorite. We have Owen the car since new in 2005 and it has been a wonderful ride. There is room for improvement, but overall a great suv. If I could buy it new again with today’s hemi I would do it again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2006 Jeep Commander

Just ask the drivers of Scion xB or Honda Element or the nearest delivery van, and they’ll tell you they can cram a lot of stuff into their vehicles. In the cases of xB or Element, the interiors are surprisingly roomy compared with the diminutive exteriors.

Commander is designed for the same effect, with its upright cabin and vertical tailgate. Simply put, Commander is a taller, boxier version of Grand Cherokee designed to maximize interior space and add a third road of passenger seats.

The third row has become a major selling point for midsize SUVs. Everything from Ford Explorer to Suzuki XL-7 offers a third row, even if sometimes, they’re only roomy enough for toddlers.

By the way... Read More