2002 LS

Consumer Reviews

2002 Lincoln LS

$1,589 - $7,401  MSRP Range
2002 Lincoln LS

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

26 Reviews
62% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Lincoln LS?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very confident highway car.

by Buy American from Ohio on Thu Feb 28 2008

This car loves to stretch its legs on the highway! I've got the V8 with sport pkg, and this car simply provides unsurpassed confidence at highway speeds. My car has 60k miles on it and has been very reliable. I love the standard equipped Michelins, and will purchase them again. The interior could benefit from more storage, but who really needs to store junk in the car anyway...this doesn't pretend to be a minivan. It's a shame Lincoln discontinued it, but it's our secret. Let others pay $10k additional or more for the competition, and costlier service parts. I'd take the LS again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A good car

by Lincoln Man from North Hollywood, Ca on Tue Dec 22 2009

2002 Lincoln LS V-6, 52,000 miles. Purchased used lease return May 2003. Dealer maintained. Just replaced sunroof. Cable broke. One piece unit cost $1800. Only repair in more than 6 years. Highway 25 mpg, city 18-19. Lube those sunroof rails. Otherwise, a reliable and comfortable car. Follow scheduled maintenance. Recommended. Driven on L.A. streets and freeways.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great little car for the money

by LSE FAN from Dallas, TX on Thu Jun 02 2011

I took months and scoured all the car sale sites and found a 1 owner, who took care of the car and he had fixed all that went wrong. Bought it right and it had 111,000 miles. Put $1,500 in to it and it is now a great looking, fun, fuel efficient Lincoln go cart. What a blast to drive, quick, quiet and still a head turner. The LSE package makes all the difference in performance and fun factor. Like any 10 year old car, it will have some repairs, but paid cash and love this car. Super Dave in Dallas PKR ACE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

exceptional car

by enjoys the finer things from Detroit, MI on Thu Dec 07 2006

As a used car these are a fantastic value. $42,000 Premium Editions are going for under $15,00 three years later. Excellent performance, V8 is a blast to drive, looks sporty yet elegent, great longevity. mine has over 90,000 miles and is flawless.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lincoln LS

by safe driver from Ft. Lauderdale Fl. on Mon Jan 16 2012

I pruchased my 2002 Lincoln LS as a used car with 4,300 miles. I've driven it now for 8 years and currently has 57,000 miles. This has truly been an outstanding automobile that, in my opinion, should have never been dropped by Ford. Mine is a V6 and the only complaint is that the vehicle is to low to the road causing it to bottom out over some of the shatp speed humps. I plan to trade soon because I've never driven a car this long before.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

German sports car at an American price

by LS is for Luxury Sedan from Brooklyn, NY on Sun Dec 12 2010

Lovely Car agile and aggressive Luxury look sport ride no backseat room for a full sized adult four door coupe but drives like a dream and most reliable for the money other than a BMW and Audi who has outrageous maintenance. Lincoln keep it up you've got my undivided attention. Upgrades Magna Flows, K & N cold air intake and Sprint lowering springs you think about it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Expensive

by Isabella from Stevensville on Wed Aug 09 2017

It is expensive to repair, but when it's working, it drives smoothly. Very comfortable interior and nice exterior.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lincoln's Best Car

by RJR from on Fri Apr 28 2017

The LS is by far the best performance car that the Lincoln Motor Company has ever made, even compared to the new 400hp MKZ. The LS has the classic set up for a luxury sports sedan. V8 engine, RWD, and the option to turn the traction control off with the press of a button. The 3.9L V8 engine (which is a Jag V8 from when Ford owned Jaguar) loves to rev and roar. Never worry about passing someone or getting up to speed with the LS. This car was Motor Trend's Car of the Year for 2002 and out performed the BMW 540 of the same model year in every category: acceleration, braking, cornering, etc. This is by far the best car I've ever owned, and I don't plan on selling it any time soon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2002 LINCOLN LS

by Ricky Hillard from Lewiston, Ne on Thu Jun 21 2018

These years seem to overheat a lot and no one can seem to diagnose the problem, making it very costly to repair. There are a lot of plastic parts that crack over the years which cause antifreeze to leak and the car to overheat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love my ls

by wally from Louisville, ky on Fri Mar 16 2012

Been a great dependable car.....good performance Have had car for 7 years and the only repairs have been new brakes and lift motor in window, would recommend car to anyone

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 Lincoln LS

The bad news thrown on top of Ford Motor Co.'s image in the past two years makes it easy to forget that the automaker actually does some things right.

There is, for example, the matter of the Lincoln LS sedan, which is a top domestic competitor for dollars spent in the entry-level luxury market, long dominated by European and Japanese automobiles.

I drove a six-cylinder version of the Lincoln LS last year, its first year on sale, and was impressed. Recently I drove an eight-cylinder 2002 version of the car and was awed by its mostly smooth delivery of power and its exceptional grace in handling.

Does it beat the likes of a BMW 5-Series, its intended target, or a Mercedes-Benz C240... Read More