2003 LS

Consumer Reviews

2003 Lincoln LS

$2,467 - $7,179  MSRP Range
2003 Lincoln LS

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

16 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2003 Lincoln LS?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

From Chevy to Lincoln with no regrets

by HonestLincoln from Arlington, TX on Fri Oct 21 2011

I've owned a number of great cars over the years, but none compare to the luxury styling, performance, options, and overall comfort of the Lincoln LS V8 Premium Sport! Cars I've owned: 2008 Chevy Malibu 2007 Cadillac CTS 2005 BMW 330Ci 2003 Nissan Xterra 2001 Chevy Camaro RS 1996 Chevy Blazer LS This Lincoln LS V8 is incredibly responsive! It's got great get up and go and handles much better than any car I've had. The luxury of the LS far surpasses that of the Cadillac CTS and the BMW (both of which are newer than the Lincoln), which stands to say that BMW and Cadillac are YEARS behind Lincoln when it comes to what matters and separates these luxury brands. Incredible buy! As a car enthusiast I'm sure I'll own other cars and other brands, but from here on out my garage will always have a Lincoln (unless I'm on the road enjoying it)!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable car for the Money

by Lincoln Lover from Conyers, GA on Thu Dec 20 2007

I bought a new 2001 LS, and I have not had an ounce of trouble with it. It still handles good and I have had no mechanical or engine problems with this car at all. I don't know why they stopped making this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Definitely most reliable car i have ever owned.

by Self Made Baller from Palm Springs, CALI on Sun Jun 22 2008

amazing comfort, style, reliability, awesome car all around. i bought a 2003 used, with 60,000 miles and it runs like its brand new. perfect car for not too big of a budget

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid Vehicle.

by mikep from Des Moines on Fri Jan 02 2009

Bought new in 2003. Has been a fun and reliable mode of transport. V6 has plenty of power and the Premiun Edition has all the bells and whistles needed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lincoln LS V8 Sport

by Ringmaster from MD on Wed May 11 2011

Best daily driver I have ever owned. The room of a 7 series BMW, the performance of a 5 series and costs of a 3 series. Only downside is the high cost of parts/repairs from the rip off Ford dealerships.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Shocked

by Lincoln Lover from Farmington Hills, MI on Sun Aug 21 2011

We bought this car the day i got my permit when i was 15. I drove it every day until it got totaled when i was 19. Overall this is an amazing car with allot of option that i became accustom to, and it performs like a BMW. The only thing i didn't like was how extremely expensive it was to keep up. It's absolutely HORRIBLE in the winter(as expected from a V8 RWD car). The Catalytic Converter retails for 2300 dollars before labor! If i had the opportunity to buy another one i defiantly would knowing what to expect the second time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classy and powerful

by Lincoln LS Lover from Oregon Coast on Sun Jul 17 2011

This car drives like a sports car but feels like a luxury car. Everyone wants to drive it. I just bought my 2nd model with less mileage but will keep buying 2nd hand as they made the mistake of discontinuingthe LS. I did also have to replace the spendy coils at 60K, but it was worth it. It is my Baby.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Value #2

by Just Me from Las Vegas, NV on Sat Oct 21 2017

After owning this Silver 2003 LS Sport V8 for a year, here is what had to be fixed. Car had 48k miles when we bought it, owned since new by an elderly couple in Southern California. It now has 62k miles. Transmission went out completely after less than 2500 miles, saw the trans pan come off, tranny was shot at 50k miles. 2003 & some 2004 had bad factory trans fluid in them, our fluid had never got replaced or missing additive added. If you buy a 03-04, flush ALL trans fluid out immediately. $2860 for a new remanufactured trans. Had to replace all of the cooling system PLASTIC parts, including hoses. This will happen to all LS's. When one part fails the others will fail soon also, replace them all at the same time, save yourself money/headaches. Replaced all the coils/plugs, original factory coils can go bad early, replace all or you'll be doing one at a time forever. Don't buy cheap after market coils, proven to fail soon on this car, stick to factory or top brand level replacements. We used Delphi, seems fine so far. A/C compressor went out, replaced that. PS pump had small leak when we bought it, replaced. Would we have bought it knowing all of this would happen, never. That being said the car handles, drives beautiful and has lots of power. Now getting 24-26 mpg hwy going 75 mph between LA & LV. We're now enjoying this Lincoln 'Jaguar' vehicle very much. Hopefully the nightmare part is over! I hope some of this helps you. Best of luck with yours. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- *What I wrote right after buying our LS 1 year ago - Oct 1, 2016* We bought a 03' LS Sport V8 one owner with 48k miles for little money. It has brand new tires on it as well. It has great power & handling. Lots of bells and whistles. Only checked highway gas mileage once so far, disappointing 22mpg. Hopefully that will get a bit better. Running Mobil 1 oil as always. We'll keep our fingers crossed and hope some of the issues others have had do not occur. The bottom line is it's a great value for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not most reliable car I have owned

by Car owner from Thibodaux, LA on Mon Jan 02 2012

Expensive to keep up, but it is comfortable and still looks good. Features are good and I expected to have problems with features first; however it was basics that gave me problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hot Rod Lincoln

by Kneecap from Rochester, NY on Thu Apr 20 2017

Awesome first car that looks so unassuming but offers a lot of performance for what you pay on the used market. This is a car that was sadly overlooked by the public and by Lincoln. I have owned two and absolutely love them. Transmission issues on the 2003 were rather troublesome. Also they eat coils and plugs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2003 Lincoln LS

When it comes to selling cars, Lincoln is working both sides of the aisle.

While pensioners and livery companies snap up Town Cars, Lincoln offers the LS for those still young enough to rock 'n' roll. That's not a casual observation. According to Ford, the average Town Car buyer is 67 years old; LS buyers are in their early 50s.

The rear-wheel-drive LS has been more successful in luring younger buyers than the car it replaced, the Taurus-based front-wheel-drive Continental, and it outsold the similarly-sized BMW 5-Series, Audi A6 and Cadillac CTS in 2002. But with fresh competition coming all the time, will the LS be able to hold its own? Hard to say.

The LS's styling, while handsome, is conservative... Read More