2003 Aviator

Consumer Reviews

2003 Lincoln Aviator

$3,357 - $7,645  MSRP Range
2003 Lincoln Aviator

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2003 Lincoln Aviator?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Jim from Houston, TX on May 30, 2009

We have had this car since new and with 88,000 miles, it has been a great car - probably the best I've ever had!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME!!!!

by Phil from Los Angeles on September 28, 2013

Just bought a 2003 Aviator and love it!! Powerful, awesome ride, strong, great sound system, handling, great features and etc... Did not expect this! I guess they come with 4.6L Mustang GT engines and have high torque, the engine purs, revs and redlines like a rocket! (for an SUV) I test drove same year x5, cayenne, ML, tahoe and escalade and none of them compare!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good vacation home vehicle

by Golfer from Palm Coast , fl on April 22, 2013

Needed a larger suv to leave at our vacation home.. Suv only has 79k miles on it. Much better value than the expeditions and Tahoe that we originally were looking at. Plus the aviator had half the mileage than the other suv's at the same price. Over all very good condition ! Rides great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

newest car i have owned

by great car from syracuse, new york on August 29, 2011

great and stylish, every thing i wanted in a car, a lot of extras. not that great on gas. this is a good SUV for saftey.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Oddball, but great car

by Hotrodbuilder from Los Lunas, New Mexico on December 25, 2015

32 valve motor was main reason for buying. Had an Explorer, Mountaineer and other suvs. This is the most versatile and comfortable than the others. Navigator was too big and Explorer and Mountaineer underpowered. This one works best for me. I am disappointed that the aftermarket performance vendors don't offer more products, but limited production probably doesn't warrant the research and development cost. Can't even find a blower kit for it. I'm a big fan of superchargers, so I'm disappointed. Still trying to see if maybe a Mustang Cobra kit can be made to work

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome Truck

by gcolbert from Columbia, MD on June 14, 2017

Love the Aviator as a smaller option to the Navigator. Similar to Ford Explore but with more bells and whistles. Enjoy the comfort of the truck and its horse power. Definitely a vehicle that can get up and go!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beat overal car I owned.

by rocky from south lake tahoe california on May 23, 2017

Very comfortable. Very roomie. Plenty of power. Not much repair. Just basic maintenance. Great 4 wheel drive for the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford should still be producing aviator. Best SUV

by Atrosity on April 8, 2018

There is the best SUV Lincoln is ever put out I wish they still made them it is better than some of the brand new vehicles I've driven

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Performance, Luxury and Class

by DotCom from Leawood, KS on July 8, 2006

Bought the Aviator new as an alternative to the larger and less agile Navigator and have never looked back. The Aviator handles better than most cars, rides like a luxury vehicle while offering 7 person seating and exceptional finish. Everyone loves the Aviator, it rides smooth, shows class at every angle and still has all the room of an SUV without the truck ride. No problems at all mechanically, the interior is to die for with real wood and silver trim that looks more like a 100K hand made interior than an american vehicle. This is my first Lincoln and I will buy another!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy with My 2003 Aviator

by Blwn2000pu from South West Louisiana on April 30, 2011

Bought this Lincoln used in Jan 2009 with only 62,000 miles from a family friend. Now has 80,000 miles and runs a drives like its still new. This one is ceramic white with every option available and we have been very pleased. The 4.6 liter engine has more power than I would have believed possible for a factory engine. Heated and Cooled leather seats are very comfortable. Sun roof, Rear Bucket seats, rear seat DVD player, 6 disc CD changer, real wood trim all make this one fine luxury SUV and not so large you can't handle it in close quarter conditions. Handles as well as a sports car in my opinion. I wish Lincoln still made them. I would buy another when this one wears out, if it ever wears out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2003 Lincoln Aviator

Brace yourselves for this one.

Lincoln has made a new sport utility vehicle. And it does not come with landing lights.

It does not "Beep, beep, beep" when it backs up. It does not come with a sticker that asks, "How's my driving?"

Brace yourselves. It's actually driveable.

Just when you thought the 341st SUV to hit the market was going to try to outsize the rest of the field, Lincoln took a deep breath and stepped off the scale.

Even Lincoln admits as much.

"Like Navigator," the automaker says about its 2003 Aviator, "just smaller."

Can we hear an amen?

Just when the notion of climbing inside another brute-ute was starting to get to us, Lincoln decided it was time to try Slim Fast... Read More