1999 GS 400

Consumer Reviews

1999 Lexus GS 400

$1,124 - $7,640  MSRP Range
1999 Lexus GS 400

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

14 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Lexus GS 400?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

One of the most reliable cars ever built

by kevin4455 from Raleigh on Fri Feb 05 2016

My almost 17yr old Lexus GS 400 still runs like new, with close to 215,000 miles. I'm sure the 1UZ-FE V8 engine is in a museum somewhere, because this thing is rock solid. You want to dependable? I've replaced the motor mounts and ball joints, because rubber wears out before this engine quits!! Besides tires, brakes, and oil changes this car is pretty much problem free. If you do research you'll see that these engines go 300/ 400/500,000 miles and more. I'm convinced most people get rid of them because they want something new - not because of problems. Even if I get another vehicle, this one is not for sale. Maybe I'll think about another Lexus around 300,000 miles...but this one I will keep forever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Loving it from Manteca, CA on Wed Apr 06 2011

Have had this car for 5 years, bought used with 85,000 miles on it, all routine maintance kept up on this car, have friends with this same car and they have 300,000 + miles with no problems as long as you use 5/30 syn oil, no leaks and uses no oil mine now has 150,000 with no problems and everything works well performs well on freeway but be careful this car can get you in trouble have had it on test track up to 160 and handled very well. Can be pricey at the pump with premium gas but well worth it. This car is a +++

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've ever owned. Will keep forever

by azgs400 from Arizona on Sat Dec 24 2011

By far, the best car for the money. No reason for me to ever buy anything to replace it. Everytime I drive soemthing new, I feel like "My GS400 is better than this----even the newer Lexi

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

silent on the road

by gerry from New York on Sat May 30 2009

I bought a 1999 GS400 used with low mileage. For a ten-year old car, it runs silent and smooth, everything works, a joy to drive. Gas mileage about 26-27 at slightly under 70, but it's hard to go that slow: this car can rocket like a star ship. Have not used the manual shift option. Seats ultra-comfortable without making you fall asleep. Handles very well. You can feel the road, it's not as swishy as the LS. Rear-wheel drive versus front-wheel drive in the winter? It about evens out in the end with this car, given the vehicle control system.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Performance and comfort with a small price

by Gs400power from Chicago IL on Thu May 04 2017

Purchased used, drives like a dream. For the price, it doesn't get any better. 300 horsepower in a 1999 car. It has enough power to have fun while still being comfortable in. These engines are bullet proof and will run forever with simple maintenance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid, exciting, never lets you down

by Josh_rmtc from Purcellville on Mon Jul 02 2018

Amazing car, if your looking for a reliable, comfortable, and sporty car, look no further. Lexus has always branched all types of driving prefereces, and they did it again with the GS. With a powerfull V8 up front you wont be wanting for power, but the Lexus badge still stand for reliability when the going gets tough.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by 3rd lexus owner from Bloomington, IN on Sat Mar 16 2013

good all round for the money. Still will get you compliments.. Was fastest production car of the year in 1998 and still sips gas for being a v8. So far ahead of its time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not a race car...

by LexusLover Convert from Houston, TX on Thu Jan 14 2010

I've had this car for 7 years...and I still want nothing different. To get today what my car had standard 11 years ago costs high dollar. 300hp, 25mpg highway, touch-screen navigation, xenon self-leveling lights, front and side airbags, vehicle skid control, awesome stereo, 4 door, roomy, leather...and unsurpassed reliability. I used to hate Toyota and Lexus because they lacked style. But, the 2nd generation GS changed that. It STILL looks like a sporty sedan, especially if you just lower it an inch and put some wider 18's on. Style is on par or better with new sedans. As for the review that claimed unreliable at 100K miles; yes, if you use 10W40 oil in these engines because you thought it would provide you more protection, you will blow the engine up around 100k miles or burn oil like crazy (I have seen this exact mentality and incident on this engine). If you use the required 5W30 oil, you will have 170k miles on your engine, and can go 8000 miles on synthetic and still have a full dipstick, like I do. For those reading this review, try and find a remanufactured engine of this style. You probably won't. Becuase of my experience with this car, I now own a 2002 SC430 and am shopping for a 2005 GX470. No, my GS400 is not for sale.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car....

by Lexuslover from Atlanta, ga on Thu Oct 12 2006

Love this car purchased a 99 with 98K miles 3 years ago and I absolutely love it....no problems, whatsover. Smooth ride, smooth handling, and still looks new. The maintenance is relatively low, but the tires can be expensive as i have 17" alloys. Other than that, no major work has been needed except routine maintenance. This car was built to last.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

performance for the money

by coffee from Washington DC on Mon Dec 21 2009

This car is fun to drive on the highway but be careful or it may get away from you. The engine purr is music to the ear although it could have used a high performance breaking system. Had mine for 5 years and all I've done is change the routine stuff.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2