Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 GX 470

Consumer Reviews

2004 Lexus GX 470

$5,569 - $14,081  MSRP Range
2004 Lexus GX 470

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

23 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Lexus GX 470?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by review from on Thu Jan 28 2010

This is the best car period. I have 120,000 miles and the only thing I have replaced are the tires and brakes. As a person who usually trades up for a new car every 50,000 to 60,000 miles. I will never sell it. I will keep it for my teenage children.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV for the money

by SUVer from Pensacola, FL on Tue May 19 2009

The GX470 is by far the best Luxuary SUV I have ever driven or owned. I have averaged 19 MPG for the past two years and as high as 21.1 with mostly short trips of less than twenty miles, not bad for a heavy V8 powered SUV. It's confortable on long trips, NAV works great, It has great styling that has stood the test of time as the design has changed very little in six years. I highly recommend this SUV to all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV I Have Every Owned!

by Lexus Fan from Maumelle, AR on Sun Feb 19 2012

I have been extremely pleased with the Lexus GX 470! I have owned 2 and have never had any problems with either. Both have had over 150k miles on them and been trouble free! The exterior and interior styling are both functional and very appealing! I would recommend the GX 470 to everyone looking for a stylish, luxurious, powerful, and off-road capable SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Ed from Virginia on Sun Mar 31 2013

I bought my 04 GX used with 84K. It was a one owner truck that was maintained by Lexus. As expected with age and miles I performed a few needed repairs but nothing major. The 90k service for the timing belt cost $900.00 at the local Toyota dealership. This included replacement of the water pump. I would recommend this vehicle and the quality and reliability is excellent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luv My GX 470-no doubt a excellent automobile

by LUV MY GX 470 from Hermiston, OR on Fri Feb 24 2017

To start with, this is an automobile-not a car-a car is just that-something that provides transportation-an automobile is a luxury experience. 183K and has only had timing belt and water pump replaced along with new plugs & serpentine belt At 90K intervals-converted differentials and transfer case with synthetics and on 2nd set of brakes. i'm surprised about reviews complaining about performance-considering the weight of this auto and the small displacement of the engine 4.7 liter-about 280 c.i.-it has all the power needed-if you're looking for "high performance" buy a corvette -Pros-classic styling, superior ride, longevity, superior build, no sqweeks or rattles after 183k miles-doors close with gentle push-quiet ride-reliably -excellent in snow-I could go on and on-Cons-missing some of the bells & whistles the newer models offer-paint on wheels starting to peel-I also own a 96 4-runner with a V-6 and they both get 19-21 MPG--It's had synthetic lubricants since new and I anticipate this auto to last 275-300K before any major repairs-this GX470 is superb-

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car (SUV) I?ve ever owned

by Candace s from Toledo Wa on Mon Jun 04 2018

This car meets all my needs. It is so comfortable and whisper quiet even at high speeds. The seats are comfortable and I especially love the heated seat option. The NAV is a bit dated but I use my phone anyway. The only negative is that cargo space is quite limited.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Used Buy

by BBK from Louisville, KY on Fri Apr 13 2018

This vehicle is a gem. I had a lot of criteria to meet. I needed something dead reliable, extremely safe, heated seats (my wife's demand), hold 7 people (2 adults, 5 kids) for kayak trips, and nice enough to meet customers in. I found an '04 with bluetooth (owner had it installed) and no navigation which is perfect because I heard the navi isn't that good. Purchased with 147k on the odometer, everything works as it should, no rattles. I've put over 4k on it. The ride is great. I didn't realize how much I would appreciate the adjustable suspension. On the soft setting the gravel road to the horse barn has become pleasant and in the firmer settings it lets you travel surprisingly fast on winding roads. Wife and kids love it too. Cons- no surprise here, premium fuel, under 20 mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Hookem on Fri Sep 08 2017

This vehicle held its value much better than most. 3rd row vehicle that is roomy enough but not impossible to park...,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great luxury SUV for interested customers

by juju from Kissimmee,Fl on Thu May 24 2018

car is great for long rides, carries 7 passengers well.handling is great! acceleration is medium, seats are cushy, feel of the road geat! workmanship excellent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most amazing car I have ever bought

by Simon Landrus from Minneapolis MN on Sat Aug 19 2017

The way the 2004 Lexus gx470 works is that it has a modern yet classic look to it and a tough 4.7 V8 engine makes the car, one of the best cars out there, I never once had a problem with it, I currently own a 2014 Lexus rx350 and would rather have my gx470 back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3