2002 Freelander

Consumer Reviews
2002 Land Rover Freelander

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

2.8 out of 5 stars

2.8

27 Reviews
2002 Land Rover Freelander
3.6 out of 5 starsComfort
2.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Nice little SUV if you've got some cash

by Tim from Tewksbury on April 1, 2009

I bought this SUV because I needed an AWD vehicle at a low price point. The freelander fits that description when compared to many other SUV's. I like the styling, performance and handling. I've had mine for about 2 years. During that time I've had cam shaft seals break(tow truck), needed a new thermostat and housing(tow truck), and had to have all the timing belts and other related parts replaced(tow truck). We're not talking a trivial amount of money here. You're biggest problem will also be finding a good foreign auto mechanic who can service you. Unless of course you want to pay dealer labor rates;). The parts are very expensive and regular oil changes anywhere can run around 70.00+. Synthetic oil and non-standard filters. All that being said I do enjoy it but do wish I had purchased something less expensive to maintain. Don't look for a bargain with this vehicle.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

it's a car

by korea guy from Buffalo, ny on November 9, 2009

This Suv is a good car but breaks down to easy. I have had trouble with the ac.Also the engin light has come on way to many times for the smallest things. I would buy a another car if I could.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

lots of repairs

by kc freelander owner from denver colorado on July 14, 2009

The Freelander SE is a real nice looking SUV but the repairs are outrages. I wish i would of done a little homework on the car before I purchased it. I like the all wheel drive and it does great in the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Never, Ever buy this car, stay away from it!

by LandRover Pushover from Connecticut on March 8, 2007

I am the second owner, my brother was the first. I heard bad things, but never thought that a company would sell such an unreliable vehicle, and not even acknowledge via recall the inherent problems with this particular model. Dealership tells me they made big mistakes when producing this car for America, the engine and transmission being the source of many problems. It has always overheated, required a new heater core and intake manifold gasket. Thermostat was replaced and it still overheats. I own it for two years and dump more than 4,000 into it. Now the transmission is blown with no warning at 98,000 miles. Dealer tells me to put a new one in, because the used ones will only have the same failure problems, but the new one has been corrected. Sounds like another recall avoided on the back of the owners. $4,300 for a new transmission. I sold it with a blown transmission. I will never purchase a Land Rover product again, period. You should consider this your warning.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

LEAST RELIABLE CAR I'VE OWNED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by BIGRED from WINCHESTER,VIRGINIA on February 6, 2007

I HAVE HAD MY FREELANDER LAND ROVER ABOUT 8 MONTHS. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE SHOP AND THEY SAID THE INTAKE MANIFOLD WAS CRACKED. MY MECHANIC CALLED THE DEALER TO ORDER A NEW ONE AND THEY (THE DEALER) SAID "YEAH IT HAPPENS ALL THE TIME". TOO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT I REPLACED THE INTAKE AND MY CAR IS STILL IN THE SHOP W/ MANY PROBLEMS!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Least Reliable Car I have Owned

by Anush from Tennessee on January 7, 2007

I babied my Freelander for 55000 miles. Not a scratch. Never replaced rotors & replaced pads only once. Loved the handling & snow traction (800 miles from TN to DC & back in 8 inches). No problems until transmission started slipping at 45000. It was replaced under warranty. Engine made noise when I picked it up at Dealer. Noise continued in cold weather at startup. Dealer said "not to worry". In August noise started & engine disintegrated at 55000 miles. Land Rover said it was my fault & out of warranty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good car, if taken care of and maintained

by jason Harris from NC on March 14, 2015

This is a very nice car with a clean fill and smooth driving and handling, however if taken poor care of and neglected will deteriorate quick. I recommend this car for first time car owners who will not not drive long distances everyday. (5-8 hours) without stopping is not recommended, safe car overall and nice off road ability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Danish

by SUV lover from Greenville, South Carolina on July 12, 2006

I purchased this vehicle for my daughter and we have had too many problems with the car. I believe it is a lemon.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2002 land rover freelander v6 2.5l. semi manual.

by Dan from Sterling, colorado on November 24, 2016

I've had my car for about 4 months now got it when it had about 124,000 miles on it. Still runs great its cold start is kinda iffy but once it warms up it runs great.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good car

by ilotu from on April 2, 2017

I love this car, i make 15 000km in 3 month and i don't have any problem. I drive only in Australia, on the gravel road ....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2002 Land Rover Freelander