2017 Niro

Consumer Reviews

2017 Kia Niro

$15,472 - $32,768  MSRP Range
2017 Kia Niro

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

264 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Kia Niro?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 264 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

First time KIA Hybrid owner.

by Daver from Orlando,FL on Sun Apr 16 2017

This vehicle has delivered everything and more according to the research. It is quiet, comfortable, and is far more economical than what the dealer tags states. We have managed a combined average of 61 mpg within the first 300 miles of normal driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car so far.

by San Diego Living from Calrsbad, CA on Thu Apr 06 2017

I wanted a car that was bigger than a Sedan but nothing too large. I also wanted a hybrid vehicle I could afford with all the bells and whistles of a luxury car. This is the car. It has all of the beautiful upgrades of a Mercedes (leather interior, LED lights, ac/heated seats, bluetooth phone, apple car, lane assistance, cruise control assistance, custom seat preferences and more) for the cost of a standard vehicle. I love the way it drives and looks. It also gets 40 MPG+ which is incredible. If you are looking for a beautiful car that's good on gas as well this is it. Definitely recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love my Niro! (Niro EX)

by Lisa Anne from Traverse City, MI on Wed Mar 22 2017

Newest Hybrid on the market. Love the exterior! Have yet to get thru a tank of gas but I'm averaging 42 is MPG. I need to "learn" how to drive it so it is most efficient. It is the perfect solution to my expensive gas guzzler SUV and my frequent trips downstate.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by Don from Citrus Heights CA on Wed Apr 19 2017

Comfortable ride Plenty of room for bothe front and back seat passengers. Instrumentation well laid out and easy to read/understand. Mostly quiet, but cabin is loud under hard acceleration and you do get some tire noise, likely due to tread composition of low rolling resistance Michelins. Plenty of power for entering freeways Automatic transmission shifts are very smooth and the transitions between electric and gas engines and seamless. Mileage is (so far-1800 miles) exceptional Sacramento to Grants Pass OR on 3/4 tank of gas at 50+ mpg. Overall averaging over 47 mpg combined city/highway.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

KIA NIRO tourin the newest hybrid, it is FANTASTIC

by Retired in Vegas from Las Vegas on Mon May 29 2017

This car rides better than a Cadillac and has the best gas mileage ever. We also own a Prius but the Niro is more high end and quieter and more comfortable. We LOVE it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most advanced car ever!

by NewKiaFan from Newnan, GA on Fri Apr 21 2017

Our new Kia Niro Touring is so sophisticated, it could almost drive itself. From the sensors to keep you in your lane, to the blind-spot sensor, to the hybrid monitor, it is full of technology. The interior is roomy and comfortable, and the exterior is stylish and sleek. We are extremely happy with our new Niro.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So glad I traded up

by Andrea W. from Jonestown, PA on Mon Apr 24 2017

This is my second brand new car purchase and I am happy that I was able to purchase a hybrid with most of the bells and whistles. You never realize how much certain "extras" get used in a car until you don't have them for 5-6 years. I've only had it for a few days but this is by far the BEST car I have ever owned...or even driven for that matter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car with so many safety features

by Snowbird Barb from Port Orange, FL on Wed Mar 15 2017

The car is sporty and stylish, very comfortable, drives nice and gas mileage is wonderful! This is our first KIA but we are very pleased.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Houston Niro Owner from Houston, Texas on Thu Jun 01 2017

I'm 6'3"/340lbs. I purchased the Touring option and have enough room to be comfortable on a 14 hour, 890 mile trip. The technology is impressive. I get 50-54 MPG when I drive on flat roads under 40 MPH, 46-49 MPG on hilly roads and speeds from 41-55 MPH, 39-45 on flat highways at 56-75 MPH and 36-39 MPG on hilly highways at the same speed. The slower you go, the better the mileage. My regrets are that my Niro doesn't have a interior rear latch release (can only be opened manually) and doesn't have the advance cruise control option.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great GAS MILES

by PeggyRET from Woodbury, TN on Tue Apr 18 2017

Quite and easy handling especially using screen when backing. A great buy for the money. Amazing 500 miles for about $20.00 .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 27

Our Take on the 2017 Kia Niro

The verdict:

The Kia Niro is a small hatchback that’s practical, good-looking and — oh, just so happens to be a hybrid that gets up to 50 mpg combined.

Versus the competition:

Though it doesn't match the Toyota Prius' mileage, the Niro's efficiency is more than respectable in a car that drives better than many hybrids on the market.

The Kia Niro is a hybrid, but at many points during its driving introduction in San Antonio, Kia referred to it as the "un-hybrid." The idea is that you can have a car that's a useful hatchback that also happens to be a hybrid with good fuel economy.

Or, as one executive put it more bluntly: "You don't have to drive ugly" to get great mileage.

If that's the goal of the Niro, Kia has succeeded.

The Niro competes with hybrid hatchbacks like the Toyota Prius and Ford C-Max.

Exterior & Styling

For a car more conservatively styled than the Prius, Kia has still done its due diligence in trying to eke out a few more miles per gallon with the exterior design. There are... Read More