1998 Wrangler

Consumer Reviews

1998 Jeep Wrangler

$3,339 - $14,043  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

30 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Jeep Wrangler?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

98 TJ Wrangler

by 36TD from Kernersville,NC on Tue Jul 24 2012

This is the first Wrangler I have owned and I Love it!Watch for rust they are prone to it!I looked for over 6 months before finding one that suited my wants, and I drove two hours one way to look at it, then went back a second time to get her!I have owned it for a month and have redone the interior and wheels and tires and many other things!Now my Daughter wants a Jeep for her first vehicle! :) If buying an older model expect to do some work to make it yours and personalize it!There are many for sale and you are sure to find one that is just right!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun driving car I've ever owned.

by LesleyJeepgirl from Pascagoula, MS on Sun Jul 30 2017

I love it! Fun to drive! Easy driving and my teenagers favorite car to drive. I feel like I can drive over anything in my Jeep. I love riding with the top off.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

9 Jeeps later

by KentB from Mebane, NC on Sat Dec 30 2017

1998 Jeep Wrangler has been a great car for us. My daughter drove it 75k miles since we got it with 56k on it. Drives great, awesome in the snow.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun driving

by Phill from on Tue Sep 12 2017

There is nothing like a Jeep Wrangler. Fun, exciting and adventurous. Take the top down or put the top up- always something different to enjoy.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Dream Car

by twondra on Thu Aug 17 2017

Older, but quite fun. Truly my dream car. I didn't purchase this particular car, as I wasn't quite ready to purchase. But...if it were still available when I was ready to buy, I'd be in!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Coolest Car I've owned

by CDDEVINE on Thu May 31 2018

I loved it! It was like driving through Jurassic park everywhere you went in it. It was the funnest car I have ever owned. Great for camping and trips to the beach.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect car

by Rickyb from Detroit,Michigan on Mon Sep 18 2017

It was stylish and fun to drive. The body was perfect for that year. The top and inside was perfect for the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid Vehicle - Miss It!

by Laidback on Fri Jul 28 2017

Bought as a commute vehicle for 7 years, but later used as a weekend, fun ride. Owned over 12 years. Sahara trim with full 4WD, including both high and low. Had only one Check Engine light at about the 10 year mark - forget what that was - not very $$. Break lines rotted out about the same time. But was a very fun ride

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice looking Jeep

by Jeep02 from Chillicothe, Oh on Thu Jan 18 2018

This jeep is well equipped with all the off road and on road features you would want. Read to drive for everyday use or just use it for a weekend toy.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Never been Off-Road

by Jeff Lynn from Paducah on Sun Dec 31 2017

Jeep is very solid. Every nut and bolt has been re-tightened by a jeep professional. $15,000 worth of parts. Just needs a V8 to be perfect. But, what jeep doesn't need a V8?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1998 Jeep Wrangler

The 1998 Jeep Wrangler isn't perfect, but it is much better than the previous generation, which was phased out in 1996.

At highway speeds the engine revs high and guzzles gas, returning a shameful 11 miles per gallon at 70 mph (with the air conditioner running). That is nowhere near the EPA estimate of 18 mpg on the highway.

The test vehicle seemed to be running fine, so I don't think the poor fuel economy can be blamed on a mechanical failure.

Still, I can't gripe about the Wrangler's performance. This small Jeep is not just fast, it's powerful too.

Chrysler engineers gave the Wrangler an all-new suspension system. They tossed out the old leaf-spring suspension and mated a version of... Read More