2001 IS 300

Consumer Reviews

2001 Lexus IS 300

$1,236 - $9,268  MSRP Range
2001 Lexus IS 300

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

31 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Lexus IS 300?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

My college comuter

by College Comuter from CO on Sun Mar 06 2011

Bought an is 300 before starting my 3rd year of college, which is a bit of a drive from my house. Since I got it I've averaged around 80 miles a day in driving, and its great. The seating is very comfortable even on long trips, if you treat the car right (and probably even if you don't) it will get you there every time. The engine has plenty of power and torque with a well geared transmission for a pretty smooth and fun ride. I have averaged around 24mpgs which is okay for the class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best sports sedan manufactured

by Rominu7 from Springfield, Mo on Fri Dec 03 2010

Driving a Lexus IS300 is just amazing. From the steering to the performance the IS300 will exceed your expectations. It's Inline 6 engine is very responsive and the brakes are very quick to respond to any emergency. The looks still grabs peoples attention even after all these years. I love this car and would recommend it to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very fun to drive

by shah from minnesota on Sun Feb 07 2010

I've just bought my 2001 is300 for 4700bucks (price is low due to high high mileage). Even though the high miles, the car drives like new. Very quiet inside, very agile and responsive. provide very solid feeling when driven. I own toyota supra mk3 turbo. The lexus is not as fast as the supra, but its agility makes me prefer to drive the lexus. very very fun to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

IS 300

by Lexus IS415 from SF on Tue Oct 18 2011

Great car, considering it was made by Toyota gives extra comfort knowing you can always get toyota parts and service. The interior is great, not too keen on the wear of the seats. Exterior has great styling, but i wish my taillights and headlights came with the black housing. Easy handling and safe car! Thanks toyota for providing the IS with a 2JZ, infamously known in the Toyota Supra minus the turbo =(

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Almost a perfect 10

by Matt from maryland from DC on Sun May 31 2009

I bought my 2001 IS300 new, and it's still running strong 120k miles later. Great acceleration, wonderful handling. Only negative is driving in snow. Very light rear wheel drive vehicle with a lot of torque doesn't do well in bad weather. Good buy, highly recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best

by David from Modesto, CA on Sun Jan 17 2010

I bought my IS with 47Kmiles back in 2005, now I have 150K+ miles on it. Biggest problem AVOID POT HOLES, i have bent three of the four rims on my car and they are $485 to get a new one, JUST ONE! The problem is the spokes are on the outside of the rim and not the center, so the inside bends when u hit a hole to hard. Other than that there can be some wind noise inside.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty and Rare Model

by ajlacasse25 from Holly Springs, NC on Wed Apr 19 2017

This car still gets compliments at 17 years old for it's sporty still in style look and smooth drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

cool ride

by swat from chi, IL on Tue Mar 22 2011

Not to slow of a car, has some pick up, comfy, reliable. but down side takes up to much gas, so if gas prices is high and you drive a lot, don't get this car unless your willing to pay at the pump

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome sporty sedan

by mn driver from Minneapolis, MN on Sat Apr 19 2008

I've had mine for 3+ years. Positives: Great torque (200+ftlb) and fantastic handling (with proper tires), magical brakes (on-par with Porsche), better than any car in its class. Nice amenities and cool interior & exterior styling. Love the self-leveling HID headlights and suede interior which doesn't get too hot or too cold. Very few problems. Negatives: High insurance costs, poor fuel economy, lots of wind and road noise, odd throttle response. Recommendation: get the 5spd manual if you can.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Holding onto my 2001 IS 300

by IS 300 from Oakland, CA on Sun Feb 25 2018

I was on the wait list to buy this car in 2000, waiting for it to arrive from Japan. I’ve been driving this car since. Going on 18 years. The car zips up steep hills and handles so well at high speed. I love it! It’s the right size. I get teased a lot for bringing my IS 300 to the dealership for maintenance, and told to sell it since it’s old. I get approached by people all the time, including parking attendants and car mechanics at different Lexus dealerships, asking is my car for sale. The car is pretty no doubt and has a big sports car engine. I’ve been repeatedly told by car mechanics that don’t make cars like this anymore. Most of the mechanics at one dealership own this model. So no, it’s not for sale. It has over a quarter million miles and I intend to keep driving it until it won’t run anymore. I hope to hit 400,000 miles, breaking another driver’s record. As one guy tweeted to me on Twitter, his IS 300 was more reliable than the two wives he had. It was also a good value. Even though I paid $37,500 out the door in 2000, I got 18 years of use. If I have to pay $2000 for a 30k maintenance or $1000 to $2000 every yr to replace some of the parts, it’s still cheaper than buying a new car that might not be as reliable and have the same performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4