2018 Rio

Consumer Reviews

2018 Kia Rio

$13,900 - $18,700  MSRP Range
2018 Kia Rio

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

35 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Kia Rio?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great ride.

by Paul-Jeanette from Huntsville AL on Sat Nov 11 2017

I love the gas mileage I have been getting and I like how it let's me know the mileage I am getting. The hands free is great. The controls on the steering wheel is fantastic. Highly recommend.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top Subcompact for a Great Price!

by AshleySchaeffer on Tue Jan 30 2018

I purchased a 2018 Kia Rio (manual transmission) new last week, and am very happy I did so. It compared very favorably to the Honda Fit, and comes at a lower price, with a much better manufacturer warranty. If you're considering a subcompact, you owe it to yourself to test drive a Kia Rio!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Love My Car

by F. Nathai from Baltimore, Maryland on Mon Mar 26 2018

I love everything about my 2018 Kia Rio. It is sleek and drives wonderful spacious and great humm amazing on gas. So if your looking for a great reliable car why not chose a Kia Rio I did. Oh Yeah did i mention the sport feature amazinggggggg

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It?s extremely amazing on gas!

by Jitterbug from Seffner, Fl on Wed Aug 08 2018

I?ve found out the more I drive it the more I?m loving it. It drives really smooth and honest you have to watch your speed because you can?t even tell how fast your going.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Experience

by CROSS from Southaven, MS on Mon Feb 19 2018

This vehicle has been easy to manage, drives smoothly and surprisingly spacious. It has been a wonderful joy to drive thus far and I look forward to many years of greatness.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Average care does the job

by Amandaco on Sun Jul 08 2018

Looks nice, standard small car. Not a ton of room in back although I am able to fit two carseats comfortably. Great on gas for commuting.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Traci from Hudson, Florida on Fri Feb 16 2018

I have the new Rio S. Very nice little car. Drives well, looks smart and feels good to drive. My first KIA and so far I'm impressed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great little package of all you want

by tonty from Midland, Texas on Mon Feb 05 2018

This car combines excellent gas mileage, responsive handling, updated styling and trip-worthy comfort in one affordable package. Why would you drive anything else? I love it more every time I get in and go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable car. has a nice hatchback .

by catlover from Cleveland on Tue Aug 21 2018

This car fits all my needs and has excellent gas mileage . Is also great on the freeway. love the color and the interior. Also a good price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME CAR

by Tia from PERRYSBURG, Ohio on Tue Mar 06 2018

Great on gas, compact yet roomy! Sporty looking. We really love this car and it is a perfect fit for us and our needs. *

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2018 Kia Rio

The verdict:

The redesigned 2018 Kia Rio is a solid, city-friendly subcompact car that doesn’t wear you out on a long commute or weekend road trip like many of its breed do.

Versus the competition:

Higher trim levels offer more features, if less of a price edge, than the notably discounted base 2018 Rio, which is a substantially improved competitor overall.

The smallest cars on the market are getting less respect from U.S. shoppers these days even as the cars themselves are getting a lot more respectable.

Case in point: the redesigned 2018 Kia Rio subcompact sedan and hatchback. It's a little bigger, nicer to be in and drive, and even a little cheaper than the 2017 version. It's a "real car" — small enough for urban parking and crowded streets, but capable enough to make a long commute or weekend road trip a pleasant experience. But the U.S. has always been a tough market for subcompacts, and they face stiff competition for attention these days from the more fashionable group of subcompact SUVs even though sedans and hatchbacks offer... Read More