2018 Rio

Consumer Reviews

2018 Kia Rio

$9,534 - $15,086  MSRP Range
2018 Kia Rio

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

58 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Kia Rio?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I Love My Car

by F. Nathai from Baltimore, Maryland on Mon Mar 26 2018

I love everything about my 2018 Kia Rio. It is sleek and drives wonderful spacious and great humm amazing on gas. So if your looking for a great reliable car why not chose a Kia Rio I did. Oh Yeah did i mention the sport feature amazinggggggg

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Cool Car

by mrfred64 from Winter Haven, Fl on Mon Dec 03 2018

Nice little car to dip in and out of traffic. Peppy little engine that is good on gas. Seats are very supportive. Has some nice features considering the price.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Traci from Hudson, Florida on Fri Feb 16 2018

I have the new Rio S. Very nice little car. Drives well, looks smart and feels good to drive. My first KIA and so far I'm impressed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Experience

by CROSS from Southaven, MS on Mon Feb 19 2018

This vehicle has been easy to manage, drives smoothly and surprisingly spacious. It has been a wonderful joy to drive thus far and I look forward to many years of greatness.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car, SUPER Happy!

by Nishant K. from Ohio on Thu Nov 15 2018

Purchased Red Sports version in Mar2018. Done 10000+ miles till today (Nov2018). Exterior styling is contemporary and Interiors looks and Fit & Finish are very nice. Mine has black interiors, looks cool. Seats are comfortable. I am 5'11" male and the driving position is comfortable, also thanks to the Dead pedal. But my most favorite feature is the Sports mode which makes the car very peppy. This was my most important factor of purchase. In addition the Gear can be shifted in manual mode too. This can be handy while ramping up on freeway. Daily office commute is 35 miles (5 city & 30 freeway) and it gives average 39.5 fuel economy. Took it to Niagara falls few months ago (300+ miles from home) and all was comfy to and fro.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My clean, compact commuter

by Abby93 from Bellingham, WA on Fri Dec 01 2017

I never thought I'd be the owner of a compact car like my new Kia Rio S, but I'm happy with my decision. My long legs have plenty of room, and the simplicity of the interior is refreshing. From the back-up camera to the small digital display, the options that this little car do have are fun and appreciated. I didn't need the fancy features or lots of digital nonsense looking at me, and I don't have to worry about that with my 2018 Rio. Driving and turns are smooth as could be, and the road noise is blocked well. I look forward to driving my Kia to and from work, and only wish I lived farther away so I could spend more time in my car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Gas Mileage With A Feeling Of Quality

by Joanna B from Lake County on Sun Nov 11 2018

I drive 80-100 miles a day. My gas savings from my previous vehicle, will almost pay my car payment. And, it is still comfortable and fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable car. has a nice hatchback .

by catlover from Cleveland on Tue Aug 21 2018

This car fits all my needs and has excellent gas mileage . Is also great on the freeway. love the color and the interior. Also a good price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Multiple electrical problems after only a year

by Jenmc from Alexandria VA on Fri Nov 15 2019

Acceleration issues (slow to pick up after starting), beeps at me when it’s cold. Radio screen completely died after 1 year of use and I’m having a lot of other problems such as: car dying/locking me out from starting it randomly, interior controls not working, lights on the dash that are inaccurate, etc... it seems there’s a major electrical or control board issue on a car that’s only a year old. 11K miles. Sure it’s under warranty and covered but I’ve wasted so much of my time on this stupid car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome MPG

by Htamowski2 from Manahawkin, NJ on Sun May 06 2018

Love it, amazing gas mileage, comfortable and safe. Excellent warrantee,60 months. Packs a lot into an inexpensive car. Very economical. Lightweight and speedy when you need it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2018 Kia Rio

The verdict:


The redesigned 2018 Kia Rio is a solid, city-friendly subcompact car that doesn’t wear you out on a long commute or weekend road trip like many of its breed do.

Versus the competition:


Higher trim levels offer more features, if less of a price edge, than the notably discounted base 2018 Rio, which is a substantially improved competitor overall.

The smallest cars on the market are getting less respect from U.S. shoppers these days even as the cars themselves are getting a lot more respectable.

Case in point: the redesigned 2018 Kia Rio subcompact sedan and hatchback. It’s a little bigger, nicer to be in and drive, and even a little cheaper than the 2017 version. It’s a “real car” — small enough for urban parking and crowded streets, but capable enough to make a long commute or weekend road trip a pleasant experience. But the U.S. has always been a tough market for subcompacts, and they face stiff competition for attention these days from the more fashionable group of subcompact SUVs even though sedans and hatchbacks... Read More