1997 Mark VIII

Consumer Reviews

1997 Lincoln Mark VIII

1997 Lincoln Mark VIII

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Lincoln Mark VIII?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Why did they quit while they were ahead???

by Builder to the World from Port Orchard, Washington on Thu Feb 01 2007

Ford Motor Company is struggling? Well ,well....when they quit making this Mark VIII they really rolled over....this framework could easily have been brought along year after year and made better and better but SUV fever won out I think. My other car is a 350 4wd diesel Ford dually Lariat pickup and work truck is an F-550 19,500 GVW. Starting with the '97 Mk. VIII why would anyone buy anything else? This car goes like a bat , handles a four wheel drift and stops like a two ton car should. Mine is now ten years old and runs like new each time I turn the key...I may need an air suspension pump soon and I am sure the transmission will need work (or a fluid change) but who cares? They (that would be Lincoln) just do not make'em like they used to...this car will shine like the sun for at least another ten years...I hope they bring something like it back!! I can recommend it for everything but driver's side visibility...you MUST turn your head to the left and check for overtaking vehicles before changing lanes. (Not that much can overtake it!) My wife and I are happy with this automobile.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Timeless elegance and luxury

by EnergyFX from DC on Mon Apr 28 2008

The Mark VIII is over a decade old and still fits right in with modern luxury and styling. Features like the 4 way power steering column adjustment, memory profiles, and trip computer and diagnostic system are features you still may or may not find in todays so called luxury cars. If you are a tall person you may find your legs a bit cramped in the drivers area.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best deal on a car i've ever gotten

by ford man from washington d.c. on Sat Aug 22 2009

bought one with 165000 miles and runs great. has alot of features that modern day cars don't have...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It is a shame that Lincoln stopped making it

by Lincoln in Naples from Naples, Fl on Sun Jun 10 2012

I have always been in love with the second generation Mark VIII, since it was released in 1997. I call one of my MK 8's the Millennium Falcon, especially at night when the neon lights fill the back end with a single glow. I call my Black LSC Darth Vader since it has no chrome and it wears the black mask. The aerodynamics on this car are incredible, in 1993 Ford engineers took a stock MK 8 to the salt flats and ran at 182 Miles per hour, with the stock 295 HP cobra motor. The interior is far ahead of it time and one of the most ergonomic designs ever produced by a US car co. Turn signal diodes inside the side mirrors were 7 years ahead in time. The air suspension was 17 years ahead and Mercedes S Class adopts the design in 2000. The fuel economy at 27 MPG is great and the passing power on two lane roads is out of this world, 60 to 90 in few seconds. It is too bad that Lincoln stopped making this beautiful design to produce a 6000 LBS navigator that drives like a woolly mammoth and looks kike a box of rocks. Hopefully Ford will bring back the Mark 8 .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

classsy classic

by Handshake from Texas on Sat Apr 16 2011

This Lincoln Mark vlll has features that are ahead of it's time. It is fast, smooth and handles well for it's size and weight. It attracts more attention than I am comfortable with but that is a small price to pay.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Purchasing used Marks

by Farmer Dave from Marysville, CA on Sun Jul 28 2013

If you can find a low mileage sample of these cars buy it. Lincoln makes nothing in rear wheel drive now that compares. Powertrain is quite reliable, however electrical gremlins can be a problem and expensive to fix if you are not a DIY er

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great ride

by 8owner from pensacola, fl on Wed Dec 27 2006

Wonderful car, but know what problems to look for. Including blend door which controls the ac/heat. Air ride system which is notorious on all lincolns from the 90's for leaks and failures. Head lights are a great aspect of the car, but costly to replace. Note that the airride and headlights can be converted, which is the route I went.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cant believe this is a 1997!

by luv Lincoln from on Tue Apr 03 2012

I needed a car to get around and came across this wonderful car with its interior so modern looking leather seats, moon roof and electric everything wow! I bought with some exterior damage but the low mileage won me over. I know it needs some TLC and altho its a down grade for me Im enjoying this car just as much

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a head turner

by riverbuddy from saratoga springs ny on Tue Jun 06 2017

a pleasure to drive, a rare two tone silver with maroon top. superb handling and stylish interior aswell as exterior made for pleasurable expierence.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best and last of true American luxury coupes

by Unimoged from Harrisburg NC on Fri Jul 14 2017

The Mark VIII is one of my all time favorite vehicles. It is svelte, sleek, aerodynamic and fast, with incredible handling for such a big car. It has the Ford Mustang Cobra engine under the hood and the dynamic air suspension lowers the car when it is cruising above 60 MPH. I have owned many over the years, I like the second gen made in 1997 and 1998. Extremely reliable and technically advanced and 27 MPG all day long at 70 MPH with AC and cruise on. The naysayers about this car are people that don't understand the technology and design involved in producing the Mark VIII. Actually, all S Class Mercedes vehicles after year 2000, use the same type of air suspension. Lincoln was 7 years ahead.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1997 Lincoln Mark VIII

Ever since Ford Motor's Lincoln-Mercury Division brought out the inaugural Lincoln Mark I, the car has been something of a trendsetter for highly styled luxury sports coupes.

The 1997 Lincoln Mark VIII continues this tradition and builds upon its heritage with emphasis on mechanical refinement, sports-oriented handling and upgraded, yet still distinctive styling.

The Mark VIII already was a pretty slick set of wheels that resided in the rather rarified air of luxury coupes. So, with Lincoln's engineers and stylists moving forward, a good thing has been made even better.

The model's overall theme is preserved, so that the Mark VIII is instantly recognizable. It is offered in standard and LSC... Read More