NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2013 Optima

Consumer Reviews

2013 Kia Optima

$6,922 - $16,926  MSRP Range
2013 Kia Optima

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

229 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 Kia Optima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 229 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Kia Got the Optima Right - 150K miles or far

by Highway Traveler from Asheboro, NC on Thu Dec 22 2016

I bought a new 2013 Optima EX that I have averaged ~ 42000 miles annually for business travel. This is my second Kia after driving a 2004 Sorento for ~350K miles (still have it and now has 390K). I just hit the 150K mile mark on the Optima so I thought it would be good to write a review. First the good. My Optima has had no mechanical issues so far. None. I have only changed the oil every 5000 miles or so, I've replaced the tires twice, windshield wipers, and just replaced the original brakes. I haven't even had a single light bulb go out. The Interior looks new (heck many claim it still smells new...) and the exterior is holding up well though it does have a few gravel dings on the nose. Can't help that. To me the ride is firm, almost sporty and I find the car, while not a powerhouse is very satisfying to drive, even for hours on end which I often do. I think the 2011-2015 Styling was spot on, and, honestly, while I am sure it is a fine car, I think the new 2016-17 re-styling is toned down to the point of being too generic and boring. That is just my Opinion. Now the not so good. While I have little to complain about on the Optima, my biggest disappointment has been in the fuel mileage expectations. The sticker claims that the Optima can achieve 35 MPG on the highway, which is virtually all the driving I do, but over the life of the car, I rarely see over 31 MPG per tank and my average is probably right at 30 MPG and that is not with any aggressive driving. While I know this may sound like whining and 30MPG is not really that bad, 35MPG was an expectation and I simply don't think it is achievable. I’ve tried. What gets me, though, is that the reported MPG on the dash consistently reports about 1.5 MPG higher than what I actually get. I don’t think that is by chance. Also, my wife thinks that there is a ’Blind Spot’ created by the rear pillar and slope of the roof line. While I haven’t noticed it, you may want to check it out for yourself. So, the bottom line is that, for me, the Kia Optima really is a great car. The Korean car brands have not only matched, in many cases they have surpassed most major car brands, even luxury ones, in terms of quality, design and reliability. In general, I get very positive comments on my car. I certainly now hear a lot fewer negative comments like "yeah, but it is a KIA" than I did 10 years ago when I first got my Sorento. Anyone who discounts the brand as cheap or substandard simply is just misinformed. Just look at serious industry reports from groups like JD Power, Consumer reports, etc. It is not a matter of "Hoping" that my Optima will make it to 300K miles, I fully expect it to.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

87 out of 87 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by I'm loving it from Sioux City IA on Sun Jan 26 2014

My Kia Optima really has out performed all my expectations. The drive on long trips is very comfortable and you feel safe as you drive. The stylish appeal of the lines are amazing. This Kia has performed well in extreme weather changes from 100+ degrees to -25 degrees I am very pleased at how it handles in 1 foot of snow. This is better than I expected to say the least.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

42 out of 42 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great Car

by Bluephrog from Burlington, Vermont on Sat Mar 01 2014

I've owned a 2012 LX now for 2 years and 33K miles. I love this car. My wife complained about the low passenger seat and I had to buy her a cushion so she could see out. Had to replace the OEM tires but really not that unhappy about it since the OEM's were less than ideal. Poor traction in ANY kind of weather. I have General RT43's now and they are great and really make the car a quieter and more comfortable ride, also much better in snow and rain. I have had NO problems with the car and get 36 mpg on my trips (650 miles) to Pittsburgh, PA. The audio system works well and really like the blue tooth for hands free cell calling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Kia

by Love My Kia from Gering, NE on Thu Jan 30 2014

I love my Kia Optima. Everything about it is great from the fuel mileage to the way it looks. I would recommend THIS car to any one! Did I mention I love this car?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Satisfied

by lucky lucy from Kings Park on Thu Nov 21 2013

This is my first Kia I every purchased, I've always stuck with Nissan. I decided one day to stop at Kia and take the 2013 Optima EX out for a test drive. I have to say the minute I sat in the car I fell in love with it. It has such a smooth ride. This car is very reliable. (Decided to get the one that is fully loaded) Heated front and rear seats, heated steering wheel, seats position in memory for driver #1 and driver #2. No problems at all with this car, I would def recommend this car to anyone interested in purchasing or leasing a Kia. The sales people and finance manager over at Smithtown Kia were very helpful and not pushy at all. Very satisfied customer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not the same Kia as before

by Love my kia from Colorado on Fri May 23 2014

I never thought i would buy a Kia. Probably bc i was old enough to remember the low end cars they started with. This car however is amazing. I was in the market with an open mind to find the best value. After driving Infiniti, Honda, Acura and Toyota, I was sold on the Optima. The car is beautiful, with great space inside and awesome gas mileage. The car is quiet, and though only a 4 cylinder, its pick up is much better than my old v-6. Dont waste your money on the higher end brands, your just paying for the name.. For the quality and warranty that came with my car, I have no regrets at all!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best new car we've ever owned

by mid size family car enthusiast from Montgomery,Tx. on Thu Jan 24 2013

my wife and i have owned several new and used cars,but our 2013 kia optima is by far,the best looking-the best performing,and the best everything!Everywhere we go there is a lot of head turning! People are really looking at this car.All our friends think it is a beautiful car,inside and out-and has plenty of room. I think its the best car we've purchased and will recommend the optima to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Interior!!

by Optima Fan from Bonaire, Georgia on Fri Oct 05 2012

My husband and I have always been big Honda fans, and recently test drove the Accord and the Optima. We were soooooo impressed with the new Optimas, that we chose it over the Accord! We absolutely love our Optima! It's been an excellent car!! Superior in every aspect!! ~ Super smooth, dependable, and luxurious!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More than expected

by Chiphd3 from Chicago, IL on Mon Apr 01 2013

Moved from an '03 Infinity G35 to an Optima EX w/ Premium package. Doesn't move like a G but expected that. Didn't expect a 2.4L to move like this one does though! And at 25 average MPG and 31 MPG highway it's a no brainer to move into this vehicle at almost half of what a G goes for today. Extremely satisfied!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Satisfied OPTIMA Owner

by Well-Served from Bridgewater, NJ on Mon Dec 31 2012

I have owned a 2012 OPTIMA EX Turbo for 6 months. The overall look, fit, and finish of the Optima are very good and I look forward to driving the car every time I enter it. I find the car both fun to drive, and get reasonable fuel economy of about 20 local and 29 highway. Not bad, and considering it burns regular fuel, it is a good compromise of performance Vs. economy. The interior is executed quite well but I have come to dislike the red dash lighting, which I believe cheapens the overall cockpit look. However, the seating is comfortable for moderate length trips but could be a bit more plush for the longer drive. The front cockpit could use a bit more storage too. Turbo acceleration transforms the auto from 'ho-hum' to exhilarating. The 2.0 liter turbo is a joy in comparison to the 2.4 liter alternative. I felt passing power was lacking in the 2.4L engine. Reliability has been good, though the car was delivered with a defective gauge cluster that needed replacement. A family member also recently rented a 2013 OPTIMA LX with 25 miles on it whose stick failed to engage the transmission at my home., I 'hold my breath' on what may be in store for me in terms of reliability down the road. That said, I also own an '07 Hyundai Veracruz with 110k miles and have had little problem. The mother company, Hyundai, is committed to making world class family cars. Both cars are maintained by their respective dealerships who are very attentive to the needs of the customers they support. Handling in general is good but I would not commit this car to very aggressive turn circumstances. The OPTIMA does not inspire confidence when G forces are laterally applied. One of the best features in the cabin is the blue-tooth and media hookups. Calls come in crisp and clear and the voice commands are well understood by the system. The media player plays my smart phone and Pandora music which is really great. The dual AC/Heat controls keep the cabin climate quite comfortable. My last word is: Get the car, you really cannot do better for the price, and the service is very attentive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 23