2017 GX 460

Consumer Reviews

2017 Lexus GX 460

$51,680 - $63,380  MSRP Range
2017 Lexus GX 460

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

24 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2017 Lexus GX 460?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle of all times

by V man from Charlotte, NC on Fri Feb 10 2017

If you're looking for something reliable, comfortable and confident on the road, look no further. This truck can polish any bumpy surface that you travel on. Lexus GX 460 is a perfect blend of all aspects you can expect out of any car or SUV on market in $60 grand market minus gas mileage. And believe me, I know cars and had 15 of them in a last 17 years from Mitsubishi to Mercedes and a lot in between. Like some of reviewers say: " If gas mileage concerns you, then you don't make enough money to afford it." Sorry to hurt your ego but it's not my personal statement. Bottom line is, test drive it. Hope you'll love it just like me. Btw, never wrote any review or opinion on any car or truck before. Cheers! Enjoy driving!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car

by Bagi from Chicago il on Wed May 03 2017

Love my car. Its so big. And comfy. But its sooooooooo expensive. Looooooooooooooooooooooove iiiiiiiiiiit

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the last great trucks still built in Japan

by Derekkc from Kansas City on Tue Oct 24 2017

Smooth V8 and transmission, comfortable, quiet, great off road features, worth the extra $15K over the 4runner limited.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury Truck with Unequaled Reliability

by Off-Road in Style from DAllas, TX on Wed Oct 18 2017

I drove my first GX for 230,000 miles, and expect this one to last at least that long. The ride is noticeable better than my old GX. I frequently use it off road in Colorado. It does very well and gets the attention of other off-roaders.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pretty car

by Snoopy on Wed Aug 23 2017

A little sluggish. Beautiful car in and out. Liked all the features on the Luxury Pkg. Really liked the hands frèe feature.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by BDamp from NC on Mon Apr 23 2018

The 2017 Lexus GX 460 is a great car. Stylish, roomy, and nimble. Very comfortable on short and long trips. Can’t say enough. Highly recommended.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice car to drive

by Bowler from Elk Grove, CA on Sun Aug 27 2017

This car really does a great job of transporting family and all our bowling equipment. Very comfortable with huge amount of leg room. Unlike some other reviews, we find the 2nd row seating quite comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful vehicle to drive

by Tony D from 64137 on Tue Aug 29 2017

This vehicle is a luxury SUV that drives well in all kinds of weather. It is very comfortable and accommodating for long road trip as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Have Owned

by akirkpat from Tulsa, Ok on Thu Aug 31 2017

I love this car! I previously had a Denali and was worried when I bought the Lexus that it was going to be to small. I have not had a problem fitting things in the car yet. Also, the leg room in the back seats is significantly more than my last car. I was a little hesitant because the interior dash has not been re-designed for awhile and looks a tad dated compared to other Lexus dashboards, but it is very easy to learn to use--positive! I would buy again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toyota?s luxury version of the 4Runner

by Mason from Stamford Connecticut on Sun Jun 17 2018

Although it might have terrible gas mileage it?s very reliable since it?s made by Toyota. It has a 40/20/40 split seats in the rear which I love. My kids love the heated rear seats. Upfront it east to tell it?s a luxury vehicle real leather stitching fills the cabin along with comfortable leather seats which are heated and ventilated. The cabin is also very quiet. One of the only things I don?t like about them is there is no four way lumber it?s just two way. Another spot I don?t like is it?s infotainment. It?s very dated and it lacks Apple car play and android auto. It?s touch screen only so it can be distracting. Another spot that I personally like but other people don?t is the trunk. It is manual and it opens sideways. The gas mileage is pretty poor at only 15 in the city and 18 on the highway. Although it has a 23 gallon capacity so you should be fine. I feel like since it has a big v8 it should be fast but it?s not really. It has good visibility in all directions. Another nice feature is hat it has heavily padded places where you knees would go. It has a third row but it?s cramps and should be kept for the kids or your mother in law. It also has great off-roading capabilities although I doubt you?ll take you $60,000 Lexus off-roading but it?s there if you need it. It is a body on frame suv which we?re seeing less and less of these days. So overall the Lexus gx is luxury oriented and it?s nice. It stacks up well against competitors like the Mercedes GLE and BMW X5.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2017 Lexus GX 460

The verdict:

Comfortable, quiet and nimbler than the larger and more expensive LX 570, the Lexus GX 460 is an old-school luxury SUV — with all the pros and cons that come along with that.

Versus the competition:

The Lexus fits in well with competitors on price and electronic safety equipment, but its onboard multimedia tech, powertrain, packaging and driving dynamics have all been improved upon by others’ more modern offerings.

Editor's note: This review of the 2016 Lexus GX460 was written in August 2016, but little has changed for 2017. To see what's new, click here, or to see a side-by-side comparison of the two model years, click here.

Luxury SUVs have been around for decades, replacing big luxury sedans as the ultimate in posh, all-weather transportation. Lexus wasn’t the first on the scene, but it didn’t wait long to capitalize on the craze; the GX 460 you see here dates back to 2002. The 2016 model isn’t much different from that SUV. It still rides on a more luxury-oriented, modified body-on-frame (truck) platform that shares some components with the Toyota 4Runner and a Land Cruiser Prado... Read More