1998 Mark VIII

Consumer Reviews
1998 Lincoln Mark VIII

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

16 Reviews
5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Silent Power

by FoMoGo from Northern Indiana on October 28, 2009

I bought my 1998 white pearl Collectors Edition in 2006. The engine and power train have been flawless. The body is tight and solid. It is a pleasure to drive, turn and brake. However. A number of nagging problems haunt this car. Door handles break, air suspension is problematical, HID head lights are pricey if you can find them, and HVAC blend doors fail. But hey, for the money I would do it all over again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

makes me feel young again

by midlife enthusiast from on April 27, 2010

My first lincoln at 40, really surprised at the power. The sound of the dual exaust makes you really feel your driving a powerful sports car. The interior design is very comfortable and convenient. I get made fun of a little as if a lincoln is suposed to be a grandpa car ?!? I love driving it, it makes me feel young again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!

by Old Car Lover from Dallas, TX on March 28, 2008

I have owned many cars during my 66 years and this is the only car I have kept more than three years; ten years and counting! Other cars have come and gone of several different luxury makes, including Infinity, Cadillac, Mercedes and Jaguar -- none have made it past the three year mark. The MarkIII electronics were way ahead of their time in 1998, the ride is a wonderful combination of comfort and sports handling, the aerodynamic design is so drag free there is virtually no deceleration when letting up on the gas, gas mileage is an incredible 28 mpg on the road and over 20 mpg around town, The horsepower to weight ratio provides acceleration that a teenager would drool over, the trunk space is so large you have to crawl into it to get to the front of it. There are new vehicles that have more electronic gadgets, better gas mileage (with less power) and fewer miles on the odometer, however, none that rival the overall value of the Lincoln MarkIII.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TheLincolnLadyRidesAgain...

by TheCatsMomma from Lapeer, MI on August 8, 2011

Absolutely the best vehicle for the money. Always felt so safe in all of mine. The instrument cluster is wonderful and to me, is set up for us Ladies. Not full of useless cupholders... The leather interior is so elegant and comfortable. Great handling and very powerful. They do get good gas mileage...keep your speed down-it's hard to do. Sexy and sleek and keep them waxed-up and the beautiful finish will last !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Way ahead of it's time!

by Gadgetfreak from Orlando, FL on January 28, 2007

This car has so many technological features that are just now making it into new cars. My friend bought a $50K Infinity and the only gadgets it has on my 9 year old Lincoln is Navigation, DVD and Laser Guided Cruise control! If that stuff was available outside the military in 98', the LSC would probably have it! The seats are soft like a home sofa and front seat leg room is good. Back seat is tight for adults but comfortable for kids. Performance is decent for a big, safe and heavy cruiser. Mileage is better than expected at 19-22 city and 25-26 hwy, and I don't drive slow. It is a good tradeoff for luxury, power and fuel efficiency.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Highway Fuel Effciency

by Admiral from Gulfport, MS on September 17, 2012

I used to own a Mk VIII and regret letting it go. My best fuel efficiency was 31.8 mpg after a long trip with the cruise control set at 65 mph. I want another Mk VIII as my retirement cruiser.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

300 HP BARCALOUNGER!

by D28BOB from Fort Worth TX on May 18, 2015

I finally traded my 1998 MKVIII LSC after 290,000 miles and a month later wanted it back! The engine/tranny/driveline was perfect (qt of oil every 6,000 miles!) and running as strong as new. I did replace the air shocks with coils, replaced the blend door and door handles & 1 headlight but I never had a car that could eat miles like this one. Every option, and it just anticipated your every need without being a technonightmare. I installed a Superchip without governor and it would honestly do over 130 mph. Once you get past 3000 rpms and the second intake runners open, it revs very quickly. And the ride is much more comfortable than the Corvette which preceded it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

impressive luxury

by first ford from country living, Arkansas on April 24, 2012

My first Mark VIII. Impressive performance and comfort. I've only been driving it a couple of weeks but average mid 20's mpg around town Solid 27MPG on the big road. A bit more electronic goodies for this old school guy but being spoiled is OK in my book. If you get a chance to own a Mark VIII, go for it!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, fun, fun!

by '69 lincoln mark III from Minnesota on January 15, 2015

I can't say enough about my '97 Lincoln Mark VIII. I am a LIncoln fan and own a 1969 Lincoln MarkIII. The Mark VIII has beautiful lines, beautiful interior and has very quick acceleration. If you ever get the chance to drive one, take the chance! I have always loved the looks of the Mark VIII and never thought I would even have the chance drive one, even more so to be the proud owner. I'm ecstatic!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most comfortable car I've driven

by comfort car enthusiast from Colorado on November 21, 2008

Bought new October of 1997 when told this was the last year for Mark VIII. Had a Cadillac Eldorado prior to this. Not as good in snow as Cadillac, but with good tires satisfactory. HID headlights worked good for 9.5 years then low beam went bad. After $1,00.00 replacement cost they finally worked again. I only have 75,000 miles and will probably keep car until I find a suitable replacement for it. Gets 28 mpg on highway with air on, 20 city.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1998 Lincoln Mark VIII